Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 241 - 270 out of 1812
[LOGIN]

Review by I_o (02/06/2015)

This sound is exactly what I needed. It conjures my Commodore experience without being so modern as to mix the worlds too much.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by benoni (29/05/2015)

Sometimes sequels aren't as good as the first one – but not so "Vocally Too". Very nice covers, very nice beats.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Benightedjim (23/05/2015)

You could imagine this as the theme tune to a 1970s drama series about a suave pilot flying his 737 around Europe. Tales of adventure, high drama, clandestine affairs, dangerous liaisons and the like. Oh, and bad aviator sunglasses, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mutetus (04/05/2015)

Totally unexpected action movie style arrangement. It didn't sound very special in the beginning, but after listening for a while (at very loud volume by accident, which seemed to be a good thing), it just knocked my socks off.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (02/05/2015)

Back in the day, for young Amiga users like myself who lacked the funds to purchase new games on a regular basis, magazine coverdisks were a splendidly excellent thing. The disk that accompanied issue 35 of Amiga Power in February 1994 quickly became one of the most popular in my collection, for two reasons. First, it had the marvellously entertaining Tetris Pro on it; and second, it contained a demo version of a curious puzzley game with atypically beautiful music. That game was, of course, Statix, and it was booted up with great frequency just so I could listen to that lovely tune.

Fully two decades later, the prospect of getting to hear a new and souped-up version of the Statix demo music was an exciting and warmly nostalgic one – and by crikey, this remix more than does justice to the original track. It absolutely captures the distinctive essence of Mr Grefberg's composition, elegantly blending haunting soulfulness with a perkily up-tempo positivity, and then expands upon it in all manner of imaginative and delightful ways. The guitars are an immensely cool addition to proceedings, giving this arrangement a sound all its own; the augmented introduction to the piece is impressively dramatic, the harmonising throughout is electrifying, and I love the transition at the 2:15 mark; it's a pleasing little moment that says "Let's hear that again!" An assortment of glittery new background sounds and twinkling counter-melodic elements add greatly to the magical atmosphere of the piece, and the use of finger-cymbals at various key moments is a wonderfully charming touch. Terrific stuff all round.

I've since discovered, of course, that the full release of Statix neglected to include "Against Time" in its soundtrack. Thank heavens for that demo version, eh?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (20/04/2015)

It's a pity that the registration quality could be done better, btw it's one of the best merge remix I've heard. At 1:17 reminds me of john mellencamp's human wheels song.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (25/03/2015)

A perfect mix between the elethronics and the metal side, I really love the bass part and from 1:27
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (25/03/2015)

I really love this revision of the original that perfectly fits with the summer mood
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by al.x (19/03/2015)

It's a new take on Comic Bakery that we have not heard before! I would love to hear more like this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (19/03/2015)

This version respect the feeling of the original, but obviously improve the quality. Some samples instead are, maybe, still too 8bit like.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Very nice and very kraftwerk sort of and nice balance. Original was weirdly cool this is also
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Just your style and I always love your drums - great work Mate and long time no speak.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chilli_uk (19/03/2015)

Kept expecting Glen Campbell to start sing - man i tht wtf and tht why the fk not it rocks...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nickenstein (13/03/2015)

The way that the classical stringed instruments are blended with a deep synthetic-bass is very hollywood, and would fit in perfectly in any current big-budget movie. Having now just listened to the original SID, I'm quite stunned at how expertly you have turned it into a very modern piece without loosing the essence of the source. Also, the dedication you made to Skitz in the title made me remember my time with him as I listened. There are tears on my desk.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nickenstein (13/03/2015)

As stated in my 'shout', this was the second piece of music I ever heard from my own C64 (As Rambo-FB-Prt-2 was the first cassette I loaded on that Christmas day so very very long ago. So I clearly have a huge nostalgia-hard-on for this particular tune, but putting my bias on hold, here is my review: SUPERB! Excellent guitar and piano sections. But the great instrumental work is so nice, that the vocal samples cheapen/taint the piece. I would love a new upload sans-vocals. :D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by puffy64 (11/03/2015)

MASTERPIECE! Needs a new voting system to express the high production, creativity and playing skills of the artists that are involved. Intense mood of the sewers level was captured here perfectly. This remix was made with love to the tune, well chosen instrumentation and sets a mark for Matt Gray to beat in his upcoming LN2 project. For me, there could have been a heavier part at the end with a bit more rocking drums, but that´s just my opinion. Slaygon and his team (special cheers to the guitarists involved) made a great, wonderful remix and I suggest everyone to immediately download and rate this to show them, that this one is "IMPRESSIVE" (as spoken in Quake 3 Arena) . Thanks a lot for this brillant piece of music.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by slaygon (10/03/2015)

Way under-rated track. The build-up is gorgeous. The cinematic aura of it is just perfect! Any movie would be happy to have this as its sound track! The delicately placed guitars from NecroPolo in the mix gives away the precision work Markus put into making this a mix to take seriously. And seriously, you should. The subtle choir at the 4 minute mark. The low string section at the beginning. This is as serious as a movie soundtrack would ever be. Rate it as such. (and I haven't even mentioned the low-end precision work throughout the track!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/03/2015)

Incredible remix of the Sewers tune from Last Ninja 2. Once of the best versions of that particular tune I've heard in a while, in fact. Awesome Job, Slaygon and company.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gohanks (08/03/2015)

