Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 241 - 270 out of 1760
[LOGIN]

Review by BenDaglish (29/09/2013)

Actually - my technical review is pretty much the same as LaLa's - the actual recorded sound itself could be better, and I'd like to hear more bass maybe, but the arrangement, and playing itself is marvellous. What's nice is that you can tell it's a *live* piece - personally, I'd love to see that performed.In fact, if you chaps ever fancied getting together for a gig...:-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Alcoholocauster (20/09/2013)

Werke der Opernliteratur offenbaren das Innerste ihres Charakters am besten dann, wenn man sie des Mantels repräsentativer Hochkultur völlig entkleidet, wenn man den ganzen angeblich nötigen Apparat zu ihrer Aufführung samt symphonisch besetztem Orchester, schwerem Samtvorhang, Pausensekt und Programmheft weglässt.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (17/08/2013)

Well, first of all, I really admire that you've tackled the entire IK tune, not just a part of it. I also really admire the unbelievable effort that must've been put into this remix, it's obviously a work of love, a work of art. It's a great production with lots of wonderful details.

Having said that, like others, I also think this is not a perfect marriage of source material and style. Maybe it's my existing knowledge about prior IK remixes that gets in the way here, maybe it's the perceived awkwardness of the way the melody is fit onto a swing beat - dunno, but somehow it just doesn't gel together in my brain.

Does it make my legs move? Yes. Does it bring a smile on my face? Yes. Maybe I should just be content with that.:-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Dethme0w (28/07/2013)

I listened to this about 4 times in a row after downloading it. Put on headphones, close your eyes, and you almost think you're in a vast, cavernous cathedral - except they're playing Ghosts & Goblins! All I can say to Isacco Garcia Peveri is: More please!

Note: I have revised my Technical Merit rating down one because I am in agreement with another reviewer that proper organ music does not fade out - it either ends with an eruption of fireworks and awesomeness that leaves you breathless and mindblown (and half-deaf), or walks you and your bleeding heart down a convoluted path of melancholy that leaves you in tears on the final note, which is still as loud and clear as the first. But never fade it out like a cheap early 80's pop single.

Other than that, this remix is made of awesome. More please! (Hint: Galway)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by NecroPolo (27/07/2013)

Time is passing, nice remixes come and go but this one remained 'THE' R-Type remix to me during the years. There are many flavours around but this one still has the best vibe to me. Besides the big picture, it also does so many little things perfectly that makes this track something like a nice rich summer cocktail with an awesome, timeless aftertaste.

Cheers!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (19/07/2013)

I think this is quite possibly the best remix ever done.

Everything is pretty much perfect.

Takes the original and makes is golden.

I don't know how some of you guys only rate this as good for minor things, I've seen good remixes sound nowhere near what this manages to pull off. Good for not being perfect? C'mon!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (04/07/2013)

I'm always glad when a pipe organ remix shows up on RKO because I like organ music, which is why I am probably more picky about it. I see a few issues with this interpretation:

1) It needs a more throaty pipe organ sound. The one you used sounds a bit whiney.

2) The arrangement could be a bit more complex, I'd love to hear this more in the style of Bach.

3) Fadeout with a pipe organ tune? Not a good choice at all. It needs a big, window-rattling crescendo ending!
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Jeroentel (30/05/2013)

This is clearly a very good remix of one of my tunes. The dubstep style is really pleasing to the ears. I only wish that all the original melody notes would have been considered. Right now it's an interpretation, but it still does a lot of justice to the original tune. Way to go druu! :-) Keep 'm coming.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Jeroentel (30/05/2013)

When I started to compose Commodore 64 music I never contemplated that it would have this impact on the world. I was a kid just doing what I loved doing and played around with music on the Commodore 64 SID chip. When a remix tune like this appears I get excited and the kid in me gets goosebumps. I applaud this tune for it's remix value and danceability. Great melodies and awesome beats. Thank you TStorm for taking the time and effort! :-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Alucard (01/04/2013)

This one is difficult to jugde...

Technically, this is top notch. In interpretation, use of instrumentation, executing them the right way and mixing them together. Even the clear and transparent production adds up to it.

Personally, for my taste it is too much stuffed with this wahwahish flanging lead synth. A little bit less of it here and there would have added greatly to the atmosphere of the song.

Although the music isnt really my side of town, i admit that to judge this song fairly i have to put back my personal taste and rely on the overall outstanding technichal part instead. And for that alone, you get the top notch.

