Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1704
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (20/04/2017)

For me it's impossible to listen to this at anything but full blast. Impeccably arranged, superbly executed. The break at 3:44 is just brilliant. If there's one tiny fault with this remix is that the choir/singing towards the end is barely audible. Other than that, amazing, amazing stuff! You guys have more SID remixes lurking on your SoundCloud page, so please, upload those to RKO, too, don't be shy! :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Snout (17/04/2017)

Very very nice, smooth going, makes time pass while listening in a way that just amkes me go 'mmmh', close my eyes and loll my head around with the tones.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Snout (17/04/2017)

Nice thumping track throughout, not much I can say really, it's a great rework of an already good tune. It's one that will burrow right into your head and be a solid earworm.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Snout (17/04/2017)

There are a lot of (Cybernoid/Thrust/Last Ninja) remixes, most of them great, this one really stood out for me as being a 80s/90s homage. It was like, when the first rush of energy came into the tune, totally 'Power Run' - we've paid for this truckload of synths and by god we're going to use them all in one chord! Really kicked the tempo up a notch.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by bgmnt (06/04/2017)

usually i don't like rock remixes or only a few of them - often they sound cheap or too noisy. but this one, like LaLa shouted, is well packed and stuffed with a lot of things without being annoying. it catched me with its special "drive" and is well produced.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by bgmnt (05/04/2017)

...something very different. i like it very much! all the haters are close minded :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by bgmnt (31/03/2017)

catched me from the first, that's what i love. good for dancing, good für listening in the background - bam!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (31/03/2017)

It definitely has all the sonic signatures of a classic 80s-90s italo disco song. However, I feel like the arrangement never really gets going. For example, after the great build-up of the intro it switches to a quieter sequence at 1:04 - somewhat of a letdown. It builds that one up, but then there's another switch at 2:10, and then yet another at 2:42. Because of all these breaks the tune doesn't feel as high-energy as I think it should. But don't take me wrong, I still like it a lot. ;-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by bgmnt (28/03/2017)

...that 808 (or is it 303?) is drilling in my ears and sets free all the endorphines. great one!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (21/03/2017)

I usually don't comment on tunes that remix SIDs I am not familiar with, but I just had to make an exception in this case. The mix is so buttery smooth, the instrument selection is right on the money, the arrangement is pretty clever (esp. the extended intro)... This entire remix is a finely crafted piece. I admire its beauty, and I appreciate the effort and talent that was poured into it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Uctumi (19/03/2017)

The lead here's got more impact and I think it's a really good decision to keep a c64 lead sound. The bass could maybe have a more polished sound, it's not completely SID-like nor synth sound, it's half way. Specially when it goes down to the lower notes, you can listen how granular it sounds. Overally this is a very enjoyable remix, and I will keep it in my favorites collection!!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by neglesaks (03/03/2017)

This one definately has the Oxygene vibe to it! It's good stuff, soft listening, lower tempo than the original and other remixes. Deemphasizes the original instruments in what turns into a quite fair remix. Whenther or not it is too long is partially a matter of personal taste, but with slow tempo tunes longer durations tend to be necessary to convey the proper feel of the work. Personally I found its duration fine, though the outro needs a bit of work.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by neglesaks (03/03/2017)

Well done compositions both in regards to this original version,which is more electronic-style, and the amended remix which de-emphasises the electronic sound of the original and is more in the line of 'soft listening'. Nostalgia factor high since it is very true to the original and the 2nd version also so even though of its differences.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Lclhstr (19/02/2017)

Northstar is one of the games that didn't get much love from remixers. Possibly because it's pretty short and doesn't fit the usual "let's make it electro-unz". However, it has a good melody and with Infamous' creative take it became accesible to everyone. Good job!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Cyanuric (09/02/2017)

Not my cup of tea, I actually hate this kind of style to music. This and opera. But there is nothing short in your skills in producing music and remixes.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 3

Review by echoxbass (08/02/2017)

Sounds like it was intended loooong time ago. One of my first. Done in AMP as far as i remember.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (07/02/2017)

