Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 173
[LOGIN]

Review by ryrynz (11/11/2012)

I think this is one of those remixes you're either going to love/like or hate, personally upon listening to it for a bit I couldn't help but grin, the first few seconds give you a good idea of what's to come.
This remix is an audacious cacophony of sound effects as such it's not your typical remix. All caution is thrown to the wind in this all out fart fest which I feel from 0.50 really starts to shine, LOL.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Isacco1975 (14/10/2012)

Sorry for my awful english first.
This is a curious remix... A great piece of great techical stuff, very original idea...
I never imagine this song in a western contest...
Good work. Outstanding interpretation, clean mixing. A pleasure to listen many times:-) GET IT
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by zzr (12/10/2012)

Since i'm a big fan of the Odyssey soundtrack, i decided to do my first review on this song. So lets get started.

First off, i find it pretty hard to remix this songs, theyre dense stuff, unlike a lot of much more simple old amiga tunes. props to this remixer for doing this track, and doing it well!

in detail:

Technical impression:
the only flaw i see is the mixing. sometimes its a bit more muddy than it could be, not clearly seperating all the instruments from each other. Leading me to a yellow smiley and the urge to look out for future remixes of this artist wich will surely become more experienced with this.

Artistic impression:
The song is surely well made with a lot of different instruments and fx, wich just suit it very well. From that i see the artist is someone who does music already for a longer time and knows how to place his stuff to make and/or keep the song interesting. Variation keeps coming, while still being on the run, in a solid trancy way. Red smiley for all the nice stuff in this song and the pretty flawless arrangement of all that.

Nostalgia:
Since its a Trance remix, it loses out a bit of the originals relaxing arrangement. Makes up for this with having a solid beatline wich pushes you forward through the track. Orange for that, and for being still very remarkable in comparison to the original Song.

Overall, i actually prefer this version of the odyssey5 from the one made by daXX. thats pretty much why i decided to put my very first review on this track.

Get it, and enjoy it:-)

regards.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FuzzyDweeb (08/10/2012)

Great effort and love the trance style remix - well done!

Nice slow build and layering take me nicely back to the original Amiga version.

Adrian Cummings
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by dayta (04/10/2012)

Here we go
Zzr used Buzz as far as i know and im glad people do that. the music is build from scratch and sounds nostalgic. no harmony errors were done and the mastering (or lets call it leveling the channels) is nice and smooth. it could be a little faster for my taste but not everything can be at 2million bpm i actualy enjoy this tune more then the orginal for the moment good work as allways
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Trydowave (26/01/2012)

Excellent. Love this. I wish some of the reviewers woould stop moaning. This is fresh. Much better than all that bland techno dance crap floating about in remix land. Well done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ryrynz (24/08/2011)

Wow what an excellent remix, the intro is a nice touch and everything gels well together.
However.. the low quality really ruins it, it could so be a red but falls short. Please if possible redo it or upload it higher quality.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Factor5fanatic (23/06/2011)

The instruments are nice and the tune is correct. My only problem with it is, I feel it should have had more variety (through instruments or pitch). Other than that, great job!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by K8-bit (17/06/2011)

One of the standout pieces from the game gets a superb cover here. I've always had a softspot for some of the music in Flashback, this one in particular. The arrangement is clean, and has a bright, embellished piano, as well as some nice layers underpinning it. There have been a few covers of this track, but this is up there with my favourite (name eludes me at present)

If this composer was to cover more of the themes from the game, I would be quite happy:-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pepino (28/01/2011)

Daxx, the world is bad, but I don't think that deserves the punish of not having another remix from you yet.

I expect everything from you. Your talen can remix a theme into a Tecno, epic ore whatever one.

I do prefer this one. It is amazing to realize that a not very fit original soundtrack can be an absorvent melody worth of Polidouris.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pepino (28/01/2011)

Definitely, the best version of this theme I have never heard. It is better than last Kris version, and, of course, all those tens of good-intentioned versions.

The feelings of putting this music on my car, remembered me those old times of playing this game. I love cars, and if there is a music I can identify with the pleasure of driving, is precisely this one.

Thanks Gibs, you got it, and I got it. Don't forget Target renegade.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pepino (28/01/2011)

It is no my favorite from Gibs - Test drive was the summit - but it is a fantastic remix.

It is a pity that I didn't hear before the original music, so the nostalgic factor is not strong at all.

Anyway Gibs is one of the best remixers of this site, and it is doing his best to become my favorite, and overthrow Reyn (what is extremely difficult).

