Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1832
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

Opens with a very interesting combination of a choir and rough electronica, and later on it sprinkles it with some cinematic orchestra. It all builds up to a crescendo, which is suddenly interrupted by acoustic guitars. Then it resumes the more bombastic style, but we never really get a resolution out of it. Instead the piece just ... ends. I think a bit more cohesion in style would've helped tremendously.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

I am very confused by this remix. Starts out in a very nice, serene oriental style. But that lasts only until about a minute a half when there's an inexplicable change in tone and style to more aggressive electronica. Then I get confused even further when at around 2 minutes the guitars appear. What? Why? By this time the opening oriental style completely disappears in the background. And then all this is capped by the original SID towards the end. Umm, okay... Overall, this tune has all the hallmarks of a decent production, but the minute-by-minute stylistic changes make my head spin.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

A fair shot at a remix, but just as the tune gets real interesting about the 1m mark, it loses its tone in the latter half where it turns into a jumble of style impressiouns that come and go without adding much to the overall flow. The latter half is in my opinion overshadowed by the beat. This is not a bad composition, however it shows how specific minor variations in the choice of f.x. the level of an instrument can have a major effect on the outcome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

Artistically, this must be one among the best that the Remix community has on offer. It's faithful to the original and shows a creative flair in transforming and adding to it in a way that just hits the spot. Where the original tune was relatively fast-paced, Mano pulls its tempo down significantly and in adding new instruments quite different from the game's original two, manages to produce a varied and rich remix with the insert passages going together well with the main tune with only minor spots that stand out. Well done Mano. (edit: 17/7-2018)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by mike_c64 (13/07/2018)

This track made me create an account here, so that I could comment on this one. There are good tracks and then there are really really good tracks...and then, sometimes, once every third year a track like this shows up. I can listen to this like 15-20 times in a row. It gives me that special feeling every time. Thank you Shen Lon.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by jemym (13/07/2018)

For Last Ninja 1, Last Ninja Wilderness in-game is the most popular, having almost as many remixes as the rest of the tunes combined. In that heavy competition, Cytex remix of Last Ninja is the most authentic while still being a darn good remix. If there was ever a "remaster" album of Last Ninja where only one remix per tune is picked, this is a good nominee for the 4th track, and that is a honor.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/07/2018)

The notes are there, the arrangement is fairly faithful to the original, but it just sounds flat and emotionless. The electric guitar and the bass are both rather unexciting, for example. Needs more variation, better mixing, more vibrato, more effects... anything to make it sound more exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

70's Disco Space feeling here. Haha. Surprising style and works perfectly. Really well done. Who would have imagined.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Same midi as the other yes, AND it was made by me by hand in 1999. Now it is all mangled up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Sounds like you murdered my midi from 1999 here. I recognize it even under all these messy samples.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by xgener8or (11/07/2018)

Not pointing fingers here but I think I recognize this midi as the one I made and put out online in 1999. Could be coincidence of course, but I recognize a lot of little details that I did. A bit messy choice of sounds on this also.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/07/2018)

I am somewhat conflicted by this remix. On one hand it has a high level of craftsmanship, showcasing many things (instrumentation, effects, breaks, etc.) modern professional productions tend to have. On the other hand, it feels to me like an ambitious project that falls short of delivering all the goods, especially when it comes to the arrangement. For example: awesome intro, it really got me going! But after the quick break at 0:35 it just continues on in the same style - I sort of expected an explosion of sound at that point. In fact, at 0:56 it adds some brass that sounds cheesy to me. But I kept waiting and hoping - until about 1:30 into the tune when I finally realized this just won't evolve any further. Which is a pity. What's there is unquestionably solid and enjoyable. Its style frequently reminds me of The Alan Parsons Project. But even after listening to it several times, in the back of my mind I just keep wondering: this could've been so much more...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our channel here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJVkKIRVWfI hope you are ok with that!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee69 (30/06/2018)

This is the best by far! These guys have nailed it! Every single tune just screams commodore 64!!! Monty is my favourite though!!! AMAZING!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (27/06/2018)

Johan Andersson brings Zoids to an all new place! It's rockin', it's funky, it's groovy and it's freaking awesome! Bang your head to this!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (15/06/2018)

It's a song of power. Get out of my way until we get shot down. Everyone will die, lose everything, but until then we sing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by firefly c64 (14/06/2018)

This should be the opening song for any party. Kudos Hazel and keep up the really good work. This is awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pornkilla (07/06/2018)

Sounds great and I really love this tune. Perfect, stunning, SWEET! This was a main ringtone in my smartphone for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/05/2018)

Nice arrangement and good sound!!! Keep up the good work!! C64 music is timeless music!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Breadbox Bill (20/05/2018)

An energetic, heavy Remix that leaves me wanting more! Dusty shows remarkable technical skills (1:04 or 3:38 are insanely good!) Awesome guitar tone, amazing bass, great drums, and badass solos! Enough said!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Johnshearing (13/05/2018)

Music from Gilligan's Gold, Kong Strikes Back and Super Pipeline, awesome stuff. Plus one tune I don't recognise! Seamless segues between the tunes as well.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by symbols (08/05/2018)

It's like Mike Oldfield with Heavy Rock! Fastloaders do it again with their rocking skills. Bit short tho.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Umpa (07/05/2018)

Do you have a longer version ? Its just a little too short. Just getting in to it and it ends.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by allannoe (04/05/2018)

Didn't play the game AFAIK.. didn't recognize the tune.. but MAN.. what a tune!!.. pure genius from 2min17sec and forward.. the winning ingredient to me is the excellent bass track... in fact the tune has grown to become one of my all time favorites Ten thumps up from me ..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

Plastic Pop is one of Danko best melody realized onto SID and Mordi had extended it into a song that fit 100% with the original work. I really love the voice applied over the instrumental version. I use this song for phone ring-tone and usually I let it play a lot before answer to the call...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ice00 (30/04/2018)

It extends the Matt original to another level. Vendetta is one of the tune you listen for hours because of its gloomy atmosphere
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frezzno (29/04/2018)

This is an excellent quality mix. So much details perfectly blended together while keeping the old essence of the original tune. Fantastic really, a dynamite! Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Commoflage (28/04/2018)

This is without a doubt the best Spellbound version EVER and quite possibly one of the best C64 remixes in the history of remixes! Superimpressive and an amazing idea perfectly executed. Legendary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 60 61 62