Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 121 - 150 out of 1739
[LOGIN]

Review by Chris Abbott (22/03/2018)

Not a huge fan of the brick-wall-compressed sound here, but I guess that's more personal taste. This remix does a lot right: the tune is right, and it has spirit and atmosphere. Starts off owing a bit to Instant Remedy's version of the same tune, but then goes of on its own journey.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Clyder64 (06/03/2018)

Great ingame music. And hearing it in such a modern production makes it even greater :) Love this mix.....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (04/03/2018)

I liked it. Always good to hear different takes on tunes. Obviously it's not a banging synth so some won't like it - but no one likes everything :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2018)

Very original for a Spellbound remix! Its style is a mashup between flamenco, Caribbean pirate, and a bit of Mexican mariachi, but in high-quality and in good taste. Really, really good job, Mano!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/02/2018)

It's a nice retrofuturustic treatment of Hubbard's track. The mix heavily favors the high-end throughout, which bothers me a bit. The arrangement really gets going after the full set of drums come in at 1:53, that got my hopes up high. However, the chords at 2:46 sound odd to me, both in texture and pitch, and they broke the illusion a bit. The entire track reminds me a lot of Tangerine Dream's albums from the 80s, which I think is the style Strange Days was actually going for. Nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MicMod (13/02/2018)

Very creative transition of the original tune. Great mixing and perfect selection of instruments. A classic done right. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (24/01/2018)

An epic and atmospheric dance track, fantastic vocals and great usage of the Green Beret motifs. I could hear this played in any serious DJ set.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (24/01/2018)

I loved this, the opening synth sound was sharp and nice, and when the beats came in... that made my day! A new style for this old classic, something I didn't think I'd hear. I'll definitely return to this one many times!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zefrem23 (23/01/2018)

Deep, a little angry and drifting like a hot Tokyo roadster. Very nice use of the different melodies in an unexpected and delicious way. Excellent rework.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bgmnt (14/01/2018)

Erm... Dunno exactly what this is and the beats on the first part are pretty monotone like in a medley and I was not aware of the name JT until today I must confess and I only knew these two tracks/remixed separately, so i was not sure about this. But: This mixing is so straightforwarded and dynamic and propelling and mixed flawlessly - and at least hyped by the community... It catches you, at least, even in the last minute :) And since it has the perfect length for DJs, who need a long piece of sound for going to the restrooms without relying on automix... thumbs up! :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2018)

It's always a treat to listen to a SID composer's own remake of his old tune - and this one goes way beyond being just a treat! Even without your "cue-list", the music here clearly tells a whole story, and it is, indeed, very cinematic - from the melancholic intro through the quiet but nervous anticipation in the middle to the cheerful ending. The introduction of the harpsichord (or dulcimer?) at 1:21 is an unusual and rather unique touch. I quite like it! This is a memorable arrangement for sure. Its only fault is the sudden ending - sounds like there was more to come, but it was faded out...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Hutch75 (07/01/2018)

My favourite comic book hero and one of my fave games of all time done justice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Hutch75 (07/01/2018)

Atmospheric.Transports you to a time long ago. Not just the eighties! Very professional and slick.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (04/01/2018)

An awesome remix of two Rob Hubbard masterpieces done by a legend in his own right. Excellence indeed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kacper077 (28/12/2017)

This is song for me :) Lol exellent . nice nice . I set this song to my alarm in t h e p h one !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (23/12/2017)

Yes, unz:y as hell. But there's something I can't put my greasy finger on that I lack in this arrangement. Maybe something in the choice of sounds? Or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/12/2017)

For a "Newcomer" this Jeroen guy sounds pretty good to me. Not bad for a first remix, not bad, sir!... Just kidding! :-D Bow to the master! Bow to the master!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Viking73 (01/12/2017)

Really Cool Mix of two awesome Tunes from Mr. Hubbard!!! I Really Like That kind of sound! Keep going this way! Thanks for your great Job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gique (01/12/2017)

Slamming and nostalgic by the bucketload! Makes me happy to hear the old school guys are still going at it with max enthusiasm.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RobyOneKenoby (01/12/2017)

This sound rocks ... just another wonderful work of Mister Tell .... what else ?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Elrinth (01/12/2017)

I'm a big fan of JT. This tune is no different from his other master pieces. It combines great mixing with amazing drive. Blending two classics together works perfectly this time with a seamless combination.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (21/11/2017)

Exactly how my mind hears this track!! Now to write at least 15 words that I cannot think of because I just think it rocked mate!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DatLicht (21/11/2017)

One of the best remixes ever heard. Perfect mixture of present and past in a quality that a 'real' band couldn't perform better on stage. Absolutely amazing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bgmnt (11/11/2017)

i like, how it builds up and gets faster. great opening track for a dj set :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bgmnt (08/11/2017)

for such a fast arrangement it is very cool and far away from these cheap and cheesy dancefloor beats. and a good variety of sounds and effects. thumbsup :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ghydda (08/11/2017)

Clear vibrant sound - the intro is especially catchy and the bass later on has a really nice rhythm.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (03/11/2017)

Ok, that is hard for me to rate. First: is this music? Well, not for me. Maybe for others (at least one has given the red button, so there must be at least one who finds it awesome - but I have no idea why...), but for me it's a sample of noise. Sorry, Colmarr, but I have the feeling I have to be totally drunk or stoned to understand that track. If so, I screwed up - I never drink alcohol or took drugs. Second: this should be a remix, just because it's submitted to remix64. Where's the original? Maybe someone can give it to me so I can compare the original to this remix. Sorry, so far it's just average to me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (03/11/2017)

well, first of all - thanks for sharing, omoroca. this tune is much better than the other ones you've submitted so far. I heared it now several times. I have the feeling that you are in a state of learning how to create a track. Especially the last minute gives me that feeling, it sounds like "what can I add, what happens, when I press THIS or THAT". Besides that, the section from 2:30 to 4:00 is good. You should take that and try to create a good tune. The first part up to 2:30 sounds like somebody who just started to learn how to play an instrument. Ergo: average tune, better than the other ones you've shared. Good middle section. Don't be too disappointed, see it as another step to a good tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (03/11/2017)

When I heared that track (must be yesterday) I thought "Woooow". I'm still at that state - it's an awesome track. The bassy (or dark played) electric guitar (the one you hear first) and it's slow play are wonderful. Mr Olsen - great job!!!^^
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grigul (02/11/2017)

First of all - thanks for charing that tune, Mr. Gantar. Afaik you're a newcomer, so we all know it's hard to come into this scene. I'm not a musician, so I can't imagine how much work it needs to deliver a tune here, but - It needs a better job to compete here, that's what I can say as "Just-a-listener". I don't want to compare you, Mr Gantar, to other musicians and remixers here (that would be unfair in my opinion), but If you listen to them (especially to those who have also a yellow button or better) you hopefully recognize that they're better. A lot of them are for years in that scene, some even longer. Try to get next to them, or just in range. Sounds easy, but is hard, very hard work for you. Please, Mr Gantar, try it.^^
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 56 57 58