Had the pleasure of hearing the WIP version which was already impressive. Few words: original, very ninja and mega climactic!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dh73 (08/03/2015)

Fantastic ! Marvellous ! It is a great remix of this Song ; Good and Well defined Sound ; you're cool, man .
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Starwer (05/03/2015)

Just a great music, whether you know the original tune or or not ! Great arrangements !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chris Abbott (20/02/2015)

If I was going to suggest one change, it could start quieter, and end quieter, and there's a missed opportunity to go absolutely huge-ass-power-ballad in the middle.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Pietafon (10/02/2015)

Idealne odwzorowanie oryginału, Reyn Ouwahand na pewno pęka z dumy słysząc ten remix!:) Gratuluję!:)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (30/01/2015)

Given the somewhat awkward circumstances surrounding its production, it’s remarkable that the Amiga version of Captain Planet turned out as well as it did. (In a nutshell: Commodore, aptly displaying the forethought and diligence that would serve them so well throughout the rest of the ‘90s, struck a deal to include the game in their Cartoon Classics A500+ pack but neglected to allow sufficient time for its development. Programmer Tony Crowther ended up having to design and code the entire thing from scratch in just one month, assisted by a lone graphic artist and Ben Daglish on drums.) It’s vastly flawed, of course, but there’s an admirable amount of creativity on display in the design of the levels and the puzzlier aspects of the gameplay, and the music is terrific throughout, with an array of energetic and catchy tunes doing much to enliven the decidedly wonky platforming.

The theme that accompanies the “Linka” level (in which you control a girl with the power of wind (erk) as she hovers around what’s alleged to be an Egyptian pyramid but in fact looks rather more like a needlessly elaborate and unusually colourful chemical waste treatment plant) is extra-specially excellent, taking the form of a thrillingly zappy and pleasingly inventive electro-pop number. This remix elevates the tune to fantastic new heights, perfectly capturing the moodily mysterious yet sparklingly quirky atmosphere of the original while introducing a multitude of delightful flourishes that make the whole thing bigger, brighter and gloriously groovier than ever. Particular highlights include the numerous new countermelodies that add greatly to the class and variety of the piece; the flawless choice of sounds, all of which accentuate the futuristic vibe of the arrangement to scintillating effect; the entirely new section towards the end which replaces the drum solo, and which feels like a far more natural progression of the track than the original composition did; and the sheer quality of the mix, which is terrifically well-balanced throughout. The inclusion of the wind effect at the beginning and end is a neatly characterful touch, too.

In summary, this is a vastly enjoyable re-imagining of a corking tune that zings with exuberant fun and funkiness and, for me, is cheeringly nostalgic. As the happy recipient of a Cartoon Classics pack during the Christmas of 1991, Captain Planet was one of the first Amiga games I ever encountered – and while it may not have been the most fun to play, it sure did have memorably marvellous music. Hurrah!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by puffy64 (20/01/2015)

Can´t understand, why nobody reviewed this yet?! Well, let´s go:
Dr Future did a very fine job here. In my opinion the sounds are great, the guitars are played with emotions and the whole thing seems to say: I love(ed) this song, Rob\"<img\">
The song starts with decent guitar play and grows on and on, so listener shouldn´t miss the very cool Solopart beginning at 4:30m. Simply great. And I know what I´m speaking of ^^.
The drums are used well and the hihat is what I like most, cause it grooves the tune.
And finally, I love the game samples, which were placed at the right points creating a smile on my face while listening.
Thank you, Dr Future!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Nightmare23 (17/01/2015)

Puffy64 is back and as usual wih some serious shit. As Zoidberg already said: Moar... Moooaaaarrrr....
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/01/2015)

After a 12 year hiatus, Puffy64 and his guitars are BAAAACK!

This is a great hard rock rendition of Druid II. My favorite part is the break (e.g. between 1:18-1:27) that is just spot on. There is a good balance in the arrangement and the mix - I just really like listening to it over and over again.

Welcome back, Puffy64!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (11/01/2015)

A scintillatingly splendid piece of work. It has this fantastically eerie, haunting atmosphere far beyond the Amiga original, while still maintaining a thrillingly dynamic tempo – it could easily be the music from the end credits of some brilliantly spine-chilling horror movie. There are loads of smashingly shivery special touches, too – the melody that comes in from 1.58 to 2.20 sounds like a ghostly choir (with a fittingly metallic quality that suggests it could be the disembodied voices of haunted machinery), the assorted hollow clunks, hisses and clicks worked subtly into the soundscape evoke powerful mental images of being surrounded by the gears and pistons of some huge and sinister contraption, and the deliciously creepy off-kilter pianos that conclude the track are a stroke of genius; genuinely unnerving, somewhat in the vein of the famous Halloween score by John Carpenter, but with a unique flavour all their own. I absolutely adore the whole thing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DJB (26/11/2014)

Unfortunately I can't really give this much credit points. Anyone can use SID2MIDI, but the important thing is (and is what is most noticeable) is when the arranger doesn't double-check the original SID to ensure that all the notes are correct. The program is a really good way to capture the notes, but it doesn't handle slides / glides at all, hence if a song uses them and the notes ain't corrected, it can ruin your cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by speedy (13/11/2014)

Ok, this is a first class orchestral hollywood stuff like Hans Zimmer and Co are doing. If you like orchestral stuff, you will love this remix! Every part flows well into each other. needless to say you want more with every single second. It reminds me to the Pirates Soundtrack which is orchestral rock. Give us more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 59 60 61