Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 194
[LOGIN]

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

Sounds great but there's a few places where it just doesn't quite capture the original tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

I like this, but the guitar work isn't as good as your other track, you miss a few parts and skip some notes but still sounds fine, nice and meaty. Again that synth doesn't work well that well. 1:21 - 3:00 is the best part. I'd really like to hear a more aggressive version of this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

That guitar work was incredible! The drums were great too, would've preferred a bit more emphasis on the synth in places and the synth sounds, a little less than ideal for this track but overall it's pretty great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (05/10/2019)

This really deserves it's place, high up in both charts. Just the 1st listen tells you how good the quality of this soundtrack is. I can't imagine how long it took to make or how much work went in to get the attention to detail that is here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cube (30/09/2019)

Good orchestral arrange as well as a great mix. Super nostalgia factor, Iike always from Dr Future
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hyperunknown (10/09/2019)

See, this is most likely the best of all remixes on the entire site. The buildups, the accords, selection of samples, preservation of the Doskpop-style. I mean come on, the choords and the lead, i get shivers down my spine. IRL. For real. Thanks for this one mate. Why the hell do I even bother having Spotify :p
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by aGGreSSor (29/07/2019)

I bought an Amiga to listen GuitarSlinger and play in SuperFrog. It was a long time ago...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Mates, say that that echoing sliding far sound makes all this composition over the top? :)... It just fires all sensors for me :P
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Relaxed ending, and very memorable and reminiscent beginning of that real Slinger module I lived with for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

That how really my childhood should sound! It's nice, melodic, well-arranged, balanced, complete and ... wow!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

La guitare est géniale, un peu trop présente mais quel plaisir ce remix. Beuacoup de nostalgie à ré-écouter ce morceau. La partie à partir de 3mn est très réussie avec les petits "screams" très inspirée. Bravo gibs
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Quel plaisir de réentendre ce morceau remixé avec goût. La ligne de basse est impeccable, les sons très bien choisis, les breaks originaux, un remix de grande qualité pour un morceau injustement connu.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

gibs nous livre un remix inspiré ou le son de guitare n'est pas fatiguant (contrairement à beaucoup de remixs, gibs compris). Une belle qui vous transporte dans les échos du passé. Bravo et merci gibs.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Un morceau un peu chaud à reprendre. la batterie est assez répétitive les sons de synthé choisis avec soin, pas mon remix préféré mais sympa tout de même.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Un choix de sons audacieux pour un remix réussi dans l'ensemble. La guitare est un peu agressive en deuxième partie mais tu nous fais passer un chouette moment gibs, merci.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

J'adorais l'original. Ce remix est vraiment sympa, la guitare sonne un peu agressive mais les sirènes, les crissements de pneu, le solo participent à créer une ambiance vraiment sympa.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Excellent remix d'un morceau que je n'appréciais pas forcément. Le mix équilibré, la guitare à sa place. Je dis bravo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (17/01/2019)

Music is always subjective as we all like different stuff. But listening to this was like a rollercoaster of "oooh!! i like" and "ooooh maybe not". I love the electro backing music, and the drops etc. Sounds great. But maybe using a harder synth sound instead of the original flute sound for the main tune might have given it more power. I also think the tempo is a little too fast for this tune. But hey these are just how I hear it. No reflection on ability and I absolutely love the fact that people like yourself are making awesome remixes of great Amiga tracks :) Please keep making more stuff! I wanna hear more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Silize (06/12/2018)

Jochen es de esos que siempre te transmiten algo especial y mítico en sus creaciones. Es pausado y progresivo, melódico y potente. No se puede pedir más bajo mi punto de vista particular.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (28/11/2018)

Keeps very much in line with the original but adds so much more.. Gonna be hard to top this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by prowler (24/11/2018)

Very good work for a first time remixer! Remix style is very time-accurate with the 90's wibe, and yet with great quality and mixing. Love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sada (09/10/2018)

It's a good remix of a very simple melody and music which was awesome because of the bass line, the digitized speech and motor noise synchronized with the graphics of the game intro. I like how you maintain the last note of the main theme. Good job !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

I've never been a fan of remixes or remasters where you can clearly hear the original tune playing in the background as a "sound carpet" and then adding modern sounds on top of it. Whether this track does that or not is actually hard to say, but for the first 30 seconds or so it absolutely sounds like the original track just overlayed with some synths and then the guitar coming in. The guitar playing itself is accurate and follows the melody competently, but it lacks something engaging. It's clear that it's trying occasionally to make something outside of a middling recording, and those moments are absolutely great! It just feels like there could be more to really carry this beyond "ok" into great. Adding in the back synths at about 2 minutes helps in lifting it and here the guitars portamento becomes more clear and helps lift the track, but again the mixing makes it muddy and takes the edge of the sounds, further pushing it towards flat and bland. I think it's a great attempt and I still do enjoy it, but it could be so much better and lively. This is just my personal opinion however. Don't be discouraged! And don't pass up listening just because some old grump has some complaints. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

Following on the intro, I was hesitant to really call it great and was about to give it a lower score than I ultimately did. The solid 80's tracker-style drums really meshed perfectly with the synths and sounds chosen for the pad, the lead and everything, leading to a piece that is greater than a sum of its parts. I definitely enjoyed it, and it manages to capture the essence and dream-factor of the original. It could be more engaging and technically complex, but overall I think it was very good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

It's a good remix insomuch as it's professionally put together. I don't find it overly engaging personally however. It's lacking something to make me really jump on it. I can't tell if it's in the mixing or the arrangement or if it's simply not to my taste, but it feels somewhat bland. (It might also be my lack of nostalgia for the game, as I really never got into the Chuck Rock series). Overall technically good, mixing is a bit muddy and song is very well arranged.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

A fair shot at a remix, but just as the tune gets real interesting about the 1m mark, it loses its tone in the latter half where it turns into a jumble of style impressiouns that come and go without adding much to the overall flow. The latter half is in my opinion overshadowed by the beat. This is not a bad composition, however it shows how specific minor variations in the choice of f.x. the level of an instrument can have a major effect on the outcome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

Artistically, this must be one among the best that the Remix community has on offer. It's faithful to the original and shows a creative flair in transforming and adding to it in a way that just hits the spot. Where the original tune was relatively fast-paced, Mano pulls its tempo down significantly and in adding new instruments quite different from the game's original two, manages to produce a varied and rich remix with the insert passages going together well with the main tune with only minor spots that stand out. Well done Mano. (edit: 17/7-2018)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Umpa (07/05/2018)

Do you have a longer version ? Its just a little too short. Just getting in to it and it ends.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frezzno (29/04/2018)

This is an excellent quality mix. So much details perfectly blended together while keeping the old essence of the original tune. Fantastic really, a dynamite! Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7