Your guitar is overtalented and makes a cool melody, into a powerful Nº 1 hit. You have a gift.

I want to beg one petition. I have been waiting for a loooong time the definitive remix of Target Renegade. There are some nice version over there, but I want just you, to arrange that music as it deserves. It needs your hands on your guitar, do it!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RikTh (09/06/2010)

From the start of AmigaRemix, only two entry lists a remix for Pinball Dreams. One is a rightdown mp3'd version of the original mod done by Deadly Cookie, the other... Well, nice try, Pirx, but no thanks. So anyone who has an original take on one of my all-time favorites on the ol' Amiga has to be congratulated upfront. But then again: how does one cover a song that consists of 4 subparts, each one in it's own right? Char7ie gives us the answer!

From the start, the remix takes on it's own route, being very much more "analogue" in comparison to the original mod (and it's. The intro feels somewhat forcefull on comparison to the original. The synth lacks depth and echo. Also, the tempo of the overall song has dropped some 15 BPM, which is not a huge deal, but strange for someone who has listened to the original remix for some four years now...

The first subsong kicks in as a very nice lead guitar is nicely shadowed by a insprirative bass- and drumtrack. High programming value of both ones, there is much variation, and the mix is beautifully composed. The lead synth though seem out of place somewhere, as if it is overacting oppose to the guitar in bends and sweeps. The guitar takes revenge in a raving solo, ending the subsong.

The second subsong is again two worlds. I absolutely despise the slap-bass riff in the beginning as it is too long, too forced and clearly synthesized. But then... The main song is so composed again. Lead guitar with delays, nice chorussy riffs. drum and bass mixed in beautifully. The synths behave like they need to here, the lead synth don't overact anymore. Nice wah-wah's!

The third subsong (starting off with the saxlike sounds pumping into a speedmetallike end) is... missing. Char7ie chose not to incorporate that, but end on a high leadsolo. Which is perfectly understandable, as i didn't see the point of that part of the original mod as well.

Overall: Stunning guitarwork, high production value, great programming. Push back synths were needed, smooth out the intro, and we have a worthy original mix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Byproduct (14/05/2010)

Excellent production here. Sounds nice and has a few creative ideas here and there. Nothing to complain about, really.

This is a problematic tune to remix, however, because the original is very short and has little substance in it. Either the remix remains equally short, keeps repeating the same notes too long, or, as in this case, the remixer composes some of his own stuff on it. It is a pleasure to listen to, but in my mind doesn't fully connect to the original track. I'm going to have to subtract one grade for that reason, but this is probably as good as a TD2 remix is going to get.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by gibs (18/03/2010)

This tune has been composed by Frederic Hahn (Ackerlight) and is one of the Karsten Obarski's favorite mod.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Erekose (10/02/2010)

Great sound, great guitar, near some metal song except some part of the drums, but it hard to find "good" synth drums.
I wasn't big fan of the original one but you change it well !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (12/01/2010)

(review updated July/2017): This is one of the best Amiga remixes in a long time. This one packs a punch with a solid bass presence ad a clearly marked tempo/beat line. There is a *very* nice use of sonar pings as part of the arrangement which hammers home the felling that this takes place not just at sea, this is outright naval action! The choice of instruments works very well and as an added sprinkling of goodies, it has some samples from a well known motion picture in the same alley as this game. All in all, this is a very good remix that really hits home the feeling of naval maneuvers and wargames. Well done CZ!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Anbalsilfer (19/11/2009)

This remix gives you simply more of the same friggin' awesomeness that was the original song, and does a good job of it. A new intro is the main novelty here, but it makes all the difference, allowing this great tune to be carried over from the Amiga to the club dancefloor.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MistralNight (24/07/2009)

If TurricaN was ever made in modern times it would have this song in it. You brought it up to date with an excellent bass track and fantastic melody which improves upon the original track. The entrance of the bass near the beginning is especially powerful. At high volume this track is awesome and chilled out, and I think this deserves a better rating than it's gotten. Even friends of mine who never played TurricaN have enjoyed it, so it's not just nostalgia.

This is my favourite ever TurricaN remix, and you are one of my favourite arrangers. Please keep making more remixes you are very talented!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by karl_xii (03/07/2009)

Perfect instruments, drums and tempo. It seldoms happens but I think this is really much better than the original. Clear and crisp and vastly improved.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by alexh (16/11/2008)

It is a good remix but it is not really in the same style as the original. A very right wing remix. Still very good. I prefer the original though. The bass is deeper and samples more crisp. The vibrato quite different. It looses something of the original in the translation.

