Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1501 - 1530 out of 1854
[LOGIN]

Review by datucker (04/02/2003)

Orchestral remakes seem to be quite popular now. This is another one. The arrangement is good. The choosen sounds are good. In a musical way the remake is good.

The only flaw of this remake is that (no offence to LaLa!) it just doesn't sound like a orchestra. I think that is due to the equipment used: I hear a synth trying to sound like an orchestra but which is still a synth. If this remake would be remastered using some high-end equipment, it really could sound way cool because from a musical view it is good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by datucker (04/02/2003)

This remake of Lightforce is basically interesting. I say basically because I like idea but the sounds are a bit too agressive. The mixing is not very good. It sounds somehow a bit LoFi, it doesn't have much stereo effects. Besides the different channels aren't well balanced: sometimes one channel overtakes all others because it's just to loud. It's like listening to some old radio-cassette-tape which is very, very old.

In brief: the musical idea is good :-), the mixing-part could be done better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (04/02/2003)

I find it somewhat difficult to judge this remix. There's a impressive blend of sound effects, but musically I think this remix has degraded from the original tune. It would still make a good backdrop in a platform game. Well...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (04/02/2003)

I keep coming back to this tune after lots of C64 remakes. I've never heard the original tune so I don't have any nostalgic feelings but there are feelings in this remix! The style isn't what I usually listen to, but this one triggered my interest. Well done guitar play, nice distortion, sound effects are not overdone, and some noisy 8-bit samples. A refreshing combination.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

J Lof manages to breath new life into one of the most remixed tunes simply by speeding it up. That and choosing killer sounds for his remix. :-) Add a rather danceable rhythm to this bowl of soup and you got one pretty good Lightforce cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Strangely appealing and decidedly electronic, this remix is not trying to do too much but still achieves a lot. I quite like the bass sound in it and the whole electronic feel that it projects.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I`ve heard so many remixes of the various Commando tunes, I lost count. This one starts very slow with a single wind instrument playing the lead of the hi- score tune - a very nice piece of remix. Then it switches to the main theme with a more grandiose style. High marks for choosing a SID tune that doesn`t lend itself naturally to the symphonic treatment, but except for a few inspired spots (which are mostly where the choir is audible) I find the arrangement crooked and somewhat misdirected. Also, most of the instruments are panned dead center which sounds especially unnatural in a symphonic piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out like any regular WotF cover: very oriental in nature, ambient, serene. Then at around 1:20 more drums and a dancey bass kick in and the ambience is gone, but it actually works out quite nicely as they blend into the overall structure well. I think this is a very good high quality remix, if somewhat unorthodox in its approach.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I`m not sure how to categorize this remix: I think it`s a cross between a symphonic piece and good old Western-style music a la Morricone (whistling plus harmonicas - what else can it be? :-). Doesn`t take itself very seriously, but not in a sarcastic, rather in a joyful way. It`s bound to cheer you up! I`m impressed by the quality of this remix, but I don`t quite agree with the arrangement all the time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

In contrast to Dr. Future`s version, this is a fast-paced dance version of the same Hülsbeck tune. Maybe the style is not a very original one, but it`s done fairly well and is definitely danceable.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I think the bass actually sounds better in this one, but I liked the lead better in the "2002 remake". Jarno needs to combine the best of his two mixes to create a better one. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It starts with some moody harps but it continues with more carefully selected wind instruments. It then evolves into a very "masculine" theme that is alternated with peaceful solos, creating a sort of emotional roller-coaster ride in just 3 minutes. Markus shows some pretty impressive mastery of the symphonic domain here, even though at times his piece suffers from too synthy instruments. But he did the best he could with what he had and the result is awe-inspiring.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This remix seems to have everything: it`s a full and complete cover of the original SID, the instruments radiate a sort of 80`s synth-feel... But somehow the overall feeling of this cover is not as good as the sum of its parts. There are bits and pieces of it that are pretty awesome (like that stabbing bass in the opening minute, that pad sound that is a cross between a choir and a flute, that nice break in the middle, etc.), but at times it sounds cheap and kitschy, which is unfortunate.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

