Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1621 - 1650 out of 1854
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover is pretty unique because it has lyrics! And I don`t mean synthetized, over-vocoded voices, but a real human singing! It also has cameo appearances by the evil Atombender dude from Impossible Mission and the I-Ball guy. Not much I can comment about the lyrics itself, but I thought I mention that I`d recommend everybody to download this unique gem.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is one awesome remix! Actually, you get multiple remixes in one compact package, and they are not always similar to each other, either. I wish I had more time to analyze this remix, `cause it would deserve it. My only gripe is that it`s probably too long (what can I say - I am impatient today).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Some of the background sounds are out of tune. Minus 10 points for that (even though it was done on purpose, I assume). The rest of the remix is pretty decent, though. Plus 10 points for that. The best way I can describe this remix: Jinks does the Blair Witch Project. Scary, mystical, amateurish (which does *NOT* equal to crap in my dictionary!), rough at the edges.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Too many high frequencies in the drums destroy the rest of the cover. Take that loudness away from the drumtrack, and this is a pretty good Cybernoid cover, albeit a little thin at times (ie. not "fat" or ear-full enough, esp. the lead). I quite like Tim`s use of the effects which replace Jeroen Tel`s original SID effects rather than reuse them. It is obvious that a lot of work went into this very faithful cover. But please, rework those drums!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It has a beautiful start (paradoxically, since we were supposed to be in the freakin` sewers :-), and continues very nicely in the same fashion. It`s one of the more laid back tracks on this energetic album, and it has also become a favorite by me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s just done perfectly! It fits the mood of this level astonishingly precisely, which is more amazing as there`s no trace of any SID sound in this track, either. The ending is a bit abrupt - I wish it went on further!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is great stuff, too, I reall enjoy it! It doesn`t sound as strong or as emotional as some of the other tracks on this album, but it is still by far one of the best covers of this tune I`ve ever heard.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Both part 1 and part 2 are very original, unique, quite individual, yet, well-known by all of us. I probably like part 1 more than the other. Too bad they are both so short.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Was there a Max Headroom Remix Competition that I somehow missed? ;) This remix starts out great. Unlike the previous Max Headroom remix I reviewed, this contains the "obligatory" Max Headroom samples. The whole remix is sort of technoish, but definitely electronic in nature - which is why the strings sound a bit out of place (although they are filtered synth strings). I`d say this tune is about a minute too long - I`d appreciated more variation towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is not much more than the original SID with added breakbeats. Personally, these are the sort of "covers" I really don`t like. Especially with Wizball - the whole tune is ruined by the inproper and inexperienced use of drum patterns. I`ll make every effort to quickly forget that I ever listened to this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Back to the beat-music era. A touch of Beatles, too, maybe. I can certainly imagine them playing it. Nice new angle on the same old tune, but overall, I don`t think it quite works. But it`s very, very well done. [After listening to it a few more times, I did decide to give it my approval. It sorta grows on you...]
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A bit more orchestration and arrangement work would help this cover a lot, but I think it sounds very nice as it is. The flute sounds could be a bit better, but the whole idea for this cover was a good one. A beautiful LN3 cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty good effort, but veteran listeners will find nothing new here. I think, this version is too similar to the one on BIT1. The additional piano later on makes it worse, not better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

SID2MIDI the original, then make some weird selections for the instruments. It gets rather noisy in the middle as a new instrument comes in. Dirty samples? Synth-heavy remix, a bit minimalistic, like the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The "soundtrack" version on BIT2 - awesome. The "horror movie" version on Nexus - pretty good, but not as good. For the same reason, I am not fond of this one, either. The lead guitar later on sounds really good, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Fantastic transition from Aztec into Thrust. Now *this* Hubbard tune was a perfect choice for this band! Alright, so the keyboard player had a tad of stage fright when starting out (and later on, too :-/ ), but everything else went very nicely. Great use of flange/vibrato and wah-wah effects on the lead guitar for this track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Strange and strangely placed sound effects, but hey, they are good enough for me! :-) Starts out with the original tune, then it goes into an extensive improvisational part, then switches back to the original. I think this tune would sound a tad better with acoustic guitars, but again, PPOT did a great job with this cover. Also, this is another almost flawless performance.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Wowee!!! Awesome beginning! I vote this for the best Warhawk beginning ever! Yet another perfect tune for PPOT`s setup. Again, here and there I discovered those... ahem, artistic choices ;), but much less than in other covers. Very well performed, too. It`s another favorite of mine from the concert! (Also dancey - my feets are moving when I`m listening to this, that`s for sure.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I`m glad they did it, because for some reason this one sounds better than when they first played it. Practice makes perfect, I guess. =) Sounds more "heavy", really aggressive - like it should. Has a better flow to it. Well, in one word, it`s better, period.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

