Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1621 - 1650 out of 1801
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ugly analog base drum taints this otherwise crappy tune. Too bad - it could`ve been less bad. With that base drum it`s downright ugly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Not a bad remix at all, but nothing outstanding. It is a pretty smart remix in the sense that the whole thing fits the mood of the original LN2 tune it remixes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s an okay remix, but I like Chris Abbott`s version better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty faithful to the original, but we`ve heard Lightforce covers like this before... It`s fairly good, though.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s trying to make a pop love-song out of the hi-score tune. I fully expected a singer coming up instead of the lead instrument. ;) (We have to write some lyrics to this song, folks! :-) A little cheesy, but it drew a smile from me. It gets boring in the middle (I think it`s missing a melody line from Monty), then - it switches to Commando hi-score! Ha-ha - great pun!!! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Original SID with breakbeats . Uses the original SID only as long samples in the tune. Two minutes into the tune the solo finally appears, which is not bad. But the tune just goes on and on building on the first few bars of the SID, and never reaches the climax. Murders the original SID. Avoid it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Well, well, this is not exactly how I always imagined this track, in fact, this is totally opposite of that - but it`s f*ing awesome! Okay, okay, I admit: the reason I like this cover is because it sounds so much like one of my favorite composers, Jarre. :-) No, seriously, this cover is a perfect example that we are all different (thank God!), and that two people can interpret the same SID in entirely different ways. And on top if it, it`s very well done, too. Sounds like something right out of Oxygene (or O2 - get it?) or other early Jarre albums. Who would`ve thunk that Zoids could`ve been composed by JMJ?... I am impressed! (Maybe I should play a little prank on the people of the Jarre mailing list and present this track to them as a recently unearthed, so far unreleased early Jarre composition. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty funny. ;) Like it should be! This remix starts out pretty simple, but in the middle there are things added to it that make it into something bigger. I like the use of filtered lead instruments. I quite like this cover!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s always strange to hear Chris Hülsbeck remixes/covers, since we all know his signature style from his CD albums. Per, also take note that Chris never used arpeggios in his remakes like you do in this MP3 starting at 1:30... The cover sticks to the original arrangement (which, IMHO, is pretty good to begin with - any change can only screw it up :-), but overall it sounds a little thin, less bombastic than the original SID. But it`s definitely a keeper.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty much what you`d expect here: starts with string pads, goes on with `fantasia`-style bright pads (possibly some stock sounds from a synth), but the addition of the harp is nice. The middle livens up a little (with stock (?) brass lead), but at that point, it feels like it`s just dragging on. The closing choir is a nice touch again.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A little-known DRAX tune is covered here (hey, it was little-known to me! :-), or shall I say, plagiarized. I just don`t hear what was added to this... this... whatever. I can add reverb and simple drums to SIDs myself, but that wouldn`t make me a good arranger, would it? Same here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Same tune, same arranger, slightly different mix. Same comments, although I like this remix a tad better than the previous one.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A remix of tune #2 with some bits and pieces of the SID left intact. I can`t say I am very impressed by this cover, but it`s not that bad, either, as it has its good moments. Just not many of it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

What an idea!!! Ark Pandora as smooth jazz!! I would`ve never thought about this tune as jazz, but it sounds good! A truly unique cover of this SID! A very skillful cover, shall I say. (A little short, though - I could`ve listened to it for a few more minutes. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rauli (02/02/2003)

Guitar, organ and wishy-washu drums wobbling across the taverna floor. Playful enough to find a place in my heart, but the intro/outro messages are a bit out of place for my taste.

Cheers!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

This tune is just so Pulp Fiction! Listen to the mix, close your eyes and imagine Jules and Vincent readying their guns and approaching their targets who are hiding out in a cheesy nightclub... :-)

This remix has a great 70s feel to it; the timing problems of the distorted guitar may be a little annoying, but all in all they even add to that impression. Very well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

Watch out Massive Attack, cause here comes trip-hop in perfection. Sinister pads accompanied by a dry trippy beat, spiced up by bits and clips from the congo-bongo sid. And when you fall into the mood of this mix, suddenly it gets even better: the guitar kicks in. If you listen to this tune more than once, you'll get hooked to it.

