Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1561 - 1590 out of 1940
[LOGIN]

Review by q__ (16/02/2003)

Cool, you must (or should) be a drummer :-)

I don't know if the 'casio' sound was intentional, but i think with better quality gear this would be better.
IMHO the tune itself can't carry a piece this long on itself, but the percussion in particular the 'improvisation' at around 2:30 keep it interesting.

Overall a very rhythmic piece which i like.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

It's a pitty the great harpsichord arrangement has no chance against loud percussions and a lead instrument which could be described best as a "singing saw", it literally gets buried - eewh!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

Considering how Instant Remedy started out, Sonic Wanderer's attempt sounds much like he's in the early steps of Instant Remedy. For a club remix, however, this one starts too late with stomping drums (at 1:22). The middle part with bass-line and steady percussions is better, but also has a questionable sequence where the rhythm is changed abruptly. Another thing that could be replaced or changed is the dominating Arpeggio in the background which is too close to the lead. Else this is a nice effort.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

Entertaining..., but hey, what is "Moon Patrol"? The original sidtune is a 25 seconds short bass solo (well, call it melody) accompanied with weird drums. So, what this "remix" does is adding a complete own and lengthy guitar composition on top of the looping (and later modified) bass-line from Moon Patrol which makes it a complete new track rather than a remix, IMO. Hence in the category of a "SID remix", I think this one performs a poor job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

A straight-forward extended SID cover which means it contains a few samples from the original sidtune, but replaces most of the instruments and percussions. In this "enhanced sidtune" category, however, it does a good job. In particular I enjoyed a great bass-line and drums.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

A mixture between "a capella", lyrics, Kraftwerk-style electro drums, club-music and heavy metal near the end. In other words, a real strange mixture, and although I agree it may be a very creative piece of music, I can't get accustomed to weird stuff like this and I'm not impressed at all with what it does to the Cauldron (Hexenküche) theme and its atmosphere

I think this mp3 has a very limited and special target group. It's not anything I would recommend as a download.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (16/02/2003)

While a selection of good and smooth sounding sounds was used, this track covers parts of the original sidtune in a quite too repetitive way for a bit more than four minutes. I wish it would cover more of the sidtune and would attempt at one or two variations. If you're looking for a track to become sleepy, this is one. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Makke (16/02/2003)

I liked the first version of this remix when I first heard it, and I still like it though there are far better remixes of Sanxion around. This version is in my ears nothing more than the old remix with some loops on top of it, which I personally don't feel add anything of relevance to the song. The production quality is not exactly top drawer, and I don't particularly like it at all.

It was probably more fun to make than it is to listen to. At least IMHO.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Makke (16/02/2003)

First I was only going to rate this as "good", but Dor-X's songs can take a few spins to "fully grasp". So after a few more spins it changed my mind to Very Good. Because it is! It has great production, a really bluesy feel to it with a mixture of synthesized sounds and guitar.

This might not be something everyone "can dig". But give it a chance or two and you might just discover something new. (Hohoho, I rhymed!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by _pld_ (15/02/2003)

Superb! Is there any genre you CANNOT do?
I've heard all the mixes and covers you have on this site, and I'm truly impressed...you are an exellent musician, indeed!
I still remember when I got the noisetracker you made a long time ago, with the Mahoney and Kaktus logo, if I remember correctly...and I did make much noise with it =)

Nothing half-hearted in your music...if it says "Spandau Ballet Mix", you can actually wonder if it was made by Spandau Ballet...could've fooled me =)

And THIS tune is just beautiful :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Too much filtering used throughout the 6:25 mix of several Turrican songs gives an overall too muffled sound. The used sounds/instruments mainly sound cheap, too. Additionally, the remix doesn't concentrate on any theme either which makes it a bit of a boring random concatenation of unfinished Turrican cover versions.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

The rating of this remix is solely based on what the remix has to offer since hearing the name of the sidtune doesn't ring a bell. The high quality of sounds used in the remix, the modulations in the bass-line, drop of percussions and a piano part in the end, and the overall hypnotic atmosphere (in a good sense), make this an outstanding piece of music.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Simply fantastic! Despite being one of the old(er) remixes -- with some of the release dates being wrong --, it extends and improves the Star Paws SID source material so much with synth sounds and modern equipment, it's unbelievable. A real master-piece with Jarre-feeling in several places and being rich in timbre from beginning till end. Hard to beat.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

Extra-ordinary enhanced version of the sidtune, albeit straight-forward and with a few original SID samples in some important places where they are used for effects and percussions like pulse-modulation drums (which in my opinion was a good decision and results in a nostalgia bonus). The arranger has replaced and added enough to make this a 6:36 long enjoyable synth-track with a well-chosen set of sounds and instruments.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (12/02/2003)

