Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 31 - 60 out of 1812
[LOGIN]

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

This is a medley of different attempts at remixing the awesome old Silkworm tune and not a single track by itself. The individual subtunes are interesting with clear overall sound and show artistic skill and ability to experiment. Malone never fleshed these out into actual tunes of their own thus we never get beyond this disjointed mix which is quite sad! Some great potential for remixes here! Plus, it's baffling to me that there are no other SIlkworm remixes to be found here on this site. How is this even possible?!?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Aki remade this remix two years before from the submittion date of of its "v1.1" and while this remix is a bit less experimentative than its successor, it has a more consistent beat and vibe and simply comes off better. Nice tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

An odd and daring approach to on good 'ol DR. Interesting choice of instruments but while the body has massive potential with its electro-rock vibe, the instruments get terribly muddled and spoils the core of the tune in part due to the mixing which remains a problem in the latter half. Fix the that and you'd have half the work done towards what might have been a truly kick-ass track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Simple but good "electro"-style remix of DR. Slightly weak intro but good body with a decent beat and a choice of instruments that delivers a faithful recreation with "oomph" added.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A simple remix production of the good 'ol DR. Barely any deviation at all from the original which in itself is not a problem but with this specific choice of instruments some of which are muddled and even blurry in their appearance it doesn't come off well and with the somewhat abrupt outro spoils the overall impression of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A Desert Rocks remake which is artistically inspired and faithful to the original, but technically flawed. Some transitions could be done better and are jarring to the ear. The composer attempts melding techno and a trancey- beat together but seems to lose track of what style he should be sticking to as the tune progresses and the 'vibe' ends up a bit confused. Some alterations would make a significant difference.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dravion (08/02/2018)

Keep up the good work. Remindes me of all the good Amigatimes. Amiga had simply the best tunes. PC was not bad to but Amiga was the best
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (24/01/2018)

An epic and atmospheric dance track, fantastic vocals and great usage of the Green Beret motifs. I could hear this played in any serious DJ set.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (24/01/2018)

I loved this, the opening synth sound was sharp and nice, and when the beats came in... that made my day! A new style for this old classic, something I didn't think I'd hear. I'll definitely return to this one many times!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zefrem23 (23/01/2018)

Deep, a little angry and drifting like a hot Tokyo roadster. Very nice use of the different melodies in an unexpected and delicious way. Excellent rework.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kikstart (20/01/2018)

this track is very trancey.. love it :) well worth downloading every amiga or music retro owner should listen to..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This remix is The definitive one to go by of the ones available on AMIGAremix/Remix64. The instruments are very well chosen, the tune and beat is essentially unchanged from the original but while this isn't a factor that would ordinarily speak in favor of the composition, it works remarkably well for the new choice of instruments, and the outro properly nails it for this beutiful recreation. Well done, Espen! (I really thought I had already reviewed this but to my embarassment it seems I never left even a comment until now.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This might have been a fresh "trancey" take on SC2 theme but is unfortunately let down by that the electro-style instruments lacks definition to my ear and is closer to a buzzing noise than an actual instrument, plus that they are simply overpowering the rest of the soundstage. The outro is odd and hollow.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

A good and faithful remake on the original. The original tempo and drumtracks are preserved, with some tweaks to the instruments used during intro and outro. Compared to other remixes or the original for that matter it does have a bit less bass-audio dominant but it's fine with a bit of "easy listening".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bgmnt (14/01/2018)

Erm... Dunno exactly what this is and the beats on the first part are pretty monotone like in a medley and I was not aware of the name JT until today I must confess and I only knew these two tracks/remixed separately, so i was not sure about this. But: This mixing is so straightforwarded and dynamic and propelling and mixed flawlessly - and at least hyped by the community... It catches you, at least, even in the last minute :) And since it has the perfect length for DJs, who need a long piece of sound for going to the restrooms without relying on automix... thumbs up! :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2018)

It's always a treat to listen to a SID composer's own remake of his old tune - and this one goes way beyond being just a treat! Even without your "cue-list", the music here clearly tells a whole story, and it is, indeed, very cinematic - from the melancholic intro through the quiet but nervous anticipation in the middle to the cheerful ending. The introduction of the harpsichord (or dulcimer?) at 1:21 is an unusual and rather unique touch. I quite like it! This is a memorable arrangement for sure. Its only fault is the sudden ending - sounds like there was more to come, but it was faded out...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/01/2018)

Hands down my favorite Mordi tune (which is saying a lot since I love a great deal of his work). I love everything about this arrangement. Sounds like an old sea shanty, which is fine since I grew up in the Maritimes in Canada. Top notch.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Hutch75 (07/01/2018)

My favourite comic book hero and one of my fave games of all time done justice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Hutch75 (07/01/2018)

Atmospheric.Transports you to a time long ago. Not just the eighties! Very professional and slick.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (04/01/2018)

An awesome remix of two Rob Hubbard masterpieces done by a legend in his own right. Excellence indeed.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kacper077 (28/12/2017)

This is song for me :) Lol exellent . nice nice . I set this song to my alarm in t h e p h one !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (23/12/2017)

Yes, unz:y as hell. But there's something I can't put my greasy finger on that I lack in this arrangement. Maybe something in the choice of sounds? Or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/12/2017)

For a "Newcomer" this Jeroen guy sounds pretty good to me. Not bad for a first remix, not bad, sir!... Just kidding! :-D Bow to the master! Bow to the master!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Viking73 (01/12/2017)

Really Cool Mix of two awesome Tunes from Mr. Hubbard!!! I Really Like That kind of sound! Keep going this way! Thanks for your great Job.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gique (01/12/2017)

Slamming and nostalgic by the bucketload! Makes me happy to hear the old school guys are still going at it with max enthusiasm.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RobyOneKenoby (01/12/2017)

This sound rocks ... just another wonderful work of Mister Tell .... what else ?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Elrinth (01/12/2017)

I'm a big fan of JT. This tune is no different from his other master pieces. It combines great mixing with amazing drive. Blending two classics together works perfectly this time with a seamless combination.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (21/11/2017)

Exactly how my mind hears this track!! Now to write at least 15 words that I cannot think of because I just think it rocked mate!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DatLicht (21/11/2017)

One of the best remixes ever heard. Perfect mixture of present and past in a quality that a 'real' band couldn't perform better on stage. Absolutely amazing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by bgmnt (11/11/2017)

i like, how it builds up and gets faster. great opening track for a dj set :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 59 60 61