I was hoping for a 21st century version of A Final Hyperbase and I think I got a 22nd century version! It grows on you though. Slightly better than the version by Virgill
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tankscore (30/07/2008)

Hello Jose A. Martin,

Are you the genuine Jose Martin who composed the original tunes for Commodore 64 and Amiga ? If true, it would be great for me, because I grew up listening to the A.M.C. tunes for Amiga. That tunes really touched me and were a deep influence in my music sense.
This remix is really cool and harmonious. But everyone has to know the original one to appreciate this.
Thank you for changing my life.

Tankscore.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pc_tek (10/07/2008)

The most impressive Superfrog remix tune I've heard. I hope you do the rest for us all to enjoy! *wink wink*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ic3m4n (01/05/2008)

I do not understand people who just comment to vote a track down...But that´s a topic for the board i think.

I would have loved this song, even it would be in english, spanish, chinese or swedish. It´s the artistic aspect that counts ! And not the nationality... Back to the track:

The relation is there. Great choice of lyrics ! And they are perfectly implemented.

The original theme is very accurate recreated. If i hear those caribbean, i feel like in old times. For me this song really transports the retro-feeling. "Nostalgika in perfecta !"

The mixing coulndn´t be better...the percussions, pads...simply everything is in it´s right velocity ! Something i still try to get right ;)

But ! ... No Gem without a scratch ... it´s way too short :P - But this (personal) feeling don´t drive the rating down for me.

All three criterias are fulfilled and needs to have the tomato-face ^^

Hope to hear some more - sometimes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nzo (30/04/2008)

Although this wasn't a track that had a lot of "remix" potential" - at least not in the musical sense, this is a fairly good attempt non-the-less. The original was written in about 90 minutes as an exercise in checking out the capabilities of a new tracker, where larger samples were permitted for the first time, thus was really a proving "test". Unfortunately, it ended up on a demo disk which found it's way into Psygnosis, and because of the pure luck of the "sample" content, it ended up being used for an appropriately named game - with a couple of tweeks. Don't be too harsh on the original, as Dr Future says.. it was a first for it's kind. The original was definately a marmite track - love it or hate it.. but this is an extremely brave and commendable attempt at recreating the old 80's feel of the original. Music can be faddish, and this was definately right at the time.. but ages badly - however, the author has done very well to retain the essence (where the hell did you get the HQ voice samples - lol) and provide a very acceptable variation on the original. Fans of the original will like it for sure, but the uninitiated will no doubt be clueless.. that also includes < 30 year olds:-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (26/09/2007)

While the sounds are OK, I mean they are decent modern representatives of the amiga samples, this is where remixing becomes an art, you need to embelish the parts that simply dont work with synth sounds, you gotta try and take what the original samples were trying to do, and take it one step further.. A good example of that is where the strums were playing repetatively, on the amiga it sounded great, cos it was strums, and they were there, but when you're using real sounds, well nobody would mindlessly strum away like that, so you have to embellish it with fingering etc.. Gotta rate this one pretty low as there seems like there wasnt much work done other than load new sounds
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (26/09/2007)

Very good, its amazing how the use of expression really gives the piece emotion that I'd never heard there before. When I remixed it for immortal 3 I cut the piece short as I felt that musically it was weak and if I continued the piece, it would have been too repetative. So it's a breath of fresh air to hear this.. Makes me wanna finish the remix.. INcidentally, the arpeggios towards the end were a "nod" to combo racer that i'd written previously..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jackal (26/09/2007)

Nice guitar work, sadly the backing chords are a bit out of tune Lead work is good tho.. The drums could have used some more work too.. Shoot me an email and maybe we can work together on something, its always hard to find a good guitarist..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by skyrunner (04/02/2007)

A nice idea to add lyrics and the guitars to the remix. But why didn`t you add some FX like Reverb or Delay to the vocals??? They sound a little inappropriate while the guitar fits very well on the other hand. And basically the vocals are good. You clearly can sing.

You gave away a lot of potential with the vocals.
So average rating for the technical merit.

The idea is very good and I basically like the lyrics. Guitars are very good. The tune has a good range of variety and never gets boring.
A very good rating for the artistry.

The nostalgia is always difficult to judge I think.
With the added vocals its like a complete new tune but its still recognizeable.
Good rating for the Nostalgia.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2007)

Bonus score for really great fun! This would work great as a soundtrack for a cheesy 80s Turrican movie. There's a great technical flaw though - the bass track is barely audible, or at times seems inaudible.

Advise: have someone help you do a proper mix / master of this tune, and this would be a real real winner!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6