Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 29 out of 29
[LOGIN]

Review by infamous (07/03/2012)

So, its the last v8.. One of those tunes that Hubbardites hold high and tend to dance around like the monolith in 2001 a space oddessy.. Whats different about this one?

lets have a listen.

Well it starts with a bass noise which sounds lifted from one of those old 60's beach movies and though it does feel out of place, it does work.. so kudos for that.

we move pretty swiftly into a high paced drum and bass affair, which pretty much copies the original tune note for note but with a driving over compressed and slightly too bouncy in reverb drum pattern (which does change and variate as the tune goes on which is a good thing.. its very easy to make a quick 16bar drumloop and just loop it, at least knurd has changed things up nicely).. theres not much else to it that can be pointed out.

The upsides of the tune, is that its the last v8 .. its a classic c64 tune and its composed near perfect so if your looking for a v8 tune.. here ya go.

the downsides, the reverb, its been over used im afraid and I cant stress just how much it does sound like your listening to it inside a tunnel, admittedly its not like its 20 yards down the tunnel, your close to the sound source but it does muddy things up a bit and could do with a few more dry signals and a better use of the stereo feild.

Overall, theres a fair bit of talent here on show, and it'll be interesting to see what knurd comes up with next (hopefully he/she does) and again if your looking for a v8 remix this isnt a bad one to pick aslong as you turn off any natural reverb your player already has on.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (01/10/2009)

I remember the arguments this caused when it was 1st released, not many people really got what was going on here.

This to me is the single most original piece of music on this entire site.. it also to me follows the guideline of "remix" far better than anyone else has EVER managed to so far. This should be a template for others in my opinion, to not be afraid to do something different, dont follow the herd like a sheep and make what YOU see as music.. some will get it some wont.

The idea which must have come around after taking far too much ketamine or something is a genius one, its the hunter S thompson of tunes, the andy warhol, the damien hurst.. whatever radical you might want to add into that list, it dares to be very different and is perfect for it.

Wizball is in there (its the main theme if you can't hear it) but its lost under layer after layer of sumptuous synth and pads, it starts as it means to go on, it reminds me in some ways of jarres stuff only far more minimal (and listenable.. sorry I bloody hate jarre.. posturing french twat stuck in a timewarp of the early 80's constantly trying to milk the last drips of his undeserved fame all showman with no show) and thought provoking, how many tunes on here are thought provoking? .. seriously.

I can totally understand why so many marked it down so low, its NOT a conventional piece of music and of course my opinion shouldn't be a reflection of what i think the entire scene should think, its just my opinion.. but this is the best tune on rko to me for being so bare, open to interpretation and for that.. beautiful.

Give it a listen and see if you can see the pretty face under the mask, you never know you might just like it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (02/11/2007)

I have absolutely no idea of the original tune so can't really get the link between the two but lets face facts off the bat here, dafunk know's his stuff and wouldn't write something completely out of context unless thats what it was.

This is a remix, its doing whats said on the tin.

The first thing that strikes me is the beginning (funny that should happen at the start aint it.. way to make myself sound like roger ebert) but it smacks of all the large progressive trance outfits, a slightly dubby low slung stabbing and straight into the 4t24 drumbeat and slowly building up to a very very sweet vocal.

On the way to that point it has a beautiful soundscape which really does give it that clubby feel (so you succeeded with getting what you was looking for) and if I was still going out and getting drunk every week id definitely dance to this. So what about beyond? well lets talk about the mainline for a second.. genius trance work without a shadow of a doubt, its alot harder to write a decent trance tune than most people would realise (took me a while to realise this too) and dafunks done just that.

As I said in my shout this would chart very high in the uk charts, I'd even go as far to say that it'd find itself getting airplay on radio shows and sitting no1 in the dance charts before armand van helden re-releases another one of his tunes heh.

Technically speaking there isnt anything to fault, all the levels are perfect, the synths/drums etc clear and concise, no off notes no screw ups.. perfect production. and unless you really dont like trance music (in which case i 2nd dafunks "go away dont download it then") a damn good bar for the rest of the "dance" artists on this site to work from.

remix of the year for me without a shadow of a doubt, unless paul van dyke comes on this site and releases a remix, that accolade is safe :p
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (21/12/2004)

Jurek raben.. seems this man has a golden touch at the second because everything ive heard from him has made my ears prick up quicker than a fox sensing a rabbit.. or visa versa.