So many people tried to cover this famous tune in so many ways, but I don`t think that even one of them managed to do it well. I think, precisely because this is such a well-known tune, it`s hard to cover it or please people with a remix of it. I have never liked the idea of turning it into a pop/disco/fast beat tune, and Red Devil chose to do that, although the middle part of his remix sounds better to me. Guitars, pianos, base guitars - you name it, it`s all in here. Maybe that`s why I don`t quite like it - it tries to be everything when it`s not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It would be extremely hard for anybody to top Reyn`s own cover of the intro tune, but Red Devil has tried to do just that. Did a fairly decent job, for that matter (I really like it when the flute plays the lead in the middle part!), but I think this cover sounds a bit too much like Reyn`s own version with strings, piano, choir, flute. Yes, Red Devil added his won twists to it, but I still feel this is a copycat effort, although a really good one.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A strange short mix of Arkanoid and The Last V8 with a trendy electro-techno feel to it. I can imagine a long C64 megamix in the same style but this one is too short.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Do you know the feeling when you hear an excellent joke the second time, and it`s just not that funny any more? That`s how I feel about this remix. Sure, it was fun to see that DJ make an ass out of himself admitting that his hit is a C64 cover, but I think we are all over that by now. Sure, it`s funny to start this house remix with that shouting male crowd, but it`s just not that funny any more.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Now, if you want to top Reyn Ouwehand, this is how you do it!!! Concise and very professional. That`s all I will say about it. Holy sh*t, it`s just awesome!!!…
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Another XM-MP3 conversion from Ferrara. Another nice one from him, somewhat similar to his LN3 tune 8 cover. The soul of the original is there, which I like.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

One of my fav tunes is the MPS intro. While I really like Feekzoid`s covers, I think his style doesn`t fit at all here. MPS intro is a more upbeat tune, with raw, harsh sounds. I think, Feekzoid felt this, too, as he completely cut out the last 30 seconds of the original tune from his cover. It`s just not there. Don`t get me wrong, this is an awesome piece of music, it`s just not what I feel should`ve been done for this SID.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Some out of tune stuff in the lead at around 1:30 minutes into the cover and on (I mean, the difference between the original SID and this cover is just really audible here and it doesn`t sound good to my ears at all), but other than that, I don`t think Chris Hülsbeck could`ve done a much better job himself (well, okay, maybe *he* could`ve :-). Samples from the original SID (or the Amiga version?) and more samples that I am familiar with from Amiga MODs can be heard in it. Nicely mixed with an in-your-face attitude (thus, following the SID original well :-), a good direct cover. Very disco-like (again, like the original). What can I say - I like it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I have reviewed this already (around Aug. 2, 2000). The remastering brings more crispiness and better overall sound quality to this cover (duh! :-), but musically, I still have the same opinion about it. Not quite good enough to be very good, but it gets my recommendation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Here`s what I wrote about it before: another obscure SID, this time by Wally Beben. But here, Makke`s cover enhances the SID a lot without adding anything annoying to it. What can I say - I like it! There are some technoish sounds in it, some ambient sonic landscapes, and they work together well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Annoyingly high-pitched bells are starting out this cover, but it quickly recovers from it. It`s a pretty unique take on this tune, discovering it from a completely new angle, which I think is a plus. But I think it`s not developed quite to the potential it demonstrates.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62