Equipment required to 'Remix' ? (Total Newbie)

The place for musicians to share their knowledge and ideas about music and remixing, and to post WIP snippets and feedback. Also suggest tunes for remixing, here.
Phantom66uk
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Equipment required to 'Remix' ? (Total Newbie)

Post by Phantom66uk »

Hello to all you talented guys at remix64.

What is the Minimum equipment requirements to do a decent remix?

I imagine a sequencer programme (something like Reason V3.0?), and a MIDI keyboard along with a decent soundcard is enough?

Also what tips would you give a complete beginner?
trace
Forum God
Forum God

Post by trace »

Hi and welcome :)

I use reason and you can totaly do remixes with that and a good choice of a soundcard is good, best with ASIO support like M-AUDIO DELTA AUDIOPHILE 2496 :)

Here is equipment some of us uses: Reason, Fruityloops(fruitystudio), Cubase(with vsti's and/or hardware synths) and some like i did in the beginning uses Fasttracker(tracker based prog) i guess there is more than that :)

A midi keyboard is a good choice cause it's hard and much job to do it by mouse :)

It's much of taste what YOU like to use :)
(Carpe Diem Seize the day)
Soundcloud PowerTrace
c64-> /various/M-r/Noise_of_SID
Phantom66uk
Forum Regular
Forum Regular

Post by Phantom66uk »

Thanks for that information trace :D I used Cubase around 8 or 9 years ago on an Atari520STe on a college course that I did, I imagine that it's changed significantly by now.

I've also had access to a demo version of Reason that only had a few soundbanks and I found it fairly overwhelming with all the options... Guess I'll have to start somewhere though. :wink:

Using a Creative Audigy2 at the moment in my system and that has ASIO support, so all I need to do if I decide to jump in at the deep end is get hold of a keyboard and Software.

(found sid2midi, although I need to pay to register it as I'm stuck with 90sec SID to midi conversions at the moment)
Max Levin