And once again here i am sitting here listening on repeat to another one of his tunes.. this is just absolutely brilliant.. taking a tune and "remixing it".

not covering it and adding the odd trance effect or sticking a vocal over it that mimics the main line.. nor does it cover itself with high processed drumloops and crap like that.. it goes out in the yard with a chainsaw during a barbeque and begins to hack up the rest of its family... bear with me here.. until there are peices of them laying all over the place.. then it hacks itself apart and then with its only working arm.. calls molly mcmastery.. the worlds greatest seamstress.. who comes and sow's him back together.. just with the wrong bits attached.. its the same tune... just with different limbs.. get what i mean?.

probably not.. but then you dont have the same medication as me...
let me put it simple.. its lightforce right.. but its not lightforce 1:1 and for that.. i like it and if it was a woman id sleep with it AND marry.

yes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (10/12/2004)

(original review at vgm remix)

Does anyone remember the zoids? them HUGE great big toys that moved and flashed and beat the shit out of each other?.. great wasnt they..

Now to be honest the game attached to this tune was crap.. it was unweildy it was confusing and it was very very hard and the only thing that puts it in the hall of fame for c64 users is the tremendous soundtrack created by the one and only rob hubbard.. and we've all heard of him aint we.

so I come to this remix.. one knowing the tune VERY WELL.. 2nd knowing the person that wrote this tune quite well too.. and knowing the talent he has already shared with us..and its no suprise that this remix is absolutely awesome.

Starting off with the original sid 1st line and a decent military drum sound.. this tune doesnt take very long to get warm.. deep and powerful guitar strokes making your bass bins shake the raw power unleashed instantly upon your feeble computer.. this mix has teeth and its baring them for all too see... the guitar work througout this tune is exceptional.. it has real life and body.. it has feeling its own virtual personality.

the drum work.. considering its done by a proffesional drummer.. what can you say about it?.. perfect.. basswork.. perfect.. hell even the synths are perfect. look for clipping.. notice that?... cant find it.. look for a flaw here.. go on get your fine tooth comb out.. try and find one cos i gaurantee you wont.

there is very little i can say to fault this.. which im sure you just noticed.. the piano work is beautiful.. nuff said.

download this and dont look back.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (01/10/2004)

glyn.

dissapears for over a year after gracing us with gordian tombs and firelord to do other things.. like have a family.

comes back and then bitch slaps us all with this.. just to remind everyone just who the boss really is.. and what a reminder.

Beautiful flute begins the remix.. slowly fading about with harps and strings to build a real celtic feel.. then it really gets all irish on us with the clannad esque vocal work.. very inspired and it may have come out of a box but it still sounds very believable.. she fades away and..

WOMPTH!!.. its like that scene in gladiator where he is being carted into rome to face the gladiator ring in the mighty colloseum.. its every epic anchient sword and honour film you've ever seen mixed with a little bit of the club beats of today to keep it all in check.. kinda like a knights tale but without that gurning ponce heath ledger to annoy you.. this is the perfect film acompanyment music.. the perfect lounge music.. maybe its even the perfect song?... no that'd be going to far.

thats not been done yet.. and definetly aint been done here either but what you have got.. is definetely the BEST remix at rko to date.. and i challenge anyone to a horseback duel that contests it.

truly a class remix and true evidence that glyn is a talent going to waste as he languishes away in his neat house .. he needs to be signed up.. needs to be writing music for films etc.. if there is any justice in this world before he dies he will leave a legacy far greater than the one he leaves here... theres a big world out there and glyn and his talent could conquer it.. and again i dont think many would be inclined to disagree.

all hail glyn. and his half finished remix's
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (05/06/2004)

zool... amiga's answer to sonic and mario... wasnt too shabby at all either but i do believe an alien ant was a bit of a crap mascot.. but hey thats just my opinion.

this starts out sounding like its being played through an old wireless stereo and sounds pretty quirky for it but it works great.. especially when it fades in to full speaker glory and the song leaps into full patrick phelan mode.. fun fun fun fun.

I loved this song, more so when it was in the lotus esprit game than in zool i didnt feel it worked well enough within the games atmosphere.. but im taking this remix on its merit not where it came from and for that its getting full thumbs up from me... gecko has seriously moved on and upwards and is rapidly becoming a very formidable remixer and here he is showing off some pretty impressive reverb work and an artistic flair rarely seen outside of the big boys.. they know who they are :-).

