Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1501 - 1530 out of 1950
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

It starts with a pretty good groove, but it continues in a disappointing
fashion: the lead sounds are weak and out-of-place, there are way too many
tingly and bellish overtones. If the intention was to evoke oriental feelings,
the result is a total failure. The arrangement is not too bad per se, but the
instruments should've been selected more carefully.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

A very interesting experiment where the Last Ninja tune is slowed down and it
is put into a sort of ambient wrapping. I don't think it's as "artistic" as it
was probably intended to be, but it is certainly a notable effort. It's a
pretty good for a chill out track as it's very pleasant to listen to.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (28/02/2003)

I'm sorry, but I think this is absolutely awful. I also think I can say this openly without hurting the artist, because this is no surprise. This kind of music just doesn't ring for everyone!

I'll rate this average for technical and artistic impression because the outcome isn't technically bad. The nostalgic impression doesn't exist for me, because I don't see a relationship here to the C64 nor have I ever played the original game.

I can't stand listening to this tune, but some people will think the opposite, so the arrangeur need not worry. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (27/02/2003)

How glyn managed to make this awesome rendition of firelord sound so good in fruityloops is beyond me! but the facts say it for themselves, this was created in fruityloops using only average quality samples. But the key thing here is glyn's ability for music just shines through!

The point is that i doubt glyn could ever do better than this in this current configuration. So what happens now, he goes and buy's himself a monster keyboard and the future of glyn is even brighter... The future's bright, the futures Brown :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (27/02/2003)

I've heard these kind of rhythms before but not in concert with good melodies. So this is a rather tasteful favourite of mine. Drums could have been more upfront and 3D, but overall the instruments are well balanced. If wouldn't have come up with this style, if I was to remix the original C64 tune, but it's rather interesting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (27/02/2003)

It's always nice to see that someone takes on SIDs not so well known. Stainless Steel has choosen the proper description for his remake of "Laxity Again", it is a mellow electronic ballad. Sound-style-wise I'd place it in the 90s, with a TR-909 beat accompanying the synths.

Although the remix is indeed more mellow than the original, I still think it renders the feel of the SID perfectly. A really enjoyable listen!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (25/02/2003)

I'm quite unsure about this remix really.

On the one hand, some nice strangely hypnotic and nostalic sounds, that do sound like a C64 gone synthesizer. But on the other hand, for me, the track lacks progression. There's an upbeat, driving Lynne-esque kind of bass line getting the whole moving after a while that makes it more exciting but overall, it sounds like Wizball's on E.

I'm not happy to critisize it for what it is, because if you like that kind of thing, it'll surely do it for you. But if you're looking for an inspired, thriving hair-standing-on-the-neck kind of C64-meets-synths kind of remix, download Brimble's Lightforce.

Rafael
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (23/02/2003)

Defender of the Crown in the best instrumentation that I can think of!
No synth-like sounds, but sounding of what I think is ancient middle-age music, giving it the authentic touch. The drums sound a bit too bassy and deaf, but anyway:
this cover will bring up the loading screen of DotC in a flash! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (22/02/2003)

A very relaxed tune that you play when you are fed up of Enigma and want something more pop. The original tune was some 80s synth hit, AFAIK.
The instruments used do not sound cheap and the synths are sweet. Really a chill-out tune, adds nothing special to the original. Good mixage.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (22/02/2003)

Sid sounds with drums and a few added additional effects. What else can you say about it! not much really.

Die hard Last ninja fans need only to apply!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (22/02/2003)

MistaDistah goes walkabout for a while, but then after an absence returns with a whole new sound picture and approach creating an inventive ambient piece of work of a tune that hasn't had too many outings.

The whole sound picture to this is so full, calming and oh so so nice! The use of analogue sounds to this piece just makes it!

A whopping, stonking fine tune. Hats off to you MistahDistah
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (22/02/2003)

Strangely New order in style at parts, but it kinda works, if only let down by some very basic sounds. The powerful baseline is overlapped by some weak lead instruments, which is mainly one of the reasons why i rate this so low. The concept isn't that bad and the 80's idea in well visualised. Overall there just isn't enough highlights in the tune to maintain any interest for too long.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (22/02/2003)

A lovelly feel good bouncy and jolly remix from Markus Siebold (who incidentally wrote the original piece). Nice attacking powerful drums accompanies a jarre-esque lead and backing. It's a damn good version of a great sid. Sometimes however you just wish that markus brought out the lead into the open more, a niggly point tho to be honest.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (21/02/2003)

Close to the original SID, and one of the remixes where the use of SID samples makes a lot of sense, it preserves the magic of the original. Nice "club-sound" drums, right balance of bass, simply perfect. The synth lines are singing!
I love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

The biggest drawback of this remix is, the chosen lead instrument is a pain to listen to, although the tune is only two and a half minutes long. I find the rest of the chosen instrumentation questionable, too. In addition to the lead, the dominant and monotonous drum'n'bass is a headache-guarantee. And I would prefer if I could enjoy more of the things in the background. The arranger should have put more emphasis on the background.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

