Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Talk freely about the scene, the world of remixing, or anything off-topic unsuitable for the "Fun Forum".
Post Reply
User avatar
Steve B
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1097
Joined: 10/04/2003 - 19:56
Location: Cramlington Northumberland
Contact:

Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Steve B »

I use a wireless network.
the only time i can connect to the playstation network is when the no. 1 ps3 controller is actually connected via the usb cable.
If i disconnect the main controller, i get disconnected from the playstation network within about 3 minutes.
If the controller is not plugged in, i can not connect to the playstation network !
i can brows the internet on the ps3 .. just not the playstation network ..

any ideas ?
I C 64 People

Computers can never replace human stupidity

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Subzero »

First mistake....you bought a PS3

User avatar
Analog-X64
I Adore My 64
I Adore My 64
Posts: 3597
Joined: 08/12/2002 - 3:50
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Analog-X64 »

Subzero wrote:First mistake....you bought a PS3
PS3 RoX0rS!!!
d[-.-]b (+[___]x)d(>_<)b 52656d697836342e636f6d2073696d706c7920726f636b732120
Image

User avatar
C64GLeN
Forum Adept
Forum Adept
Posts: 810
Joined: 26/11/2002 - 22:27
Location: Middlesbrough
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by C64GLeN »

Lets not have a console fanboy fight and try and help Steve instead, please.

User avatar
Subzero
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Whaurs ma troosers!!!
Posts: 1364
Joined: 25/07/2003 - 8:03
Location: Glenrothes
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Subzero »

CONSOLE FANBOY FIGHT INSTEAD!!!

hey i love sony, but ive yet to be impressed by the PS3

User avatar
Romeo Knight
Supreme Strumming Daddy
Supreme Strumming Daddy
Posts: 1391
Joined: 20/05/2004 - 20:52
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Romeo Knight »

It's the best and most affordable BlueRay-player in the moment.
(And it runs video games on top for free!)
Image

User avatar
Steve B
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1097
Joined: 10/04/2003 - 19:56
Location: Cramlington Northumberland
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Steve B »

C64GLeN wrote:Lets not have a console fanboy fight and try and help Steve instead, please.
here here (cheers GLeN)
Subzero wrote:hey i love sony, but ive yet to be impressed by the PS3
I am very impressed by it, except for this one bloody problem.
anyone got any ideas ??
I C 64 People

Computers can never replace human stupidity

User avatar
DHS
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1040
Joined: 22/11/2002 - 9:43
Location: Verona, Italy
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by DHS »

Looks like a wifi antenna problem to me.
it may be that the wifi antenna is disconnected (but i don't know if there's any inside).
So, when you plug a cable, it uses it as antenna.

Try to plug the usb cable without the sixaxis on the other side and see what happens.
--
DHS of The SoundWavers
http://soundwavers.com/

User avatar
Steve B
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1097
Joined: 10/04/2003 - 19:56
Location: Cramlington Northumberland
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Steve B »

DHS wrote:Try to plug the usb cable without the sixaxis on the other side and see what happens.
i have 3 sixaxis's (sixaxii ?) one of them is usualy plugged in all the time (controller no. 2). the USB leads are plugged in all the time. the problem occurs only if no. 1 is not plugged in.(even if i change the controller designations - the one set as no.1 needs to be plugged in)
I C 64 People

Computers can never replace human stupidity

User avatar
SkyMarshall Arts
Forum Loony
Forum Loony
Posts: 110
Joined: 23/10/2005 - 18:38
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by SkyMarshall Arts »

Analog-X64 wrote:
Subzero wrote:First mistake....you bought a PS3
PS3 RoX0rS!!!
You and me agree!
The hardware is there - the fun is not!

Amusing, fanboy-fights are!

Image
God created man
Man created machine
Machine created music

http://www.skymarshallarts.com
http://www.remix64.com/member_skymarshall_art.html

User avatar
beyond
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1324
Joined: 22/11/2002 - 19:57
Location: 2nd star to the left
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by beyond »

It sounds really weird. Have you written on the ps3 support forum? http://uk.playstation.com/help-support/ps3/ I hope that helps.

I can't reproduce the error so it can't be a general flaw. As far as my memory goes there is nothing in the TRCs (Technical Requirements Certification) about this. So no source to the problem there.

Have you upgraded to OS v 2.3?

-T

User avatar
Analog-X64
I Adore My 64
I Adore My 64
Posts: 3597
Joined: 08/12/2002 - 3:50
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Analog-X64 »

C64GLeN wrote:Lets not have a console fanboy fight and try and help Steve instead, please.
My Commodore 64 is better than you're Atari 800XL :twisted:

Actually I was just just kidding in my previous post more of a tongue in cheek.

I'm Console Nutural. I dont own any New Generation Consoles.

Only the Nintendo DS and PSP.

PS3 will be my next purchase because I want a cheap Blue Ray DVD Player + Gaming :)

When the Prices drop lower... I will own an XBOX360 and Wii as well. :)
d[-.-]b (+[___]x)d(>_<)b 52656d697836342e636f6d2073696d706c7920726f636b732120
Image

User avatar
Vosla
General Pain In The Forum's Ass
General Pain In The Forum's Ass
Posts: 3555
Joined: 02/12/2002 - 0:12
Location: Where the sun never shines, hope is a cuss and love never existed.
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Vosla »

That was pure bashing fun for those who knew... and were watching the dumbos and fanboys go at each others throat... :lol:

Though I had just a C64 at the time, my cousin & me typed in listings for games on a Atari 600XL. :duh:
All is lost.

User avatar
Steve B
Forum God
Forum God
Posts: 1097
Joined: 10/04/2003 - 19:56
Location: Cramlington Northumberland
Contact:

Re: Anyone got a PS3 and this problem ?

Post by Steve B »

beyond wrote:It sounds really weird. Have you written on the ps3 support forum? http://uk.playstation.com/help-support/ps3/ I hope that helps.
just going to head over there now ..
beyond wrote:I can't reproduce the error so it can't be a general flaw. As far as my memory goes there is nothing in the TRCs (Technical Requirements Certification) about this. So no source to the problem there.
i first found out how to stay connected (by plugging in the controller) because it was mentioned online by someone having problems updating to os v2.0.
i thought "that cant be right .. that cant work!"
but it did.
so i am not the only person with the problem, but i cant find that post again :(
beyond wrote:Have you upgraded to OS v 2.3?
-T
i have, yes.
I C 64 People

Computers can never replace human stupidity

Post Reply