A remix faaar from the mainstream, nevertheless an important addition to RKO. Kudos to Dor-X, propably the most overlooked remixer of the scene! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (02/02/2003)

Totally awesome! Thomas does Vangelis style again. This would fit seamlessly into the Blade Runner soundtrack. The instruments are replicated perfectly, you couldn't tell the tune from a real Vangelis track. The "Cobra" melody is incorporated properly to fit into that mood. I actually haven't heard Sylvester Levay's original, but there's no way it could be better than this!

Thus top smiley for all categories! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (31/01/2003)

Puhh... that's what i call a REMIX !! GREAT STUFF !!
I can't say more , everything is said about this remix !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by pax_deis (31/01/2003)

This is great! I've never seen anything like it!
The fact that you mix the Comic Bakery Theme with Boybands*Cough!**Cough!*
Is actually a great appliance...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ms (31/01/2003)

People know that i am not a dance fan at all, but this is a must-have. Awesome in all three categories the tune is very professional and did not get boring even if it lasts 6 minutes. Ballad,Pop,Dance and Trance arranged with excellent transitions. More than innovative are the voices saying "Back in Time..." in Thanatos melody - stunning !!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

Laserdance meets Markus Schneider, but more powerfull than the original Laserdance sound was. More technoid, but not techno. The deep voice saying "Beyond the Zero" helps the remix not to be lost as instrumental only and marks the stations the BTZ-rhythm-train is visiting. The original SID is different, Sonic has skipped a "boring" part if I remember right.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

My absolute fave of Q´s remixes! The James Last of C64-remixing is Q.
I never imagined Street Surfer could be done this way, with synth-trumpets and this pseudo-big band sound, but it is the ultimate solution.
Good sound quality, volume is a bit low, nice stereo field.
The hammond-organ completes this track, and usually I hate the sound of this organ, but this track makes it sound good.

The reference remix in "I wanna be like James Last" ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

This is the first remix of Q appearing on RKO that has a "James Last"-touch.
The piano playing the melody sounds real, the background is "easy". One of the non-dance/disco-tracks that I like from the artistic aspect. Good sound quality, good mixage.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (31/01/2003)

This is an "Easy listening jazz mix", but not a bad one at all. Minimalistic and somehow "authentic" sounding. No quality flaws.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (30/01/2003)

This is a masterpiece in terms of vocal-FX, directly connected to the heart-beat of the song. You can hear everything that commercial productions feature: phasing echoes, selective auto-de-tuning (the "Cher-effect"), and vocals partly split up into some kind of pizzicato to play a sequence. Bass and beats are well-done disco, not too fast.

Maybe I would listen to the Backstreet Boys if they had DHS do their dance-remixes. And DHS loves his mobile phone ;-)

The reference remix in "dance-track featuring vocals". :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (30/01/2003)

Makke sings "You can take your Quake and go away, I won´t play it anyway"
to the music of Cybernoid 2. This is a great song about the time when playing computer games meant fun, not because of the GeForce rendering that alien in shiny mirror-triple-FX, the game idea just seemed right for itself.
The lyrics are funny, not cheesy, the music is what I´d call slow "Masterboy"-disco with a bit of Apoptygma Berzerk.

Not to forget Makke´s funny intro-speech where he goes back in time
while playing the guitar. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (30/01/2003)

Some patterns from Zak, some IK, plus a stomping disco beat. Easy creation, but it got some nice sounds. Sound quality is not that good. A summary of the melodies you remember from both games. Sounds "phat" in disco terms. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ozzy1 (29/01/2003)

Going for an hour in the gym?
Going for a run in the forrest?
Going sillydancing in the garden?
Going to a crazy "come as you are"-party?

If any of the above, listen to this tune first.

Have a girlfriend? Try NOT having a fun time to this music.

I love it, and so does my bird in the cage (yeah, there is a lot of bird-noices in there).

This remix is what my cbm64 - days was all about. Fun, giggles and more fun!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ozzy1 (29/01/2003)

This is my favourite remix of an old cbm64 game-tune so far.
If Chris Hülsbeck wanted to make the tune in these "we have a lot of memory for a game tune"-times, it would have sounded just like this remix.
The guitar, the bass, the feel and the playfullness is just awsome.
This remix is not for the tecno-people or dancefolks, its for all the rest of us.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61