There's just heaps to love about this gloriously sunshiney little gem of a track. The clever and deceptively low-key opening makes the arrival of the up-tempo main body of the remix all the more delightful and surprising, the instruments used throughout the piece have a sprightly, cheerfully magical quality to them that absolutely matches the atmosphere of the original game, and the melding of the two main in-game tunes is a splendid touch that adds greatly to the fun and variety of the whole piece. Super stuff!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FreshDemon (29/01/2017)

The mixing is fantastic. Very nostalgic and evocative.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FreshDemon (28/01/2017)

Original-sounding, captures the spirit of the original but also refines it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Garret (23/01/2017)

Nice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice nice
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Isacco1975 (17/01/2017)

I am not familiar with your tunes, but I named this best newcomer to AmigaRemix. Your tunes are amazing and funny. Keep it up! Finally someone remixing rarities. Technically well mixed, balanced and enjoyable sounds. Needs only more information about this stuff . Artistic skill for me is OUTSTANDING. Techique in mixing: VERY GOOD / OUTSTANDING Nostalgia: CAN'T BE DETERMINED. NO INFO ABOUT TUNE.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

This is a nice and slightly less "fearsome" make of its original with a softer impression though highly resemblant of its predecessor, thus not much innovation to show on that front. The technical execution is decent with a few nice twists here and there (which spills somewhat over to the artistic rating), though unfortunately hobbled by that some of the fx nearly mask out each other, which is a shame. The game itself needs no introduction hence the nostalgia factor... and of course it is good to see that Allister is still with us.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts out with a resonating low-frequent buzz effect like how it would be when having your space fighter sucked through a metal pipe with the lethal buzzer at the other end. Signature beat of Stardust kicks in early but unfortunately seems to get muddled by the mixture of its own sound and that of the rest. The transition half-way adds a nice mellow feel and contrast to the intro though unfortunately again let down by the buzzy pulses which blur out some of the impression of the tune. The latter half contains minor though clear resemblances from the Alien Breed intro. Overall, a decent remake with a mix of styles that would have produced a better product had it not been for an unfortunate combination of instruments the characteristics of which muddle the sound image at critical points throughout the tune.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts great as with its original, transitions to a nice rounded beat but then drifts off to chiptune-style warbling which sadly seems out of place with the opener; the remainder being a bland affair.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 3

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

The remix takes us from the pure electro-beat of the early 90s to a good mixture of rock-resemblent sound with some good tempo replacements thrown in together with innovative inserts between the signature elements of the original, in excellent combination. By themselves the components don't seem anything much, but the fusion of all produces a great-sounding, innovative remix of a beloved oldie. The track and the arranger are both minor legends by now. Desert Rocks of Turrican has been re-arranged a multitude of times and is surely one of the fondest remembered tunes from the Amiga era. Daxx - amongst many I must be reasonable to say - has been a loyal and productive member of the remixing community for over a decade and to reproduce this classic in such a way is just brilliant.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Oh how Twintris had my affection back in the day. Not least thanks to the music. Thank you pinozulpo!
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Chris Abbott (07/01/2017)

Terrible sounds. Also, suspiciously reminiscent of my old XG MIDI file which has been on the Internet for about 20 years now.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 2

Review by iXien (29/12/2016)

Well done, all the fun of the original is here with a fantastic guitar to complete it!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Vilesyn (27/12/2016)

Great remix, but very deceiving. The intro felt like I was in for a big surprise, but it didn't set me up for the swing-style I received. I was thinking at least some crazy psycho-mariachi or some sort of edm mix like mariachi zombies, or El Mariachi. The G&G C64 main intro/first stage music was always something I loved as it built me up from a calm collective, to getting ready to impale the undead. This remix didn't do that for me after the intro. Do get me wrong, I still enjoyed it, but the first transition was from a moment of nostalgia to constantly having to piece together the parts in my mind, hoping they would sound familiar again. Don't get me wrong, I love swing as much as a the next guy, but to me it just didn't fit the style of this song, and wanted to give the arranger some constructive critique. Still, I enjoyed this remix quite a bit.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by Vilesyn (27/12/2016)

The integrity and flow of the original was intact, and was extremely entertaining. I really dig the flow and how the arranger kept it "like the original". Realistically, I have no idea why this remix is rated so low, but as a pleased listener I had to register to give this one some well deserved love.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57