So what we have here is a pretty damn fly rejiggle of a very classic amiga tune that is definetly worth downloading.. my only real gripe with the tune is its far far far too short and would have faired better for being a tad longer.

apart from that... near as perfect as i think a electronic remix of this tune is gonna get... kudos to gecko :-).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (05/06/2004)

Golden axe.. probably sega's biggest franchise behind sonic the hedgehog back in the early 90's and rightly so, the game oozed atmosphere the gameplay whilst simplistic was extreme and the characters easy to endear towards.

Probably the 1st arcade game that i had ever completed "in" an arcade and boy was it an acheivement too and its because of these fond memories that i came to this remix with great and high hopes.

To be honest straight away its not what i had expected, but what it is is good.
the sounds used within this remix are pretty clear if a little staid and maybe a tad lifeless but they work well enough to get the job done.
the familiar melody is well in place and the drum beat mid way through is a welcome inclusion, as is the "welcome" sample lifted from the original arcade cabinet (though i suspect it was in the amiga version too) hence it being here.

I love the beginning very low and brooding, and it just launches into the main theme with ghusto and just doesnt stop much like the original.. close your eyes and you can just about see the bald guy with the mace... the tall blokes that look like dan gillgrass with a huge hammer.. all this remix misses is the "ahhh shut up!!" sample that hit off everyime one of them baldies died hehe.

so overall this mix is a good re-interpretation of a already damn good tune, nothing really different from the original but that is no bad thing and definetly worth a listen too.. well done mr stevens i salute you.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/04/2004)

keep the scene alive.... featuring makke doing his "i am scooter" impression.
so here we have what is likely to be the anthem for the commodore scene for a while.

starting with a merry go round sample and dropping away to what sounds like my girlfriend on a saturday night, we are brought to a pounding techno beat with a warcry like "yeahh" from makke himself and what starts this strongly just remains that strong.. the entire thing if it had a smell would reek of scooter.

this isnt a bad thing at all really unless you really hate techno music, scooter may do generic crap but he does anthemic generic crap.. and what dhs has done here is the impossible.. generic scooteralike brilliance.

yeap he's made a real anthem in this, the reeling off of names is great, the reeling off of remixers is inspired.. the tune as i said before is superb and i cannot begin to reccomend this enough.

listen especially for the chior driven bridge section which is absolutely hair's on arms standing on end beautiful.. as i said before cant recommend its download enough!... go now!! do it!.

so cmon do exactly what the tune says and download this... keep the scene alive.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (15/04/2004)

Pretty amazing this one, its a short tune that has been remixed here, but awesome has managed to squeeze around 4 minutes of music out of it... very resourcefull sir.

ok lets start from the bottom and slowly make our way up shall we...
the beginning - very quiet, a synth slowly moving up, taken it seem's directly from the original, sounds very nice though no doubting that and you recognise the tune near instantly, a small padding drum sound begins in the background and slowly things begin to get funky.

around 1 minute in, its still building up, lots of reverse cymbal's to crash etc.. drum beat sitting nicely in the background, a trance filter and a breakdown to the mainline.. all very well done.. im really liking this so far.

drumbeat's are layered upon each other and really well too, its got a real breakbeat feel to it and im definetly enjoying this remix now, wouldnt be out of place in a remix of the game (which there is one.. but its a straight carbon copy im sure alot of you have seen)..

around 3 quarters of the way through it all re-breaks down and goes back to the beginning, this works pretty well, allowing for one last burst of music or at least you'd think so wouldnt you? nope instead it just fades out nicely.
this works to its advantage for me, and after 4minutes of sitting here listening to it i come away smiling.

so a nice lil start for mr awesome and i am definetly looking forward to hearing what else this guy/gal can produce. go download you'll like it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (15/04/2004)

heh awesome really does like his apidya tunes dont he... this is the 2nd one ive heard from him and frankly i hope for an entire set.. GET TO WORK MR AWESOME!! ..

right anyway... yes ... review... here goes.

ive heard this on midi time and time again and absolutely LOVE the 1st line, its got trance written all over it and hearing it in full lovely syntho power made the hairs stand up on my arms.. this is a tremendous remix i want to say that now so that we establish that im not going to diss this very much.

the tune slowly builds up like a trance tune does, it has a very whispy feel to it, kinda like chicane crossed with matt darey.. then after a lil drum roll drop we come back to that beautiful main line. and a slowed breakbeat/normal bpm combo which works great. then your normal bog standard drumbeat, that despite being tried and tested does as usual work well here.

the synths are nicely reverbed, not too deep not too long, it all moves along nicely, its not quiete a tune you could get up and dance too as such but as a listener you are in my opinion drawn into the tune, its not a total work of art.
but for what it is it is bloody brilliant.

my only tiny gripe is that it does take a while to start and the mainline isnt used to much effect..BUT what is used and what is there is brilliantly done and i recommend its download forthwith.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (13/04/2004)

silkworm... ah what a great game that was eh!
aslong as you was the chopper and not the completely useless truck thing at the bottom that just got itself brutally murdered constantly.