It's a fast-paced dance-floor version which contains clearly recognizable parts of Lightforce. So don't expect a full cover. The dance-floor style makes quite a difference. It also doesn't attempt on covering several of the impressive SID modulations found in the original. But it's a fine attempt on a dance-remix of Lightforce which benefits from strong source material and a good selection of sounds. It's somewhere between a "GOOD" and a "VERY GOOD" remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (05/02/2003)

Even when there are no lyrics used , these "doo-doos" are really catchy. A well done production,clever arranged and mixed ! It's a must download for all of you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

When is a Thrust remix not a Thrust remix? When you get Phil Bak on the case. It's definitely the famous track... just not as you may have heard it before! Try it... you might like it :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

A constant buildup, layering different ways of playing the same passage without it getting repetitive. Definitely my favourite NtW remix out there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Ah... Lala can sum things up well here. The improvisation part is extremely clever, engaging and listenable. It is also very similar in places to Jeroen Tel's intro piece for Robocop 3. But seeing as I enjoy that as well, it doesn't make much of a difference.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Yet another SID I was not familiar with before listening to the remix. And what a remix it is. I almost thought it could have been from a film score, given the basis of the original track and what is has been turned into here. The current score shows this is vastly under-rated at this moment in time. Sounding slightly like Tangerine Dream and sometimes minimalistic, the various chords swirl round your brain like some drug. I have listened to the track countless times and I am still not bored with it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

I'm gonna disagree with Chris here... I LIKE the minor chord at the start! But that's the musical tastes now? This has a special place for me as this is the first SID remix I actually listened to way back then. And it still holds up well today, inaccuracies or no inaccuracies.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

You have to admire their balls in doing this cover now! Thankfully it works on all levels, even if the lyrics are a little cheesy (but what songs today aren't?).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

This is still my favourite remix of all time. Even though it may be over 3 years old and plenty more tracks have better sounds, better tempo, better style. It still rocks. The restyled version on his album just backs up this original version still better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Kung Fu Bouff indeed... it doesn't let up, it keeps ripping into your ears for the full 7 minutes. And the Monty on the Run section deserves its own independent cover in that style as it surpasses PPOT's effort in my opinion.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mayhem (05/02/2003)

Sometimes it is a wonderful surprise to "discover" a SID track that you didn't know before you had listened to a remix of it. Such was the case here. A barely 3 minute long track has been expanded, improved and generally tarted up with instruments and vocals to produce a wonderful aural experience. Perhaps a little similar in nature to the previous Firelord track, nevertheless still a definite download to be had.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by amarok (05/02/2003)

There is only one word to sum-up this remix, and that is 'AWESOME'! There's also only one way to listen to this remix, and that is LOUD! Right from the start the drums put you in the mood, then when the jazzy intro comes in you're well away. Not many people could pull off remixing Spellbound into a Swing mix, but Mahoney did it, and did it brilliantly. I have to say that this is (to-date) my favourite C64-remix, and it's certainly one of the most original remixes I've heard. It's technically sound - all the individual parts can be heard with amazing clarity, and the piece never gets boring or repetitive. It's not too long, nor too short, and the whole thing fits together like a glove. Don't expect this remix to stir lots of nostalgic emotions within you though, because let's face it: the original Spellbound was not a swing piece! Even so, the main melody is there and is easily distinguishable from the rest of the parts. If you haven't heard it yet, what are you waiting for? Download it now!! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by datucker (04/02/2003)

Orchestral remakes seem to be quite popular now. This is another one. The arrangement is good. The choosen sounds are good. In a musical way the remake is good.

The only flaw of this remake is that (no offence to LaLa!) it just doesn't sound like a orchestra. I think that is due to the equipment used: I hear a synth trying to sound like an orchestra but which is still a synth. If this remake would be remastered using some high-end equipment, it really could sound way cool because from a musical view it is good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by datucker (04/02/2003)

This remake of Lightforce is basically interesting. I say basically because I like idea but the sounds are a bit too agressive. The mixing is not very good. It sounds somehow a bit LoFi, it doesn't have much stereo effects. Besides the different channels aren't well balanced: sometimes one channel overtakes all others because it's just to loud. It's like listening to some old radio-cassette-tape which is very, very old.

In brief: the musical idea is good :-), the mixing-part could be done better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (04/02/2003)

I find it somewhat difficult to judge this remix. There's a impressive blend of sound effects, but musically I think this remix has degraded from the original tune. It would still make a good backdrop in a platform game. Well...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (04/02/2003)

I keep coming back to this tune after lots of C64 remakes. I've never heard the original tune so I don't have any nostalgic feelings but there are feelings in this remix! The style isn't what I usually listen to, but this one triggered my interest. Well done guitar play, nice distortion, sound effects are not overdone, and some noisy 8-bit samples. A refreshing combination.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65