Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1531 - 1560 out of 1933
[LOGIN]

Review by craigg (18/02/2003)

It's about time someone other than Chris Abbott (and perhaps Phil Bak) supplied us with a decent Sanxion remix, and preferably something a little different from the original. This dance-em-up attempts to take the track into 'clubland', and to some extent, it succeeds. Despite the loops sounding all-too-familiar, the beginning of the track is catchy and builds well. However, J Lof comes a cropper by screwing up a couple of later sections of the track. While I'm all for remixes that aren't direct covers, it still helps if you get the melody right. Also, the vocal samples rapidly become downright irritating.

So, once again, we're left with a painfully average version of Hubbard's greatest. Oh well, back to Back in Time...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by craigg (18/02/2003)

The original Ryuichi Sakamoto track that Ouewhand's piece is based on is so beautiful that's it's tough not to do it justice. Staying away from the oriental leanings of the original and the tough sounds of Ouwehand's C64 version, this remix begins well, with gentle but engrossing backing. However, the weak lead instruments--particularly the piano--and occasional bum note go some way to ruining what had the potential to be a much better remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (18/02/2003)

An awesome atmosphere (somewhere between majestic and melancholic) is created by this arrangement. The highlights of this remix being piano and pan-flute as lead instruments, a well-balanced choice of mostly accoustic instruments and a rhythm which keeps you caught for the entire song.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (18/02/2003)

Musicians most likely disagree, but for my taste the 9:29 long track contains far too many added pieces which have nothing in common with the great source theme. In particular, the female voice singing some completely unrelated Oriental stuff from 1:30 to 2:45 is something which makes me double-check whether what is playing is actually the correct track. Apart from that, the beginning sounds thin, and with the long Oriental singing, it takes too long for the remix to build up. Assuming it started around 3:53, it gets better, but not with regard to the mixing and the things that follow. It gets thinner again around 6:30 with a solo (nothing recognizable), followed by another own composition which almost fails to find its way back to the Zoids theme which in the last minute is disturbed by improvised and IMHO questionable and wild lead guitar playing. Conclusively, in the category of a "SID remix" -- as a remix of Zoids -- (and trying to follow and understand the arranger's long comment) I don't see many bits which make this remix more than average in its category. The sheer play-time can't compensate the ballast. In a stripped down version I could concentrate on a remix of Zoids and would rate it higher.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by craigg (18/02/2003)

For all its pseudo-industrial stomping, Zoids is actually a quite beautiful piece of music, as proven by O2's wonderful and lasting treatment of it, which also ended up on Back in Time 3. In some ways this remix follows a similar path, exploring the ambient side to the piece. The guitar lead, which could easily have jarred, is pushed back to good effect in the mix, and the bass pulses to add strength to the arrangement.

In some cases it perhaps moves a little too far from the original arrangement, and there's a little too much noodling here and there, but it would be churlish to penalise such an accomplished remix for a few minor niggles.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by craigg (18/02/2003)

Every once in a while, something comes along in the C64 remix scene that makes everyone sit up and take notice. This is one such track. We've had orchestral remixes, dance treatments, C64 tracks with lyrics, and more, but now we descend into total madness. In something akin from the warped brains of the Dead Guys versus Makke on speed, combined with a good dose of Jarre and NIN, Trauma creates one of the most original, funny and downright catchy C64 remixes of all time. The perhaps Zoolook-inspired intro is a red herring to what follows: a gradual build up of the original theme, laced with vocal treatment and funky drums, followed by a pseudo-industrial ending from C64 hell. Worthy of the bizarre nature of the original game, and should be required listening for fans of C64 remixes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (18/02/2003)

The winner of Remix64's "Great CD Giveaway Competition" gives an outstanding example of innovative and successful usage of singing and entertaining lyrics in SID remixes. It it based on a short accoustic guitar version of "Times of Lore" (Martin Galway) in the intro and builds its two main parts upon perfectly blended Pop versions of "Deel 3" and "Cybernoid 2" (Jeroen Tel) for a total of 4:47. The lyrics just fit so well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

A very well composed remix of ambient/electronica style that has a nice fat sound to it, but not the 10000 beats per minute drum sound as you might expect. And I do, got a nice sound to it - electronica or "old school" techno if you like. Remixer uses mostly own instruments, but there is a well applied sprinkle of original C64 synths if I am not mistaken, it is a bit hard to hear. Perhaps a bit in the easy listening deparment is a better description. A very nice music piece that I am finding myself listening to a lot these days.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mahoney (18/02/2003)

Well, this mix is very nice. Inspiring, well done and in the usual Trauma's funky drums mix I've heard before. Nice one, really!