The soundtrack albiet all in its one tune greatness isnt the best tune in the world, pretty basic in layout and in all honestly seemed to be more of a rock tune than what im presented with here.
but hey!... this isnt a bad old remix at all, i love the drum work straight off, nice breakbeat style... good use of cut up drums etc... its a pleasure to listen to.

the quality is pretty standard affair, as is the arrangement but considering he didnt have much to work with in the 1st place, the chopping and changing of instrumentation manages to make sure it doesnt get boring too quickly so is quickly forgiven.

this is a pretty decent effort and a very good start for the arranger and i do really look forward to hearing more from this fella/lass .. never sure anymore with these nick names ha!..
now if someone will just remix swiv... mumble mumble...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (18/01/2004)

Da daa da da!!!!!! de dada da da! cant mistake it can ya :-)
one of the most recognisable film tunes ever and here it is again, but in an ethno/dario g style eurodance kinda edit thang... and its impressive to say the least.

not going to say much about it, because what can anyone say about the indiana jones theme that aint already been said? its awsome ok.. and this is an awsome dance remix. simple as that.

dont bother looking at me rambling on this just download the blinkered thing and be happy with it. GO.

NOW!.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (03/12/2003)

Saboteur. one of the many games i bought and then thought WHAT? WHY? HUH?!?!
but anyway...

Having experience of the game 1st hand really does help with this one and listening to it for a 2nd time, this wouldnt go amiss in a saboteur remake, the soundscape and the way its written fits perfectly into the original. maybe this is how rob actually wanted it? or maybe not.

Either way, once again we have a great remix from marcel (2 in one go... must by xmas hehe).. The only gripe i have is that the drums are too low in the sound spectrum, they are played too far back into the speakers with everything else sitting at the front and this effects the rest of the bass, giving it a muddy feel.

But what is there is still as good as your likely to ever get on RKO without the aid of alot of money and a HUGE studio.
Dont actually ever remember there being any music in saboteur either but then my c64 hated me and hardly ever did what i asked of it. but what we have here as i said before is something worth downloading as usual from mr donne :-).
so stop reading the inane ramblings of a english madperson and go download and judge for yourself.

nostalgic gets a googly cos as i said - never remember any music from it so i cant exactly get nostalgic can i :-p lol.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (03/12/2003)

Phantoms of the asteroids, one of my personal favourite sids and marcel donne one of my personal favourite remixers in one box.
MMMMM... lets just have a listen.

Starts with a nice lil string pad arrangement that really doesnt seem to have much to do with the actual sid but this originality you come to expect from mr donne, there are however slight sid noises running through beautifully along with what sounds like someone with currybelly groaning and the odd clang of a metal object... rising synths.. then it all fades away slightly to reveal the real start of the tune with a fast but not thumping drum beat beginning to play and the instantly recognisable bleeps come.. its phantom of the asteroids alright And its a more than decent version of it.

As usual the sample quality is top notch, the arrangement near to perfect as it could be, the whole thing oozes marcel quality and is well worth having a listen too. if i was going to introduce someone to RKO by showing them a tune,
This wouldnt be the 1st but it'd be in the top 10 without a doubt.

A recommended download if ever i heard one.
wtg marcel.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (28/11/2003)

Ok here we are with another electronical tune from the artist formerly known as klang...

And as usual its of a high standard, pretty much like all what he does, i do love the style that ifadeo uses, its a fresh approach towards remixing and one i wholeheartedly enjoy.
But thats enough icon rubbing on to the tune itself.

Panther.

Not one of wittakers tunes that come straight to mind, but i do know it from listening to other remixers who have tackled it of late,
its ironic that it'd appear here (At least to me) after hearing it a thousand times elsewere and i can safely say this is the best version of it ive heard so far.

It has a bouncy quality that just moves the song along, despite the fact that it does repeat itself over and over again for the mainline,
the instruments and synths used ensure it doesnt grate and get on your nerves.

