Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1675
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

What a wonderful journey you've taken us on with this epic piece! This sounds bona fide professional. I can't even imagine the time and effort it must've taken you to create this Times Of Lore mashup! What can I say - THANK YOU!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

I didn't think your superb symphonic remix from 16+ years ago could be made any better. I was wrong, so wrong! The flute sounds just wonderful (makes me wonder if it was written with Ben in mind...), the choir sounds even more emotional, and the dynamic flow of the arrangement makes it sound very cinematic. I really like the parts where the melody line quickly switches between the various sections of the orchestra. Even though it sounds similar to your previous Firelord arrangement, it's clearly very different - and even better. I'm sure somewhere up above Ben is listening to this, too, with a big smile on his face...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pad (02/01/2019)

That start gives me goosebumps indeed! The rest is also fab! Perfect backdrop for coding. :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/12/2018)

Very soundtracky, a perfect homage to Rob's classic. It doesn't fall into the trap of some other remixes that are also technically excellent, but tend to get boring as the tune goes on. Instead, Markus managed to inject several careful changes into the arrangement and instrumentation that keep the momentum going while also keeping with his chosen style for the remix. Your "love affair" with Lightforce, Markus, really shines through! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/12/2018)

A valiant mega-effort which is brought down by a few serious issues. The arrangement is varied enough to keep my interest up throughout the remix, but some odd dissonant sections, questionable choice of instrumentation, and sorely lacking post-processing make it sound worse than it really should.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (19/12/2018)

Should have been called the needed 20 years ago mix... Very very Ferry Corsten and Veracocha-esq. Too old and sober now to really enjoy this
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

Funky 80's vibe - check. Wavy Synth - Check. Snare Powa! - Check. Well composed and classic Gerd Bahl throw-ins! Feels quite Demo-scene-ish too, quality!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

The Effort counts. Very limited instrument range and some bad notes at that, the drums are safe and unoriginal as is the composition. A good effort for a first submission but I'd review it with fresh ears of your own and soon you will discover the lack of overall quality.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (19/12/2018)

Duration: Could be longer Instruments: Soft and well balanced Technique: Room for more Originality: Great changes to the original
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sparcie (17/12/2018)

love this song, when life gives me crap i'm being comforted with my hobby <3. also just a awesome song
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nihilanth (05/12/2018)

It differentiates from the original piece of music. But it still has a great melody, and I first heard this song in a Half-Life 20th anniversary tribute. It feels nostalgic listening to this song, and I was hoping I could use it in a GoldSrc-based video game I was making. Keep the tracks coming!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pest Global Group DOO (02/12/2018)

Jeroen Tel did a nice theme long time ago.Thomasz have been made an astonishing remix of the year.Great talent.Keep a good work in future.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by CaptainSoftware (30/11/2018)

Great music and Always good its from Rob Hubbard, this is swinging right the "pan" out. Great job
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (26/10/2018)

Loved it the first time I heard it at Árok Party 2018! Then I was thrilled that we were able to include it in the Johannes Bjerregaard charity album. And I am very delighted it is now available on RKO, too. It's an amazing remix of a much underrated JB tune. It has, of course, received proper NecroPolo treatment with overdriven and distorted sounds, containing so much SID-caffeine that it pumps me up every time I listen to it. ROC=K ON, C=ommodore!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kikstart (13/10/2018)

Having listened to Last Ninja and played the game hundreds of times, this loader for me was a nice surprise. you should be commended for such a fabulous remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/10/2018)

I encouraged Vaggelis in a YT comment to upload his remix here, too - and I'm glad he did! What I really like in this remix is that he actually plays every single note of the original on his guitar: the devilishly fast runs, the slides, the arpeggiated non-melodic effects - I'm in awe of his technique!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (12/10/2018)

The sounds and mix for this is really, really good. I just hope there would be a version without the silly quotes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

It's cool to hear this tune, and the execution is very interesting. Unfortunately, for me personally it falls apart in the middle when you get the Theremin like lead.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eobet (11/10/2018)

Usually people go full out with the medieval symphonies, but this is a nice mix between chip and medieval themes. It's very faithful and has a good sound mix. The orchestrated sounds could be better and deeper, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (09/10/2018)

A remix that keeps the original song, making up to date and add a dance vibe to it. The reworked bits blends right in as if they were part of the original. A professional remix and an instant classic of a rarely remixed tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (28/09/2018)

Acapellla style the beginning is really nice, i like the voice! nicely done! Don't quite get the negative reviews and ratings!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Sebstar (27/09/2018)

I like the beat it really pushes me forward! Logged in just to vote it up! Superb music dude!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mikey (27/08/2018)

Love this tune, and this is not a bad version. The base line is a little too overpowered/dominant for my tastes, but it's a good boppy little version.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (31/07/2018)

The best wind of Last Ninja 3 so far, its a challenging tune. I can see that some of the instruments were a challenge. It resembles the original really well and I guess more work on this seeing as its now 13 years old would be great to hear from this composer.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (24/07/2018)

Earth is one of my favorites in the Last Ninja archives. This is a very good rendition of the tune that was much needed. It have enough "new" to not clone the original, and yet enough "old" to keep its authenticity allowing me to consider it a 'remaster' as much as a 'remix'.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

Opens with a very interesting combination of a choir and rough electronica, and later on it sprinkles it with some cinematic orchestra. It all builds up to a crescendo, which is suddenly interrupted by acoustic guitars. Then it resumes the more bombastic style, but we never really get a resolution out of it. Instead the piece just ... ends. I think a bit more cohesion in style would've helped tremendously.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

I am very confused by this remix. Starts out in a very nice, serene oriental style. But that lasts only until about a minute a half when there's an inexplicable change in tone and style to more aggressive electronica. Then I get confused even further when at around 2 minutes the guitars appear. What? Why? By this time the opening oriental style completely disappears in the background. And then all this is capped by the original SID towards the end. Umm, okay... Overall, this tune has all the hallmarks of a decent production, but the minute-by-minute stylistic changes make my head spin.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mike_c64 (13/07/2018)

This track made me create an account here, so that I could comment on this one. There are good tracks and then there are really really good tracks...and then, sometimes, once every third year a track like this shows up. I can listen to this like 15-20 times in a row. It gives me that special feeling every time. Thank you Shen Lon.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (13/07/2018)

For Last Ninja 1, Last Ninja Wilderness in-game is the most popular, having almost as many remixes as the rest of the tunes combined. In that heavy competition, Cytex remix of Last Ninja is the most authentic while still being a darn good remix. If there was ever a "remaster" album of Last Ninja where only one remix per tune is picked, this is a good nominee for the 4th track, and that is a honor.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/07/2018)

The notes are there, the arrangement is fairly faithful to the original, but it just sounds flat and emotionless. The electric guitar and the bass are both rather unexciting, for example. Needs more variation, better mixing, more vibrato, more effects... anything to make it sound more exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 54 55 56