Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 31 - 60 out of 1848
[LOGIN]

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our channel here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJVkKIRVWfI hope you are ok with that!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee69 (30/06/2018)

This is the best by far! These guys have nailed it! Every single tune just screams commodore 64!!! Monty is my favourite though!!! AMAZING!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (27/06/2018)

Johan Andersson brings Zoids to an all new place! It's rockin', it's funky, it's groovy and it's freaking awesome! Bang your head to this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (15/06/2018)

It's a song of power. Get out of my way until we get shot down. Everyone will die, lose everything, but until then we sing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (14/06/2018)

This should be the opening song for any party. Kudos Hazel and keep up the really good work. This is awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pornkilla (07/06/2018)

Sounds great and I really love this tune. Perfect, stunning, SWEET! This was a main ringtone in my smartphone for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/05/2018)

Nice arrangement and good sound!!! Keep up the good work!! C64 music is timeless music!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Breadbox Bill (20/05/2018)

An energetic, heavy Remix that leaves me wanting more! Dusty shows remarkable technical skills (1:04 or 3:38 are insanely good!) Awesome guitar tone, amazing bass, great drums, and badass solos! Enough said!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Johnshearing (13/05/2018)

Music from Gilligan's Gold, Kong Strikes Back and Super Pipeline, awesome stuff. Plus one tune I don't recognise! Seamless segues between the tunes as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (08/05/2018)

It's like Mike Oldfield with Heavy Rock! Fastloaders do it again with their rocking skills. Bit short tho.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Umpa (07/05/2018)

Do you have a longer version ? Its just a little too short. Just getting in to it and it ends.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by allannoe (04/05/2018)

Didn't play the game AFAIK.. didn't recognize the tune.. but MAN.. what a tune!!.. pure genius from 2min17sec and forward.. the winning ingredient to me is the excellent bass track... in fact the tune has grown to become one of my all time favorites Ten thumps up from me ..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

Plastic Pop is one of Danko best melody realized onto SID and Mordi had extended it into a song that fit 100% with the original work. I really love the voice applied over the instrumental version. I use this song for phone ring-tone and usually I let it play a lot before answer to the call...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

It extends the Matt original to another level. Vendetta is one of the tune you listen for hours because of its gloomy atmosphere
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frezzno (29/04/2018)

This is an excellent quality mix. So much details perfectly blended together while keeping the old essence of the original tune. Fantastic really, a dynamite! Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (28/04/2018)

This is without a doubt the best Spellbound version EVER and quite possibly one of the best C64 remixes in the history of remixes! Superimpressive and an amazing idea perfectly executed. Legendary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2018)

Lots of very nice touches here: 1) great use of the choir, 2) really like that robotic-vocoder sound effect that can be heard occasionally, 3) the variations starting at 1:44, 4) the solid rhythm and bass track throughout. Some stuff I am not fond of: 1) the thin lead from 1:19, 2) the arrangement becomes a bit repetitive as the tune progresses. Overall, it's obvious a lot of time was spent on this beauty, definitely a keeper!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mr.Killer Soft (14/04/2018)

Cool remix, good use of original sounds.... good drums, good rhythmic ... good idea finel remix with amiga version ofinternstiona karate 2... simply great!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by spazma (09/04/2018)

another nice music from darkman007!! Please write at least 15 words. Please write at least 15 words Please write at least 15 words.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (07/04/2018)

I personally think that the current reviewers are a tad too harsh on this tune. The choice of sounds and assembly + production holds really well together. Regardless of you've heard the original or not (I didn't) it's a total 80-s recall. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

I ear this song more than 1000 times , repeat all time. Is the best remix for Out Run ;) 10/10
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

This song make me cry for emotion ... I love this track and back my mind to 90s
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Uglybob (31/03/2018)

I love the depth and range of this, recognisably Follin and Fastloaders, what’s not to like!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/03/2018)

Strap yourself in for a 2+ minute intro before you hear a single note of Roland's Ratrace, but it's all in glorious synthwave style, which is all the rage today, and since I'm a sucker for those (with all their 80s nostalgic syrupiness) , this put a big smile on my face.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/03/2018)

First off, I think the title of this remix should be corrected: this is a remix of Jeroen Tel's Eliminator subtune #2. Yes, that one is based on Gyroscope, too, but it continues the melody line - which this remix does, too, and in the same way. As for the contents of this remix, the kick drum is way overpowering. Compress it or at least soften it in the mix. The choice of instruments is also extreme: lots of high-end, lots of low-end, almost nothing in the middle. Also, there's no ending - the tune just stops abruptly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (22/03/2018)

Not a huge fan of the brick-wall-compressed sound here, but I guess that's more personal taste. This remix does a lot right: the tune is right, and it has spirit and atmosphere. Starts off owing a bit to Instant Remedy's version of the same tune, but then goes of on its own journey.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ZXDunny (10/03/2018)

The use of strings rather than the pipes evokes more of a Scottish theme than Egyptian, and that's no bad thing - pipes are generally overused and Desert Dreams was no exception. This is every bit as epic as the original and a real accomplishment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Clyder64 (06/03/2018)

Great ingame music. And hearing it in such a modern production makes it even greater :) Love this mix.....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by alankila (06/03/2018)

I listened to this track and the original Amiga track from Barry Leitch, and created a piano score that is bit of a hybrid between the two. https://bel.fi/alankila/sheet-music/HeroQuestIngame.pdf I like this soulful, expressive arrangement a lot. It must have been decades since I heard the original Barry Leitch Amiga version, and I had forgotten most of it. I was surprised to discover that much of this track is directly lifted from the Amiga mod. It felt just impossible considering how mechanical the Amiga track sounds like! This piano arrangement is stunningly emotional and fantastic reinterpretation of the mood of the song. It calls in mind something similarly absolutely beautiful, perhaps Tim Forsyth's Flight Path 737 comes close (and which can be heard elsewhere on this site). In fairness, the original material is severely constrained technically because of its small file size and long play length that requires a slow tempo, and it uses just 3 channels, leaving one for the sound effects of the game. I guess the composition is also a tad simplistic, mostly using just 2 chords and rhythmically nothing more complicated than eighth notes, though I admit that they are placed very nicely. I hope the piano score is useful for someone. The directory contains the MuseScore 2 project file as well, if someone wants to take a look at that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (04/03/2018)

I liked it. Always good to hear different takes on tunes. Obviously it's not a banging synth so some won't like it - but no one likes everything :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62