I'll be pumpking you. Isn't that supposed to be _humpin'_? :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I think it is one of the better wizball remixes out there. I agree about the drum part, but I think there is too much of an infatuation with fat drum tracks out there in general :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I like unorthodox when you remix popular songs. Not much fun in Yet Another Remix of some game that sounds samey. This song is very nice to listen to. Even though some drum rhythm gets into the mix, it doesn't go overboard (giving you one of those dull "Add drum track and stir"-remixes). Very nice piano, synth thingy and is that a triangle I hear at the end? Recommended.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

I've heard too many remixes where the author slaps a few synths on top of the original tune. The greatest tribute is to take the old song to a new stage like Dor-x does with this one. Why just make a 25 second remix? Thats what we got the original for (Which isn't a synth but a IREM arcade if I remember correctly?).

Anyway, Dor-x has substituted all instruments with new ones, still sounding a bit electronic which I suppose is the point. As the first reviewer pointed out, the song takes a few listening-to's but it ends up winning on me. I like it, great technical and artistic merit. Nostalgic impression inevitably suffers when you move far away from the original, perhaps that is what makes Belding so caustic in his review.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Mahoney seems to have an affinity for using voice or lyrics. And I think it's the first remix I've heard with Emil's father in it ;) The remix is ranking high on technical merit - getting those voices to work in a song - my hat off. Artistic impression ,well most of it is just a nice slow drum not much there. I guess all the hard work went into the voices and lyrics. As usual with mahoneys remixes I am undecided for a while whether I like them or not. I decided that this remix is good as another remix that isn't just a few synths slapped ontop of an old song. Originality factor high .) And it's not just quaint but also because it's with humor. And it got panting women in extasy as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Abbott always make remixes of a very high technical quality. Therefore I found this very simple tune to be a delightful listen. He has substituted many if not all of the original instruments with great skill. The song is cheery and happy and simple, one you can go and whistle to yourself and drive your co-workers nuts with. Great nostalgic value, and kudos for picking one of the less popular tunes out there. Also Finders Keepers was one of the first MasterTronic games I owned, so extra spice for nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by a0d (18/02/2003)

Sorry for all you enthousiastic Cauldron II mixers out there. The final Cauldron II has been done.
This version offers everything. A typical acapella Trauma start with a 21st century beat kicking in at the right moment. Then building up to a Nine Inch Nails kind of final haunting you way after the tune has finished. If that isn't in spirit with the (mostly hard and frustrating) game I have no idea what is!
I can imagine that a lot of people from the BIT generation are not into this kind of mixing but condemning them for that would be unfair. Because in my opinion it is all still about creativity and fun...

Bit muddy on the mixing, though, for the techno-boffins but nonetheless great!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Arkanoid is a popular tune to remix. This remix suffers in my taste from being too close to the original. A lot of the original SID sound is applied, but it has been done earlier. So it is hard to discerne what the remixer is adding to the general song except a bit of extra instruments to add to the overall soundscape. In the end it is a quite dull remix to my taste, particularly because I've heard so many other 'Noid remixes - so a new one has to put a certain spin on it that I haven't heard before. People all new to arkanoid remixes might rate different than I. From earlier with other songs I think that FTC can do well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (18/02/2003)

Very great review, rating up there with the masters of ambience Mike Oldfield. I am particularly fond of the guitar. When I first heard the chanting female voice I thought "Oh my god, not ANOTHER one". But quickly, i realized that this was indeed very fit. This remix both reveres the old and build it's own style. Which is also why I rate it less in nostalgia - it reminds a little of Zoids but is clearly strongly it's own work. I mean, I am not really thinking of zoids here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beyond (18/02/2003)

I like this remix - it is simple and yet it has a good groove.

Some of the "metallic" chords are just a tad too loud. But the sound effects are just perfect as well as the usage of new exciting drum sounds.

Nostalgic, hmmm, I'd rather say it most definately revives the tune.