I love the snare used it has a slight laseresque (if thats a word) sound to it. The synths themselves are clear and concise as usual, and special mention to the nice analog bubbles used througout.. very nice :-).
Overall this is another one of mr ifadeo's tunes thats going into my eternal playlist, and one that i recommend everyone else places in theres too.

class act.... class tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (10/11/2003)

Never heard the sid before i heard this, and had to go listen to the sid after hearing this just to see if it was close to it.
so i really cannot review it on merit of nostalgia.
but on an artistic level this tune really rocks and rocks something good.
its your average techno dance affair and it takes ages to get going, but as it moves along it gets faster and better and faster and better till it culminates and turns into the future shock sid...... and then it sorta goes downhill for me, it stays pretty flat and doesnt do anything particulary amazing.
having said that though, i DID enjoy listening to it and would again, infact id go as far to say if i was a dj it would end up in my collection simply for that beginning.

not a bad effort to say the least.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (10/11/2003)

I am totally biased when writing this review.
future knight is by far my favorite sid of all time.
And markus also happens to be one of my favorite sid artists too (rolling ronny springs straight to mind) so hearing this again really does tickle the right places for me.

Where to start? the composition is near flawless but that is to be expected of mr shneider, the sound quality is superb, this is pretty much more of a cover than a remix, so if you liked the sid like i did hearing this is like getting the ps2 version of the game with an updated soundtrack.

Personally its probably my favorite remix on RKO, if you've never heard future knight then it might not be to your taste(it being a ben daglish tune)and he was never one to conform to the boundaries of what was around at the time.
Its well worth a listen if you enjoy orchestrated music.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (28/10/2003)

I got a bit confused when i listened to this, the tune said sigh of the eye but my ear said platoon you buffoon!

so delving into mr dunn (ooer) i realise he obviously liked this tune so much he put it into platoon (or lifted it out and did a better sounding version) either way ifadeo has done something rather beautiful with it.
Its a very easy going sound that he has created, I can hear the usual trademark synths being used too good effect as ifadeo does, the tune was pleasent and very beautiful in the 1st place and this is pure lounge business.

The only gripe i really have is with the hi-hats in the background of the beat they sound a little too dirty but thats just a minor thing when the rest of the tune is as good as it is.
Not an essential download, you dont need this to have the definitive c64 collection but if you like good music and love easy going melodies then this would be for you.

As i said before a sociably acceptable remix that pleases my ear personally and i recommend downloading it, and for those that have never heard of the tune heed the words above it is platoon sid2 aswell as "sigh of the eye" so if u like that "essential" if you dont then trying things new never hurt anybody....except novice sword swallowers of course.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (25/10/2003)

Having never heard the sid here i am listening to its remix.
and smiling like the cheshire cat looking up alice's skirt and seeing she's gone commando.
A very bouncy little tune, the production is as usual for sonic wanderer (impecable) it sounds a little like it should be in something like marble madness, very bouncy ....thats the only word i can use to sum this up.

I like the use of some very c64 sounding synths and booo! noises throughout as usual its just a very proffesional sounding effort from a very talented artist.
Not exactly the most famous of sids im sure but still a very good remix and one definetly worth downloading.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/10/2003)

ol markus is at it again!.
caught the orchestral bug and big time this fella, and he does do it pretty well, unlike his last few efforts this one does have feeling within, and in my opinion sounds like something you'd get during LOTR so that must be a good thing.
i can see pippin n merry saying something epic over the top of this remix before everything goes quiet and the war is won at the end of the tune.
this is just once again a recommended download from a very talented musician and a brilliant remixer.

go now.
go download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/10/2003)

come to expect this level of proffesionalismn from the likes of the soundwavers.
the trance/dance kings of RKO as far as i am concerned and once again one of the 2 turns up and causes my ears to do a little jig.

the tune is trance in its purest form, beautifully melodic with some well thought out and harmonic noises, sounds a little like the cynic project (which is not a bad thing).
i emplore you, if your a dance fan go now and download this you wont be dissapointed... if your a music fan go download this, hell just go now and download this.

brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (09/10/2003)

This is an interesting one, using some very off the wall sounds to bring itself across, it starts to me rather annoyingly with a noise i just cant get on with used for the lead line.
but as the tune goes on it gets a character of its own and DOES work within the remix, to me thats pretty clever if not very effective this time around.
around 1:35 what sounds like a cordless powerdrill then begins to play the next part of the tune and this noise was WELL ill advised and ruins the entire tune, having listened to this at least 4 times to see if i can get used to it like before but it just isnt happening.

the ending of the tune is pretty well thought out, using percussive noises as the mainline but AGAIN that cordless drill makes its presence felt albiet a little more in tune, but overall that one noise has ruined what could have been a rather interesting ride through sanxions dulcet tones.

