Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 181 - 210 out of 211
[LOGIN]

Review by onlineamiga (30/10/2005)

AWESOME big raves for this. I love the synthetic vocal! Sounds good in the car whilst flying down the motorway :-)

I'd be very interested in any other settlers remixes you make, the tune was class. I remember it being on for perhaps a couple of weeks at a time. When youre map got a bit big it took a few days to get a house built :-) Great remix cant imagine playing settlers with it on. But love it, full raves!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by fireant (23/10/2005)

WOW WOW WOW! I keep playing this over and over. It's sooooo good, please do more like this....please!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (19/10/2005)

Was really impressed with this tune, to the extent im addicted to it. Just check that baseline. It sounds amazing on the sub. The tune is just sheer class, and a true reminder of the real theme of the Amiga. Just brings me back to my youth when i first got my Amiga and realised the awesomeness of it.

Thanks guys for making this. Shame I havnt seen any other tracks from burnt toast because this one was so excellently put together. Im just gonna put full raves on this because it just struck a cord with me when i heard it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by 8_bit_fingers (01/10/2005)

Tehee, so silly its cute.

A wild Coffeineture Remix
of the good old spaceshooter Battle Squadron.
Fast and directly impressive.
I made an Audio-CD at once.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xonder (28/09/2005)

This is in my opinion easily the best Great Bath remix hitherto. The instruments feel just right, as does the mood (at least until the drums begin). I particularly enjoyed the flute and the choirs/strings. In my opinion the drum section seems pretty much out of place, though. As far as I'm concerned The Great Bath is nothing about rhythm, but all about melody and harmony. The melody carries itself very well without need of a drum beat. But apart from that I have very little to complain about. All the harmonies are 100% true to the original, unlike many other The Great Bath remixes. Great work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by vinceblood (06/08/2005)

Excellent ! DX7 bass and caliope sounds renforced by a voice bathing in a mediocre reverb make the music very 80ies, it is great and rather in the respect of the original music.

Drum is great too, chords sound are a bit disapointed however compared the overall sound. We expected a sort of Jupiter-8 pad instead.

Congratz !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by vinceblood (06/08/2005)

The first Turrican 2 music that impress me so much. A typical Martin Iveson touch with all these gimics, I love that.

Great sound design, mixing is in the respect of Amiga demo music touch, it is nice.
Bass sound is bit strange however.

Congratz !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by stell (03/08/2005)

Nope. The Original was REALLY impressive. This one is just a poor copy. Listen to Lambournes Lightforce too get a glimpse of how orchestral arragements are done. Get the MOD and compare. What a pity!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Bjorn H. (03/09/2004)

You must be really good to try remix something like Hardwired module. It is like an anthem to the Amiga/Demo society and you must be a really first league composer to try make covers of something like Silents' "The One" Song. :-)

Fortunately it is not a bad remix. In fact it is quite good, and though some instruments are not always ideal final effect is OK and very well represents original tune. There is only one serious, very serious problem with this remix - speed. This remix is too fast (not a big problem here for me - we live in a wild dance techno times), but even more important - it is too high pitched. It sounds like original Hardwired played on too fast mod-player. If you remember, original mod melody has kind of dark majesty, so with this remix we have Darth Vader speaking after helium breath. :-)

Summary: now 5/10, with a little work could have 8 out f 10. Anyway, thanks go to DeAdLy_cOoKiE for this one.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by floaf (25/08/2004)

I don't want to be boring or something, dont get me wrong. To create a sound that is exactly or almost the same as an old amiga tune can be hard, i understand that. I try to do that too sometimes. Certain parts of old tunes can be nice to reproduce in this way to keep a nostalgic feeling. I use to reproduce chipsounds :-) However, a remix shouldnt sound exactly like the original, what is the remixing of that? Play with your fantasy and give it a new soul. It does not have to be big changes, but it should be something that makes peoples thing: Hey, I'll listen to this for a change :-) The reason why I would listen to the original mod instead of this is that I grown up with it. It's going to need some heavy makeover to become better than that. The sounds of your tune is of high quality, no question about it. You should use it to create something special, cool and new to this song. Add your personal touch to it. Then it's a hit, believe me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by floaf (24/08/2004)

What amigagame/demo is this from? I've heard it in Cyberspeed, a playstation game. It's a nice track, but if it's a remix, I cant find the original :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sebekmaj (01/07/2004)

Wow, this remix is very good. I like that music, but this file have to low quality(kbps). Good job FeekZoid!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (05/06/2004)

zool... amiga's answer to sonic and mario... wasnt too shabby at all either but i do believe an alien ant was a bit of a crap mascot.. but hey thats just my opinion.

this starts out sounding like its being played through an old wireless stereo and sounds pretty quirky for it but it works great.. especially when it fades in to full speaker glory and the song leaps into full patrick phelan mode.. fun fun fun fun.