In spirit it`s similar to Reyn`s superb version (available on "Nexus 6581") with acoustic instruments and such, but it`s thinner and less developed. Not a bad arrangement at all, but it sounds like it could`ve used more work. Especially that ugly bridge section in the middle. But I really like the guitar licks featured in it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is a bloody awesome cover in the style of Kraftwerk, more specificly their Electric Café album! Complete with the typical minimalistic drums, the minimalistic music structure - and even singing! It is really good, and although I think the singing could`ve been more "robotic" and the lead sound a bit more Kraftwerky, all in all, it`s one very good piece of work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Although the novelty value of SID remixes with lyrics probably wore off by now, I still find them rather interesting. Especially this one - pay close attention to the singing. I quite like its lyrics! "Follow me back in time!" :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A rare remix from an HVSC Crew member (Andreas and myself also tried remixing SID tunes). He chose one of my favorite LN tunes and did a respectable job of bringing it to a more modern sound environment. I like the choice of sax (?) for the lead, but unfortunately some of the slides seem to drift off-key at times. This cover would sound even better with a purely acoustic treatment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am a bit mystified about why people rate this tune so high. It`s a mixed salad of jungle samples, an electronic lead, some samples from Jarre`s Zoolook, and even a female a capella performance mixed with males shouting "Hey!" found its way into this remix. Sure, it`s a quality recording, it sounds like a great production, it`s even funny at times, but its musical value is not exactly outstanding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A very nice chill-out cover. Sometimes keeping it simple is better than overcomplicating it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is one of the best (if not *the* best) symphonic covers I`ve ever downloaded from RKO! This is probably the closest one can get to that orchestral sound without actually hiring one to perform a tune. It also has a soundtrack feel to it, probably because of the fast moodswings that is typical of film scores. I don`t know how much Glyn worked on this tune, but it was sure well worth it. The only enhancement I can think of for this tune is a better placement of the various sections of the "virtual orchestra" in the stereo space - everything seems to come from the middle, which is not realistic. But that is just splitting hair over this awesome work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is basically the same thing as the first version, but I like this one a bit less due to the missing vocals which give life to and spice up the other version. Still sounds bloody awesome to me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Reminds me a lot, a _LOT_ to the style of Deep Forest - and it is fantastic! Although I do question its place on RKO: after all, it is a remix of the Indiana Jones theme. ;) (But then where should we stop: what about Delta, Zoids and others that are also covers of covers?...) Anyway, this remix is bloody awesome and you have to be deaf not to notice that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover has lots of potential, unfortunately most of it is not used fully. The ambience it tries to create is a good idea, but is disturbed by brushy drums - those should`ve been marching drums, anyway. The cheesy bass further destroys the ambience. Again, not bad, but could`ve been a lot better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is superb, it`s really, really awesome! It may be short, but it`s very effective at capturing the feel of those merry-go-round tunes at fairs! My only problem with it: it cuts off abruptly. (And to overcome its shortness, play it twice. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I don`t think most SID fans can appreciate how authentic this cover is: Leslie effects, cheesy drums, electronic sounds generated by tubes - it`s a typical Hammond organ! Very good! (My Dad is a big fan of these beasts, he has a similar electronic organ, so I know exactly why this cover is spot on. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is a happy little tune! I can easily imagine it in a children`s educational TV program, where it`d be a favorite for sure.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This tune sets a _very_ scary mood - which is quite appropriate for Cauldron. If this remix was a movie, I would be really frightened now! Highly recommended to be played at full volume on Halloween to scare off trick-or- treating kids (so you can keep the candy for yourself, moohahhah!).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A bit of a mixture of styles, both oriental ambient and pop, and it features some nicely selected instruments. A unique mix that works very well. I am also impressed by its production.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Who is this guy? This is not bad at all! It may be unfinished, but it sounds pretty good to me even in its current form.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The famous little tune played (well, sequenced) on an acoustic guitar - I quite like it! Sounds surprisingly good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62