"Three thumbs up!" :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by maharishi (17/02/2003)

Let me say first of all that I am a good friend of Larsec in real life, and I that I am not blessed with any musical skills whatsoever, except an occasional and passionate desire to break out in song or discreet humming of tunes :-)
I do appreciate music most definetely, though, but as an inductor of emotions and memories. I often react strongly emotionally to tunes because of what they bring forward in me. Its kind of like a surge of goosebumps that rushes my body. (I have heard Christians refer to it as the Holy Spirit :-) lol)
Hmm, I'd better get to the point. I signed up as a member on the site just to be able to write this, and it's all because of you Larsec! I don't have any terms to describe any of the technical diddeleyidoo, that you fuss around with, but let me congratulate you anyway with the a purely emotional judgement I can humbly give. I love it Larsec. It gave me that surge of energy when the solo begins at 6.31 and a strong sensation of sadness and beauty followed and giving the fact that I just fell in love (another story, but you know that one, hehe ;-) ) it speaks even more to me.

Keep up the spirit and life will bring you to the forefront of music, my friend. At least that is my wish for you.

Anders Lillemand
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mattsid (17/02/2003)

I waited for this remix much time! :-)
I like too much this David Whittaker tune (The Tube was one of my first game on c64) ... your remix is great but not perfect... sincerely I prefer the true SID sound... you can re-remix and improve the original sound ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (17/02/2003)

This remix is so beautiful, I'm actually lacking the words to describe how beautiful. The whole thing sounds like a movie score, comparable to Dune, Blade Runner and Terminator (which have all great movie scores) ;)

I've listened to this mix a thousand times, and will propably listen to it a thousand times more. Please, more of the same, Larsec!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (17/02/2003)

Ay carramba! What a great remix! Technically, it's perfect: great mixing/mastering, overall quality and selection of sounds. Artistically, Trauma spills creativity all over the place, combining various styles into something unique - yet it works perfectly. This remix slowly but constantly builds up until it finally culminates in a musical frenzy. The lyrics and the clever implementation of Richard Joseph's original tune do all to spark nostalgia.

I wouldn't have thought it was possible to make a remix of this SID I'd like even more than the 909Sadist's! But here it is! (be sure to check them both out) :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by monty (17/02/2003)

I like this remix very much. It comes cool and decent but has underlying power. You can feel the floating energy. And it's so beautifully electronic! ;-)
At first listen you may find that it has some wrong sounding edges but if you are going deeper into this tune you will discover that they are a necessary part of the song's soul.

My expectations of a good remix are to catch the spirit of the original tune and maybe to upgrade it to another lever. ifadeo accomplished that, even if, in this case, I listended to the original sid AFTER listening to the remix.

Overall a great contribution to R:K:O.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by q__ (16/02/2003)

Cool, you must (or should) be a drummer :-)

I don't know if the 'casio' sound was intentional, but i think with better quality gear this would be better.
IMHO the tune itself can't carry a piece this long on itself, but the percussion in particular the 'improvisation' at around 2:30 keep it interesting.

Overall a very rhythmic piece which i like.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

It's a pitty the great harpsichord arrangement has no chance against loud percussions and a lead instrument which could be described best as a "singing saw", it literally gets buried - eewh!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

Considering how Instant Remedy started out, Sonic Wanderer's attempt sounds much like he's in the early steps of Instant Remedy. For a club remix, however, this one starts too late with stomping drums (at 1:22). The middle part with bass-line and steady percussions is better, but also has a questionable sequence where the rhythm is changed abruptly. Another thing that could be replaced or changed is the dominating Arpeggio in the background which is too close to the lead. Else this is a nice effort.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

Entertaining..., but hey, what is "Moon Patrol"? The original sidtune is a 25 seconds short bass solo (well, call it melody) accompanied with weird drums. So, what this "remix" does is adding a complete own and lengthy guitar composition on top of the looping (and later modified) bass-line from Moon Patrol which makes it a complete new track rather than a remix, IMO. Hence in the category of a "SID remix", I think this one performs a poor job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

A straight-forward extended SID cover which means it contains a few samples from the original sidtune, but replaces most of the instruments and percussions. In this "enhanced sidtune" category, however, it does a good job. In particular I enjoyed a great bass-line and drums.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

A mixture between "a capella", lyrics, Kraftwerk-style electro drums, club-music and heavy metal near the end. In other words, a real strange mixture, and although I agree it may be a very creative piece of music, I can't get accustomed to weird stuff like this and I'm not impressed at all with what it does to the Cauldron (Hexenküche) theme and its atmosphere

I think this mp3 has a very limited and special target group. It's not anything I would recommend as a download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

While a selection of good and smooth sounding sounds was used, this track covers parts of the original sidtune in a quite too repetitive way for a bit more than four minutes. I wish it would cover more of the sidtune and would attempt at one or two variations. If you're looking for a track to become sleepy, this is one. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65