I loved this song, more so when it was in the lotus esprit game than in zool i didnt feel it worked well enough within the games atmosphere.. but im taking this remix on its merit not where it came from and for that its getting full thumbs up from me... gecko has seriously moved on and upwards and is rapidly becoming a very formidable remixer and here he is showing off some pretty impressive reverb work and an artistic flair rarely seen outside of the big boys.. they know who they are :-).

So what we have here is a pretty damn fly rejiggle of a very classic amiga tune that is definetly worth downloading.. my only real gripe with the tune is its far far far too short and would have faired better for being a tad longer.

apart from that... near as perfect as i think a electronic remix of this tune is gonna get... kudos to gecko :-).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (05/06/2004)

Golden axe.. probably sega's biggest franchise behind sonic the hedgehog back in the early 90's and rightly so, the game oozed atmosphere the gameplay whilst simplistic was extreme and the characters easy to endear towards.

Probably the 1st arcade game that i had ever completed "in" an arcade and boy was it an acheivement too and its because of these fond memories that i came to this remix with great and high hopes.

To be honest straight away its not what i had expected, but what it is is good.
the sounds used within this remix are pretty clear if a little staid and maybe a tad lifeless but they work well enough to get the job done.
the familiar melody is well in place and the drum beat mid way through is a welcome inclusion, as is the "welcome" sample lifted from the original arcade cabinet (though i suspect it was in the amiga version too) hence it being here.

I love the beginning very low and brooding, and it just launches into the main theme with ghusto and just doesnt stop much like the original.. close your eyes and you can just about see the bald guy with the mace... the tall blokes that look like dan gillgrass with a huge hammer.. all this remix misses is the "ahhh shut up!!" sample that hit off everyime one of them baldies died hehe.

so overall this mix is a good re-interpretation of a already damn good tune, nothing really different from the original but that is no bad thing and definetly worth a listen too.. well done mr stevens i salute you.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by dimmignatt (25/05/2004)

Well what have we here :-)
The old Desert Dream part 1 by Anders E Hansen (Laxity)
So with that said over to the review.
When i first saw this song in the number one position i just had to listen to it. At first it's really strange sound that got me thinking what is this ??
Then i heard the "it came from the desert" speach i thought it was a cool way to start this song. Then the song starts with the intro and i feel my self at home :-) Though when the melody starts you used a type of instrument that i for one dont think fits in :-( but hey there is always someone who likes that to.
The drums is almost like the orginal and i think it sucks (i have nothing against that drumbeat) but maybe you should have tried some other beat ?? anyway the remix overall is pretty good and to see that someone else like this song is amazing :-) I for one has always loved this song and remixes like this are always welcome.. Keep up the work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (16/05/2004)

Certainly has value. I like the tune and the pace. The selection of instruments is nice and soft (oh well, maybe not the lead that plays the main melody). It's not perfectly "in tune" with the other sounds and this, I find slightly unpleasant. It may also be a good idea to trim the whole thing down a minute or so. It would make it less monotome and you'd have a simple but beautiful track.

No nostalgic feelings for me - that is because I never heard the original tune before.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (25/04/2004)

Ah... the Desert Dream. Days gone by and all that. Actually, to start off - what really makes this remix for me is the intro with Cinemaware's "It came from the Desert" intro speech integrated - direclty from the classic three disk Amiga game. What a brilliant idea. The speech sample set the atmosphere perfectly and blends nostalgia of the game with Kefrens' amazing Amiga demo, which in fact appeared some years later but rounds up the idea of this remix nicely. Laxity wasn't really (in my view) one of the best Amiga musicians, also being coder if I remember correctly, though he did create this little masterpiece. A catchy melody, some excellent samples and an impressive standard-setting demo to go with it. But I'm off the topic now, Freekzoid's remix is really excellent too: The eerie intro, some clear and crips sounds, good porting of the original to a more modern synth sound and great mastering. The tune itself gives little room for manouvering, so Freekzoid has gone for expanding on the basic idea of the tune, leaving it shrt and simple but amazingly to-the-point. Thumbs up!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (15/04/2004)

Pretty amazing this one, its a short tune that has been remixed here, but awesome has managed to squeeze around 4 minutes of music out of it... very resourcefull sir.

ok lets start from the bottom and slowly make our way up shall we...
the beginning - very quiet, a synth slowly moving up, taken it seem's directly from the original, sounds very nice though no doubting that and you recognise the tune near instantly, a small padding drum sound begins in the background and slowly things begin to get funky.

around 1 minute in, its still building up, lots of reverse cymbal's to crash etc.. drum beat sitting nicely in the background, a trance filter and a breakdown to the mainline.. all very well done.. im really liking this so far.

