Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1691
[LOGIN]

Review by Lclhstr (19/02/2017)

Northstar is one of the games that didn't get much love from remixers. Possibly because it's pretty short and doesn't fit the usual "let's make it electro-unz". However, it has a good melody and with Infamous' creative take it became accesible to everyone. Good job!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Cyanuric (09/02/2017)

Not my cup of tea, I actually hate this kind of style to music. This and opera. But there is nothing short in your skills in producing music and remixes.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 3

Review by Odkin (08/02/2017)

I'm actually working on a non-SID sounding version. Hope to be ready in a week or so. Link in the detailed description.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by echoxbass (08/02/2017)

Sounds like it was intended loooong time ago. One of my first. Done in AMP as far as i remember.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FreshDemon (29/01/2017)

The mixing is fantastic. Very nostalgic and evocative.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FreshDemon (28/01/2017)

Original-sounding, captures the spirit of the original but also refines it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Garret (23/01/2017)

Nice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice nice
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Isacco1975 (17/01/2017)

I am not familiar with your tunes, but I named this best newcomer to AmigaRemix. Your tunes are amazing and funny. Keep it up! Finally someone remixing rarities. Technically well mixed, balanced and enjoyable sounds. Needs only more information about this stuff . Artistic skill for me is OUTSTANDING. Techique in mixing: VERY GOOD / OUTSTANDING Nostalgia: CAN'T BE DETERMINED. NO INFO ABOUT TUNE.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

This is a nice and slightly less "fearsome" make of its original with a softer impression though highly resemblant of its predecessor, thus not much innovation to show on that front. The technical execution is decent with a few nice twists here and there (which spills somewhat over to the artistic rating), though unfortunately hobbled by that some of the fx nearly mask out each other, which is a shame. The game itself needs no introduction hence the nostalgia factor... and of course it is good to see that Allister is still with us.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts out with a resonating low-frequent buzz effect like how it would be when having your space fighter sucked through a metal pipe with the lethal buzzer at the other end. Signature beat of Stardust kicks in early but unfortunately seems to get muddled by the mixture of its own sound and that of the rest. The transition half-way adds a nice mellow feel and contrast to the intro though unfortunately again let down by the buzzy pulses which blur out some of the impression of the tune. The latter half contains minor though clear resemblances from the Alien Breed intro. Overall, a decent remake with a mix of styles that would have produced a better product had it not been for an unfortunate combination of instruments the characteristics of which muddle the sound image at critical points throughout the tune.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts great as with its original, transitions to a nice rounded beat but then drifts off to chiptune-style warbling which sadly seems out of place with the opener; the remainder being a bland affair.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 3

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

The remix takes us from the pure electro-beat of the early 90s to a good mixture of rock-resemblent sound with some good tempo replacements thrown in together with innovative inserts between the signature elements of the original, in excellent combination. By themselves the components don't seem anything much, but the fusion of all produces a great-sounding, innovative remix of a beloved oldie. The track and the arranger are both minor legends by now. Desert Rocks of Turrican has been re-arranged a multitude of times and is surely one of the fondest remembered tunes from the Amiga era. Daxx - amongst many I must be reasonable to say - has been a loyal and productive member of the remixing community for over a decade and to reproduce this classic in such a way is just brilliant.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Oh how Twintris had my affection back in the day. Not least thanks to the music. Thank you pinozulpo!
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Chris Abbott (07/01/2017)

Terrible sounds. Also, suspiciously reminiscent of my old XG MIDI file which has been on the Internet for about 20 years now.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 2

Review by iXien (29/12/2016)

Well done, all the fun of the original is here with a fantastic guitar to complete it!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Vilesyn (27/12/2016)

Great remix, but very deceiving. The intro felt like I was in for a big surprise, but it didn't set me up for the swing-style I received. I was thinking at least some crazy psycho-mariachi or some sort of edm mix like mariachi zombies, or El Mariachi. The G&G C64 main intro/first stage music was always something I loved as it built me up from a calm collective, to getting ready to impale the undead. This remix didn't do that for me after the intro. Do get me wrong, I still enjoyed it, but the first transition was from a moment of nostalgia to constantly having to piece together the parts in my mind, hoping they would sound familiar again. Don't get me wrong, I love swing as much as a the next guy, but to me it just didn't fit the style of this song, and wanted to give the arranger some constructive critique. Still, I enjoyed this remix quite a bit.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by Vilesyn (27/12/2016)

