Is it getting boring?

Talk freely about the scene, the world of remixing, or anything off-topic unsuitable for the "Fun Forum".
Rauli
Commodore Fan
Commodore Fan

Is it getting boring?

Post by Rauli »

Remixing c64 tunes has since last year been close to all the music I made. At least when it comes to songs I have "finished". It's about having material to play around with and an audience who have some interest about what I do. Without this community I would probably gone back to doing other stuff by now.

I am a rookie when it comes to music. I can hardly play a melody on a keyboard. I have no idea what you all talk about when you talk about that special Tirus LB 506 sound caught by a PT 2000 mic. The sids I know are mostly from games between 1984-1988. But doing these remixis is a nice way to practice and learn.

What I have done lately is going back to my earlier remixes, and I have started to remix some of those remixes. I did this with Panther (and if you have read another thread where I mention I will do it again) and I'm doing it with my Delta right now.

Then it struck me. It's boring! Maybe not for me, but for the people listening to this stuff. I rather listen to some new fresh tunes with totally new approach than a remix of an other mediocre DELTA remix.

Why I do it is probably because in this stage it is good to get feedback, more so than when you just have fooled around without any plans. But as I got zero replys, no reviews and had 13 voters so far, it has worked just the other way around. Probably because of what I mentioned earlier. It is more fun to comment something thats fresh and new.

I myself don't give much feedback unless you ask me, so I'm not really in a position to complain on anybody. And I wouldn't anyway. My experience from my work as a techer in creative writing, where half of the work is giving people feedback, is that feedback is great but works mostly in small comitted groups of people.