Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1706
[LOGIN]

Review by stechmann (15/05/2019)

great version of a great tune. keep up the good work, hope to see more in the quality
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

A valiant attempt at an orchestral arrangement, but the instruments all sound flat and boring. There's a total lack of dynamics throughout the tune, too. Not bad for a start, but this could've benefited from more time in the oven.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

This! :) This is how I always should've imagined this tune: as oom-pah music! Perfect marriage of source material and remix style! But I think the piece could've used some more careful mixing: it all sounds too loud, too harsh. Probably because it has too many high frequencies in it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (08/05/2019)

The purist in me is protesting: "but this is not a 1:1 cover of the original!" True, but it's still bloody amazing! The rock-style arrangement is spot-on, the instrumentation was obviously carefully chosen, the guitars are played craftily, and the result is a powerful piece of music that also happens to be a mind-blowing SID remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Amon73 (01/05/2019)

Uno dei migliori remix che ho ascoltato in questo periodo ! Bellissimo :) Sono sicuro che piacerà molto a chi come me, ha vissuto quell'epoca indimenticabile !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/05/2019)

First off, tons of respect for remixing the entire 7+ minute tune! The arrangement is a bit uncomplicated, but it varies enough not to become boring. It also nicely retains the atmosphere of the original material. The opening chords feel a little "off" for me (especially the last bar of the sequence), but once the drums came in, I was sold. I also like how you turned all the arpeggios into chords, kudos for that. Overall, there are lots of nice touches throughout the tune (like the whistles, or the sharp lead playing the melody line) which keep it interesting throughout.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (05/04/2019)

This has everything going for it. Beautiful beat, beautiful synth, effects fit in perfectly.. One of my all time favourites. No Emotion or energy? It's infectious! How can you not want to get your groove on listening to this?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (03/04/2019)

Taking inspiration from the second quarter segment of the original SID and building up it, it crafts a powerful remix that which doesn't encompass all the original tune has to offer does a remarkable job with what it has. The most memorable part of the SID was taken, wonderfully re-created and given a nice long dark synth build up. Well done. I feel that if the lead up was shorter people would've rated this higher, but I love it. You should do a slight variation of it that includes the other parts of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/04/2019)

A powerful version, full of energy. In the first couple of minutes I find the brass sections a bit lacking in oomph, but then they make up for it later. The drums and the drones are especially well crafted.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

2000 really was your year wasn't it? Would be really cool to hear you make these again now. Very enjoyable to listen to and of course super nostalgic..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

If this was done by anyone else I don't think it would work quite as well as it does. Rating it badly because you don't like club style mixes is bad form, one of the best remixes from 2000.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (25/03/2019)

Capturing the feel of the original and even one upping it in a way only a handful of other remixers are capable of. Incredible job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by HighCSharps (24/03/2019)

The best arrangement of X-out, Albedo, Plastic Pop and many more. Mastering on a very high level. Semi-live and live performance.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Ce remix est tout simplement un de mes préférés. J'ai encore du mal avec le son de guitare mais franchement gibs, tu régales mes oreilles. MERCI
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Génial, ça envoie du lourd, la batterie sonne boîte à rythme mais j'avoue que ça m'a donné envie de rejouer au jeu. Merci gibs.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/03/2019)

The vocoder vocals are pretty cool, although a bit hard to understand, because the syllables are too distinct, too robotic, there's no flow to it. The rest of the track could've used some spicing up, but overall, it's a decent remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (09/03/2019)

I hear early nineties New Order-chords in a mix of JMJ-beats. Can't be something wrong with that, can it?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/03/2019)

As a big Jarre fan I am actually in awe of how you managed to stuff Thrust into the framework of Oxygene! I think the magic act starts to fall apart a bit halfway through, but then it picks up again and finishes elegantly. Really nicely done, sir, my hats off to you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (08/03/2019)

Jarre Instruments do not maketh a Jarr-esque remix. Other remixes based on Jarre here on rko have much more authentic Jarre rhythm and song structure.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/03/2019)

Boy, I'm very torn about this remix. I like so much about it, but I think all that goodness is lost in the lackluster mixing. The intro: fantastic instrumentation, immediately sets a grungy, dystopic mood (actually, it reminds me of "They Live" for some reason). But then at 0:32 the punchiness of the bass disappears as the other instruments come in. The electric organ at 0:55 would be brilliant - but it's barely audible in the mix. The lead coming in at 1:10 is also too soft and remains so for the rest of the tune. So, again, brilliant ideas, a very good arrangement - but this just screams out for a better mix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64ever (04/03/2019)

Good version of the popular old tune.. I'd prefer it without the voice though i must admit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by gator (25/02/2019)

But somebody please tell me what this is a remix of. This website needs to have a column in the description that names the games the remix comes from because too often I am left completely without a clue.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by exocytosis (21/02/2019)

Fast paced and, from a technical point of view, very well composed, "Outrun Europe (levels)" has a clear edge - it catches the bright pastels of the arcade version almost flawlessly! Needless to say, of all Outrun covers released up to this point, Hermisoft's take on Jeroen Tels original outruns all of them!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (17/02/2019)

KICK A-ASS!! (ties japanese head band around head.) Makes me want to do some backflips! Yeah!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Laci1971 (14/02/2019)

For me, it seems that the background has no connection with the main theme. The original music is among the most beautiful ones with its cleanness, but in this version the main theme and the background are fighting with each other.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/02/2019)

You have a beautiful voice (I'm assuming it's you singing, Lea...), so you should flaunt it: you should bring it more to the front in mixing. Especially when more instruments start playing and when you add reverb to the vocals, it becomes harder to understand the lyrics, because your voice gets lost in the mid-frequencies. Otherwise, I really like how you enhanced the vocals with various techniques throughout (layering, vocoder, chorus, etc.), the production quality is top-notch, the arrangement is outstanding, the instrumentation is spot-on. I really like the filtered intro, too, that's very modern of you. :) A fantastic debut on RKO, I hope to hear a lot more from you!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by spavatch (11/02/2019)

I love the way it begins and develops further in a trance-like fashion, with vocals adding to vocal trance feel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (09/02/2019)

This sounds like something I would have made myself (not to say that I would actually have managed to produce, sound wise or arrangement wise), but the overall style. Like it a lot. And as LaLa wrote earlier; perhaps a tad too much reverb, but the again who am I to complain? I might even try a remix version of my own, just to see if I could reach this standard ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (09/02/2019)

Like the experimentation. Got a very nice minimal feel, with a tinge of EBM and dog bark synth.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Markus Gecko (09/02/2019)

Very well crafted. I was doubtful at first, but really well done. Anyone else just done remixes with just additional sid voices?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57