The integrity and flow of the original was intact, and was extremely entertaining. I really dig the flow and how the arranger kept it "like the original". Realistically, I have no idea why this remix is rated so low, but as a pleased listener I had to register to give this one some well deserved love.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Sanjo Ride (24/12/2016)

Just awesome, one day I'm going to grow up to be you :P Many thx for this awesome remix. Cant wait for what's next Either way, bet its gonna be awesome........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by MatrixRevolution (22/12/2016)

the finals effect 70's style (is it a bass?) take me in the sky!!! One of the best remixer!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Shargo (20/12/2016)

A magnificent piece that just keeps building. Deep lovely foundation, clear strings and sprinkled with electronic touches. Classical music and retro combined
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (24/11/2016)

Well, I think I heared that one first on a burned CD in my car. When I heared it, my chin falls down and I made my stupiest face I'm able to. Wow, absolutely awesome. One of my absolutely favourites. As mentioned already in my Shout: Great Job, Dr Future. This one is better than the instrumental version.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (24/11/2016)

I think I just heared that for the first time, it was just aired at Slay Radio as a request by a listener. My first thoughts were: Ah, a Jarre-ish tune. I changed my mind while listening to "Wow!! Like Jarre himself would play. " Peacemaker, well done. Great Job^^
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by wbdeejay (22/11/2016)

Super fun feel to this version. Great chemistry to the sounds used. The bass line is awesome and creative. It's tricky to end a piece well, and I feel that ending is a minor let-down here, But I can't suggest an alternative. Overall, well done.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

When I heared that tune first, I thought "Commando? In Rock-Style? Impossible, that can't work" Well, I was wrong. It can, Johan, you proved it. Great Job. Well done.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Well, I don't like to say that, but - I don't like that track. Don't misunderstand me - it's not a bad one, but not a good one either. The guitars at the beginning are annoying to me. Johan, as a non-musician but lover of classic-country-music I must say: It's one thing to play a guitar in western style, but another thing to form a good melody with them. I think you understand what I want to say with my poor words. maybe I'm to hard with you now, but I can only speak for me. that track is not one of your best. You've made a lot of tracks, some of them are great. this one here - well, let me say: If it's still WIP, you should overwork it (in my opininon). If it's a final release, you should overwork it (in my opinion). As I said: maybe too hard, my review. But hey: I'm just a listener. Dr Future and LaLa, both musicians, have a different look on this track. My advice: Care about what they say, don't care about what I say. ^^
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

When I was on holiday this year I burned some CDs for the time I drive in my car to the Hotels. This track was on one of them, I think I never heared it before. When that piece started in my CD-Player, I thought "Wow, what's that? Never heared that...woow....awesome...wonderful track, absolutely great...." and so on. I heared it one and a half hour, again and again and again. Even today I heared it...^^ Found Atlantis: Great Job, you made an awesome track. Maybe only for me, but as I like to say "If it's only one who loves what I do, I did it well". Found Atlantis, you did. Thank you for that fantastic track. :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Well, I've heared that tune now two times today. As I said the the Shout: A solid tune. But nothing more. And that's it on the point: I feel there's something missing. Something that makes that piece to an outstanding one, but I've no idea what that could be. There's also something at the beginning. Lello Caliendo, you took something like a wave in the beginning. The sound is going deeper and is raising again (I have problems to say it in a better way, I'm sorry. I'm not a musician, I can't play an instrument, I even can't read a single note... :-( So forgive me for my insufficient explanation). In my opinion this "wave" destroys the beginning. At 1:27 the tune becomes interesting (meant in a positive way) - that leads to my review "A solid tune". I personally wouldn't use the snare drum (I guess it is a snare drum - correct me if I'm wrong). I think, a darker drum would be nice here (once again, I've my problems to find the correct words). Afterall, a good piece, nice to listen to - but not more.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Wonderful remix, lovely chilling tune. When I heared that tune first time (2 minutes ago ^^ ), I thought to myself "Cool, another song for my Bathtube-Playlist". When I'm chilling in my Bathtube I like to listen to relaxing songs and chilling tunes. Believe me: Headbanging to a Metal-Tune while your hair is wet is not so good while bathing - the whole Bathroom will be a mess. So I decided to listen to those tunes I never would listen at work or in my car - chilling and relaxing ones. BTT: Great Job, Captain.....errrr....Dr Future. I love it. ^^
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Megaboost (25/10/2016)

The sound captivates and drags you in slowly and then it hits you in the Sound department FULL ON!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Waxhead (23/10/2016)

Just the guitar, but the guitar got so much character and the rhythm overall is fantastic. Well done! :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57