drumbeat's are layered upon each other and really well too, its got a real breakbeat feel to it and im definetly enjoying this remix now, wouldnt be out of place in a remix of the game (which there is one.. but its a straight carbon copy im sure alot of you have seen)..

around 3 quarters of the way through it all re-breaks down and goes back to the beginning, this works pretty well, allowing for one last burst of music or at least you'd think so wouldnt you? nope instead it just fades out nicely.
this works to its advantage for me, and after 4minutes of sitting here listening to it i come away smiling.

so a nice lil start for mr awesome and i am definetly looking forward to hearing what else this guy/gal can produce. go download you'll like it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (15/04/2004)

heh awesome really does like his apidya tunes dont he... this is the 2nd one ive heard from him and frankly i hope for an entire set.. GET TO WORK MR AWESOME!! ..

right anyway... yes ... review... here goes.

ive heard this on midi time and time again and absolutely LOVE the 1st line, its got trance written all over it and hearing it in full lovely syntho power made the hairs stand up on my arms.. this is a tremendous remix i want to say that now so that we establish that im not going to diss this very much.

the tune slowly builds up like a trance tune does, it has a very whispy feel to it, kinda like chicane crossed with matt darey.. then after a lil drum roll drop we come back to that beautiful main line. and a slowed breakbeat/normal bpm combo which works great. then your normal bog standard drumbeat, that despite being tried and tested does as usual work well here.

the synths are nicely reverbed, not too deep not too long, it all moves along nicely, its not quiete a tune you could get up and dance too as such but as a listener you are in my opinion drawn into the tune, its not a total work of art.
but for what it is it is bloody brilliant.

my only tiny gripe is that it does take a while to start and the mainline isnt used to much effect..BUT what is used and what is there is brilliantly done and i recommend its download forthwith.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (13/04/2004)

silkworm... ah what a great game that was eh!
aslong as you was the chopper and not the completely useless truck thing at the bottom that just got itself brutally murdered constantly.

The soundtrack albiet all in its one tune greatness isnt the best tune in the world, pretty basic in layout and in all honestly seemed to be more of a rock tune than what im presented with here.
but hey!... this isnt a bad old remix at all, i love the drum work straight off, nice breakbeat style... good use of cut up drums etc... its a pleasure to listen to.

the quality is pretty standard affair, as is the arrangement but considering he didnt have much to work with in the 1st place, the chopping and changing of instrumentation manages to make sure it doesnt get boring too quickly so is quickly forgiven.

this is a pretty decent effort and a very good start for the arranger and i do really look forward to hearing more from this fella/lass .. never sure anymore with these nick names ha!..
now if someone will just remix swiv... mumble mumble...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (09/04/2004)

Nicky Boom was definitely not my favourite Amiga game - at a time when platform jump' n runs were an overkill on Commodore's machine of the 90ies, I used to prefer action and action adventure games, so needless to say the tune from this game did not stick in my head (hence the grey smiley for nostalgia...). A lot of games from the UK (and this one was if I'm not mistaken) used dancefloor sounds and sample-o-ramas like Renegade's Magic Pockets, Xenon 2 and Gods, which is where this take on the Nicky Boom tune takes over from. Some strangely detuned sounds kick off the track followed by a dance environment suitable for destroying your hi-fi's sub-woofer alright. There's some straightforward arrangements here, neat production - it just lacks the bangs & whistles however. I would have liked to hear some more up to date dance sounds... Nevertheless, the track does make me smile from about half way through, with the actual melody taking over and spreading its "feel-good" vibe. Michael, my suggestion would be to re-re-mix this track, remove the slow build up at the start and throw in some more moderns effects and bass. Check out the current batch of tracks from Paul Van Dyk or Blank & Jones to see what I mean. That would probably make the yellow smiley turn into an orange one - if done correctly. Nice work, nonetheless.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by selectanovel (07/04/2004)

This is a quite decent remix. I don't get into it too much, but it certainly has some potential. What I like best about it is the mood in the beginning and the immense use of filter fx throughout the whole track. I think that you didn't succeed entirely at mastering insofar as there seems to be something missing between the background pads and the leading synths. A truer bass-sample could have worked there more properly.
A nice thing is the distortion on the leading synths, that make the track kind of dirty and agressive. What definitely kills the production is the clipping at several times. You really should have fixed that. The ending is just a fadeout. I have no problems with fadeouts, but in this case, I think it's conducted too fast.