This is a well thought out idea, whoever decided to try this had a vision but has unfortunatly fallen short with the instruments used a mistake many have made before and will time again, apart from that its STILL sanxion no mistaking that.

nice try lads.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (21/07/2003)

Yes!!! Yes!!! Oh yes!!! This is what I've been wanting for some time, a remix of the brilliant theme tune to Robocop 3.
Someone else did it once before (pretty well) but this... this!
Yes!!! If this was a drug it'd be Viagra to a 90 year old.

"Come quietly or there will be trouble"...nah thanks it's coming loud, it's coming and it's eating all the cookies and u aint gonna stop it.

I like this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (17/07/2003)

This is something special. this is something very special, the production on this is tremendous, the piano is beautifully tuned to perfection, that voice....hngggggggg!!!!!! id love to wake up to that voice every morning!
and for a few weeks i did, i have to admit i was so addicted to this tune that i had it on my computer alarm, i played it before work, i let my mum hear it, my friends have all heard it on my walkman it goes everywere with me.
this is just one seriously class tune, made by a seriously classy musician who deserves to be placed in the annex of fame for the rest of his life.

absolutely superb job, beautiful vocals (cant shut up about the vocals!)... excellently done remix, that is a break from the large amount of comic bakery techno remixes we seem to have alot of.
basically its beautiful and all that "jazz" ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (17/07/2003)

Firelord, a game that i didnt really enjoy very much, but it had a soundtrack which fitted in beautifully to the entire theme, alot of people hold that particular tune as one of the best on the c64, personally it isnt my favorite but it does come to my list.
so here is a remix from someone who does seem naturally gifted musically and does enjoy making some interesting soundscapes. so i download it.
i sit and listen and from the 1st chord i thought hmm someone else done this before in the same style, but wait....the 1st hard chord strike hits you and then you realise NO ONES done this this good here before...before you on your winamp, your mediaplayer, sonique whatever your using is a unique peice of remixing, its exactly what the original composer was thinking and its been done so beautifully.
Its hard very hard to believe it was done on fruityloops (a program i always thought was only really tailor made for techno music) but hats off to glyn for proving it to be a very special bit of kit, if you know what your doing.
It has everything going for it and i recommend anyone downloading this whether you enjoy dance, rock or whatever music you listen to, there is no way anyone cannot appreciate the time and effort that clearly went into this remix and it deserves to be #1 remix of all time....if it already hasnt been made so.

top job glyn :-).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Downloaded this, listend to it and thought for a moment that it was a total muck up, the beginning line didnt sound right, but the actual sound used was interesting so i stayed on to listen, and a leftfield simple yet effective 4bar beat kicked in and things started to get very interesting very fast.
the whole thing sounds like its bouncing,
"literally"
it makes you bob along to it which i feel is a good thing, the synths used within are absolutely top notch, the whole thing sounds very classy and is a definete different take on the way lightforce should be done and has been done.
Its alot shorter than most lightforce remixes but what you have within them 3 minutes odd is a wonderful tune that i really do recommend you download asap.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

This really did get my juices flowing and no im not being pervy, from the outlaying sid original beginning right through to the synth lines, the guitars the drums it all screams to me play me! plaaaay meee!!!
if this tune was a drug it'd be a kind of heroin/cocaine hybrid.
Everyone seems to be doing zoids at the time of writing but this one definetly stands out to me head and shoulders above the rest.
very impressive guitar work (something mr juha is rapidly in my books becoming synominous for) a beautiful piano solo at 3:00 which is very well thought out and on the beautiful side.
All in all this tune is something special to me and shall remain in my playlist for some time to come. take a listen you really wont be dissapointed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by infamous (22/06/2003)

Well hehe, i sat and listened to this once, frowned and listened again.
then i got out my platform shoes my flares and my marc bolan wig and decided to get high on some perspex or something like that.
The entire thing reeks of production values, the guitar work is tremendous very 70's glam rock and of course that organ!
it starts off with a little mic check which made me smile, and then kicks into a lovely grungy guitar riff, then the drums and a 2nd guitar layer come in that really beefs things right up and from there on its toe tap city... oh and theres a part in it at 3:15 which sounds like ac/dc which aint a bad thing
In all this is a well orchestrated, well thought out and rather funky 70's glam rock sounding sid remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1