Stuffed with a great selection of synth/electronic/SID sounds and modulations and offering an awesome recreation of the important lead, it is very good. Expect the sidtune on different and more capable equipment. It is a cover version, which is close, but different at the same time. For instance, unlike the SID version, it doesn't concentrate on filtered sounds and heavy ring-modulation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

Only enjoyable at high volume because it doesn't consist of many voices or rich sounds. But be aware of a drum solo in the middle which takes away some of the flow (and fun). The "Spy vs. Spy" theme is clearly recognizable, however, and recreated in a clever way with a matching accompany. Though, for a total of 3:06 it is quite repetitive, also in the second and better half.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

Impressive production quality of this 6:35 long dance-remix with regard to quality of sounds and richness in sound. Even the stutter-rap at the beginning fits well. If I could suggest an improvement, I would replace the piano in the lead with a more obvious instrument. The piano is about the only thing that doesn't work perfectly and in the lead sounds unexpected. In the accompany it fits very good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (21/02/2003)

If you're not familiar with the sidtune, base your expectations on sub-song #6 of the sidtune in HVSC. Neither the remix nor the sidtune have any nostalgic value for me. Hence I don't consider that in the overall rating.

The remix has nothing special to offer. Bass, percussions and accompany are pretty monotonous and hence boring, but not bad. The overall arrangement doesn't trigger any emotions though. It lacks something like a theme, probably because the original sidtune is weak in this area, too. But nevertheless, the sidtune performs better, and its lead voices are more enjoyable the longer you listen to it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

This is a sublime piece of work from Larsec. I loved this tune right from the start, but it just gets better everytime i hear it. One of the most inventive remixes ever and so so very emotional to boot.

This remix isn't your typical like for like approach as with many remixes you hear. Starting of slowly the track seems to give you a false sense of security, but it really kicks off at the 1:30 mark where female arabian vocals are added, which just enhances the feel more than ever. At 2:30 the tune evolves slowly bringing an electric guitar in and replacing the vocals as the tempo slowly increases. Adding more instruments and effects along the way, and it just keeps evolving as it goes on.

It has everything a good musical ear should appreciate, mellow moments, attacking moments, and a massive amount of variety. Oh and it lasts just over 9 mins which is no bad thing as tracks like these can go on forever!

Excellence in remixing and excellence in music! superb!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

Not overly different from the original (which also includes the original samples). it's another one of those nicey nicey tunes that replaces the sid sound and turns it into an amiga sounding mod.

It's nice, but nothing more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

We've heard this style before... Write a simple tune and slam a few beats behind it, very boring and uninspirational. It does improve a bit as the remix goes on, but it just doesn't do anything to the ears.

One of those songs that you get bored of very very easily.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

A strange little tune that is quite appealing in small doses. It's lively, but it's also quite bizarre. A very strange choice of instruments selected here; from harpsicord to a squeezed mouse full of helium. (what is that sound anyway).

Tho very strange in nature it's quite entertaining. certainly made me smile a wee bit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

There's alot of bad sanxion remixes about, and very few good ones. This version is one of those well, bad ones.

It's noisy and over powering and adds far too much when simplicity would have been more the order of the day.

Not to say it's really bad, it's just so boombastic and annoyingly overcrowded with effects and instruments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

erm! yes, erm well... it's different!

Wierd, and boy this hurts!!! i dunno what to make of it! just don't bother downloading it! dreadful! with a captial D!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

This remix sounds like Glyn R brown with a blindfold! Basically you know what he's trying to do, but it fails in just about every department. I'm almost sure this remix is inspired by glyns 1st part of his 3 in 1 entry on the remix64 competition. However thats where the simularity ends with glyn.

The remix is flat, emotionless and just downright poor!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

There's some nice touches in this remix by Ghost, especially concerning the drums which work tremendously well.

The typical carribean lead work well with the tunes ethos, tho it does sound at times a little flat and disconcerning.

It's a valliant effort, but at times the remix suffers from sounding a little Midi sounding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (21/02/2003)

The usual arkaniod, but with a difference. There's enough new elements to warrent another outing. FTC doesn't actually remix the sid so to speak, but actually tries to re-invent it to some extent.

Part sid sound part ambience. i found this version very creative and adds a new flavour to a track which i think has lost it's sell by date!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (21/02/2003)

After quite a long time, MistaDistah is back with a pretty different interpretation of Galway's classic. Sound-wise it goes along with late 80s / early 90s ambient trance music. Very analog sounding, very chillout'ish.

There's more to this remix than the sum of its Technical/Artistic/Nostalgic ratings. Guess you'll have to listen to it yourself to experience that... you shouldn't miss this remix, it is very beautiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (20/02/2003)

"This is my last game for the C64" Manfred Trenz wrote in the end titles of Turrican 2 when the original SID of this remix played. Ok, it wasn´t his last game (-Enforcer).
The man who created the SID also made this remix, Markus Siebold himself. He extended the song to it´s full glory with synthy violins and Italo-dance snare drums. The arrangement is great this way.
The mid-frequencies are too low while you get a lot of bass and hihats in this mix, and it sounds not much stereo.
It is still a remix that makes a die-hard-Turrican-fan smile :-)
Good ol´ times!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65