Good Smiley :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by M.A.F (07/04/2004)

I was forced to listen to the original Amiga version of this track to truly apprieciate what NJoy had achieved by vastly altering just one musical component.
The BASSLINE!
And what a transformation it is!
The new bassline grabs this track by the horns and takes it to a new musical level.Above the bass is the "spacey" vibrato lead which i think fits just right,the crisp percussion,that punctuating snare which further drives the tune,the added effects and "wobbly" bits as i like to call them,and of course the production which,to my ears i cant fault.
While there is not much variation melodywise throught the tune,it doesnt detract from listening atall,the tune is so well produced you hardly even notice.
And THAT bassline makes sure you want it to keep playing and playing!
All in all my only question is.

Whats next NJoy?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (06/04/2004)

Set the scene... Your in a nightclub playing dance music... However there's a small room hidden in one corner of the club. You enter it. Inside you find a dark almost intimadating smoke filled dance floor and eminating is a smell of wacky backy. A DJ stands infront of you playing some rather obscure sounds and beats. People are dancing in a way that could either mean one of two things... They are Drunk or most probable they are high in cookoo land and somewhere with the fairies. Somewhere within all this confusion lies a strange, almost captivating jolly cheecky tune. If you imagine that, then your as mad as me. But this is something you would expect being played in such a place.

The remix is very clever and gives you just that feeling i stated above. Some very nifty bass work and drums mixed with those ever so cheeky vocals. One major gripe is that the mastering isn't quite upto scratch and often tends to mash together creating a jumbled state of noise and distortion. However saying that i really like this remix. One day maybe Infamous will go back to this and clean it up a bit more. Til that day i will enjoy this version and hope that i will hear a version 2.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (22/03/2004)

This track is strangely captivating. In general, X-out is a Huelsbeck classic and much ignored really - what a shame. The mighty intro tune is pretty well known but this little gem from the loading theme has its moments too. So at the core there's enough music in here to make for an interesting tune. Technically speaking it is, as said above, strangely surreal - I actually find the jungle-esque drums very fitting, getting the track off to a good roll. It somehow misses the spot by just a little bit, making you hope that it *really* kicks off with some fat beats and more bass, but then, instead, it calms down again and... ends? A typical case of "more would have been... erm... more".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (20/12/2003)

This remix of one of the best known and memorable Amiga demo sounds is just so neat. Back then, Red Sector was establishing themselves as the Amiga demo group. I recall with nostalgia watching the red Sector Megademos and looking forward to my own Amiga. One of the reasons I sold my 64! The instruments here are nicely selected and sound quality is good. Only gripe I'd have is the fact that it is - again - (and this is seemingly the case with most Amiga remixes so far) too straightforward. A few variations, some extra effects and a different arrangement to make it more YOUR work Cirdan, that would have been great. Still, a great track and one I'll gladly listen to over and over again.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (19/12/2003)

Wolfchild from Core Design was one of my favourite action games on the Amiga. It had nice console-like graphics and an intelligent level set-up with lots of hidden goodies. Looking back I think it didn't get the praise it deserved. Music wise, the tunes were catchy - this remix by Lomaxx is pretty faithful and seems to be quite precise. Maybe TOO precise, "remix" not being the right word. In fact, it sounds very much like something you'd expect from the same game, had it been written today with the same tools, but with more channels and effects. Ironically, that's where it scores: The nostalgic value, because it's so much like the original. So technically, there are no stuns here. The tune is faithfull, the sound quality is alright. It's just that the theme is not (musically) a stroke of genius - Lomaxx, you'd need to compensate that. A straight mix, nothing more, nothing less.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (10/12/2003)

Sigh. This is nice. Rapture (Fabian del Priore) has really captured the spirit of the original - it's also one of my favourite SIDs/Amiga sounds. The sound quality is good, there's some distinctive 80ies computer sounds in here and the conversion is faithful to the original arrangement.
If I really had to pick out one thing I don't like, I'd say it's the lack of originality - but then again it's a matter of taste.
In my view it's slightly better than Fabian's CD track on Remix64 Vol.1. Ok, it doesn't have the 80ies approach that's true, but the strength of this remix is the faithfulness. Good work Fabian.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (09/12/2003)

Now THIS is *tough*. Tough in terms of what DHS has done with the tune. I really enjoyed Huelbeck's work on Apidya and arguably, his soundtrack CD to this game was on par with his Turrican work. DHS has effortlessly made this tune stand along with Huelsbeck's own studio renditions, following Chris' approach to the 4th level, techno-driven sound. I know DHS doesn't really approve, but it's still definitely Apidya sounding, just a lot more tougher than the Amiga 4 channel melody. The track is based on the first world music, has some really mean thumping bass and a production worth of release on today's commercial albums. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (09/12/2003)

The track while there's not a great deal wrong with it sounds muffled and totally uninspired. For me it's little better than an original amiga mod. The overall sound picture is dull and lifeless. Nope sorry, back to basics.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8