Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 31 - 60 out of 1837
[LOGIN]

Review by allannoe (04/05/2018)

Didn't play the game AFAIK.. didn't recognize the tune.. but MAN.. what a tune!!.. pure genius from 2min17sec and forward.. the winning ingredient to me is the excellent bass track... in fact the tune has grown to become one of my all time favorites Ten thumps up from me ..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

Plastic Pop is one of Danko best melody realized onto SID and Mordi had extended it into a song that fit 100% with the original work. I really love the voice applied over the instrumental version. I use this song for phone ring-tone and usually I let it play a lot before answer to the call...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

It extends the Matt original to another level. Vendetta is one of the tune you listen for hours because of its gloomy atmosphere
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frezzno (29/04/2018)

This is an excellent quality mix. So much details perfectly blended together while keeping the old essence of the original tune. Fantastic really, a dynamite! Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (28/04/2018)

This is without a doubt the best Spellbound version EVER and quite possibly one of the best C64 remixes in the history of remixes! Superimpressive and an amazing idea perfectly executed. Legendary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2018)

Lots of very nice touches here: 1) great use of the choir, 2) really like that robotic-vocoder sound effect that can be heard occasionally, 3) the variations starting at 1:44, 4) the solid rhythm and bass track throughout. Some stuff I am not fond of: 1) the thin lead from 1:19, 2) the arrangement becomes a bit repetitive as the tune progresses. Overall, it's obvious a lot of time was spent on this beauty, definitely a keeper!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mr.Killer Soft (14/04/2018)

Cool remix, good use of original sounds.... good drums, good rhythmic ... good idea finel remix with amiga version ofinternstiona karate 2... simply great!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by spazma (09/04/2018)

another nice music from darkman007!! Please write at least 15 words. Please write at least 15 words Please write at least 15 words.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (07/04/2018)

I personally think that the current reviewers are a tad too harsh on this tune. The choice of sounds and assembly + production holds really well together. Regardless of you've heard the original or not (I didn't) it's a total 80-s recall. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

I ear this song more than 1000 times , repeat all time. Is the best remix for Out Run ;) 10/10
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

This song make me cry for emotion ... I love this track and back my mind to 90s
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Uglybob (31/03/2018)

I love the depth and range of this, recognisably Follin and Fastloaders, what’s not to like!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/03/2018)

Strap yourself in for a 2+ minute intro before you hear a single note of Roland's Ratrace, but it's all in glorious synthwave style, which is all the rage today, and since I'm a sucker for those (with all their 80s nostalgic syrupiness) , this put a big smile on my face.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/03/2018)

First off, I think the title of this remix should be corrected: this is a remix of Jeroen Tel's Eliminator subtune #2. Yes, that one is based on Gyroscope, too, but it continues the melody line - which this remix does, too, and in the same way. As for the contents of this remix, the kick drum is way overpowering. Compress it or at least soften it in the mix. The choice of instruments is also extreme: lots of high-end, lots of low-end, almost nothing in the middle. Also, there's no ending - the tune just stops abruptly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (22/03/2018)

Not a huge fan of the brick-wall-compressed sound here, but I guess that's more personal taste. This remix does a lot right: the tune is right, and it has spirit and atmosphere. Starts off owing a bit to Instant Remedy's version of the same tune, but then goes of on its own journey.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ZXDunny (10/03/2018)

The use of strings rather than the pipes evokes more of a Scottish theme than Egyptian, and that's no bad thing - pipes are generally overused and Desert Dreams was no exception. This is every bit as epic as the original and a real accomplishment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Clyder64 (06/03/2018)

Great ingame music. And hearing it in such a modern production makes it even greater :) Love this mix.....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by alankila (06/03/2018)

I listened to this track and the original Amiga track from Barry Leitch, and created a piano score that is bit of a hybrid between the two. https://bel.fi/alankila/sheet-music/HeroQuestIngame.pdf I like this soulful, expressive arrangement a lot. It must have been decades since I heard the original Barry Leitch Amiga version, and I had forgotten most of it. I was surprised to discover that much of this track is directly lifted from the Amiga mod. It felt just impossible considering how mechanical the Amiga track sounds like! This piano arrangement is stunningly emotional and fantastic reinterpretation of the mood of the song. It calls in mind something similarly absolutely beautiful, perhaps Tim Forsyth's Flight Path 737 comes close (and which can be heard elsewhere on this site). In fairness, the original material is severely constrained technically because of its small file size and long play length that requires a slow tempo, and it uses just 3 channels, leaving one for the sound effects of the game. I guess the composition is also a tad simplistic, mostly using just 2 chords and rhythmically nothing more complicated than eighth notes, though I admit that they are placed very nicely. I hope the piano score is useful for someone. The directory contains the MuseScore 2 project file as well, if someone wants to take a look at that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (04/03/2018)

I liked it. Always good to hear different takes on tunes. Obviously it's not a banging synth so some won't like it - but no one likes everything :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2018)

Very original for a Spellbound remix! Its style is a mashup between flamenco, Caribbean pirate, and a bit of Mexican mariachi, but in high-quality and in good taste. Really, really good job, Mano!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/02/2018)

a tune for all space synth freak out of the globe!! Daxx stands for quality music! ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/02/2018)

It's a nice retrofuturustic treatment of Hubbard's track. The mix heavily favors the high-end throughout, which bothers me a bit. The arrangement really gets going after the full set of drums come in at 1:53, that got my hopes up high. However, the chords at 2:46 sound odd to me, both in texture and pitch, and they broke the illusion a bit. The entire track reminds me a lot of Tangerine Dream's albums from the 80s, which I think is the style Strange Days was actually going for. Nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chrisjc (14/02/2018)

Well done at going the extra mile to sample the original instruments, it sounds awesome
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MicMod (13/02/2018)

Very creative transition of the original tune. Great mixing and perfect selection of instruments. A classic done right. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

So sad that I've missed this tune for so many years! Some great sound in this remix, good mixing, and a terrific vibe, though it loses some of its "oomph" around 3:35. Outro still manages to be decent. I'm torn in my verdict, in it being true to its original, it doesn't go "full techno", but if it did it would have been an absolute beast that would go straight onto my all-time list of favorites. I also suspect that some of the demoscene groups (Farbrausch for one) have found inspiration in this tune in the prods of the late 00's.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

This is a medley of different attempts at remixing the awesome old Silkworm tune and not a single track by itself. The individual subtunes are interesting with clear overall sound and show artistic skill and ability to experiment. Malone never fleshed these out into actual tunes of their own thus we never get beyond this disjointed mix which is quite sad! Some great potential for remixes here! Plus, it's baffling to me that there are no other SIlkworm remixes to be found here on this site. How is this even possible?!?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Aki remade this remix two years before from the submittion date of of its "v1.1" and while this remix is a bit less experimentative than its successor, it has a more consistent beat and vibe and simply comes off better. Nice tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

An odd and daring approach to on good 'ol DR. Interesting choice of instruments but while the body has massive potential with its electro-rock vibe, the instruments get terribly muddled and spoils the core of the tune in part due to the mixing which remains a problem in the latter half. Fix the that and you'd have half the work done towards what might have been a truly kick-ass track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Simple but good "electro"-style remix of DR. Slightly weak intro but good body with a decent beat and a choice of instruments that delivers a faithful recreation with "oomph" added.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A simple remix production of the good 'ol DR. Barely any deviation at all from the original which in itself is not a problem but with this specific choice of instruments some of which are muddled and even blurry in their appearance it doesn't come off well and with the somewhat abrupt outro spoils the overall impression of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62