I hereby confess i listened to a bunch of Mordi RMXes now and if there is a clearer contestant to ROTY i havent found him yet... ;-)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Alucard (01/04/2013)

This is the reason i subscribed on this site here! I am not a remixer, just a humble user listening to some great music here.

The intro doesnt keep up with the part that begins after it. A little more precision in timing would have been nice. But thats criticism on a high level... comes outta my boxes juicy as hell... and the female spoken parts should have been extended in the rest of the RMX!

This piece made me tap my toes in rhythm. Great work on the dominant drums, extremely spacy feeling with the synths.

Two minutes into the remix the really outstanding part begins... those out of this world intergalactic synths made me feel like i am dancing between the stars... pure eargasm.

I am writing as a humble listener and i enjoyed your work. Great stuff. Thumbs up!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (16/03/2013)

Finally, a remix of this underrated JCH tune! The kick drum has such a punch, it hurt my stomach even thru the headphones! In a good way!:-)

The raspy lead instrument is a bit off-putting. I am not a fan of the arrangement, either, maybe I need to listen to it more to appreciate it.

BTW, did I mention I love the punch of its kickass kick?:-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by ryrynz (01/03/2013)

Melody lead is crap? I don't think so! I'm pretty picky about such things and I feel it suits quite well. There is no denying that the background beat effects are what makes this tune, so punchy, invoking and interesting.

One of my favorite Daxx tunes right beyond his Lotus remixes and Paranoimia. The last minute's synth reminds me a bit of Flashback in some ways which is nice. I think with some tweaking this tune could be amazing but what it is right now I still consider to be top notch, I do wish it had a bit more clarity though,

Daxx, any chance of getting something a little less compressed and in a high bitrate? I want a V2!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (27/02/2013)

I love how this remix progresses it really brings you into the song! Totally mellow but powerful too.

This does the SID proud, it's the best Ocean loader remix so far, yes you have topped Instant Remedy with this one.
I love that it's over 5 minutes long too! And that progression at 3.45,, OMG.

Chick chick chick... CHICK AHHH.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by AdSalusNonAptus (15/02/2013)

This is even better than dubstep commando, brilliant sound, catchy and nice to your mind and your ears (mostly). However there is this problem again - wrong notes and modified harmonies. The latter is propably a matter of taste and its the choice of the author. A more faithful realization would do your tracks some good though.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by LaLa (14/02/2013)

I have just rediscovered this remix (2016 Feb), and man, it totally captivates me! It's been playing on a loop inside my head for days now. The production is topnotch, and it is deeply emotional on many levels. And Zilog is right: there's something Jarre-ish about this remix: that dreamy piano is definitely "Metamorphosis".
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (03/02/2013)

I really dig the space disco style of this remix. This is also definitely better mixed than the 1st version you submitted to RKO.

My most favorite part of this remix is 3:07-3:21 (which also gets repeated a few times later), that chord progressions is spot on.

Maybe the drums could be stronger, I think the snares are especially weak.

I like the arrangement overall, it doesn't get boring at all despite its length. The more I listen to this, the more I like it!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by drm (01/02/2013)

Why do I like this track?
Well it ticks all the right boxes for me in what an electronic piece of music should sound like.
First off there is the lead - it has not been programmed to sound flat and lifeless - it's got a lot of expression in there. The little frills also add character to the lead.

The chords in this track are interesting too and make the hairs on the back of my neck stand up! This remix also has a nod to it's roots by having the 8 bit sounding staccato arp sound running throughout the remix and I like the way it's developed in the fade out - something most remixers would probably have overlooked by just letting it run and fade. I also think this is an outstanding track in that it manages to marry the sound of Jarre and Vangelis in just 3m:22sec. In fact when I first heard the beta release of this I thought Mordi had found an unreleased bootleg Vangelis track!

Well done Mordi I hope one day I can do a remix as good as this one. This is staying on my MP3 player and best of all it was free!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (09/01/2013)

This works so well, it's an amazing tune and all the instruments work perfectly together. I wish it had a bit more clarity and a higher bitrate but I can't complain. One of my favorite remixes , totally hoping for a V2.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Kyusawamura (23/12/2012)

I never played the Amiga but I remember the PC music quite well and the percussion brought me back to the burning sands of Arrakis. ♥ Also, unlike jason_starck I love the Arabian arrangements.
There's something I'm not really okay with though, and it's the many times you repeat each section. It gets to be a little repetitive.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Kyusawamura (19/12/2012)

I agree with LaLa and NecroPolo on quite a handful of notes being out of place, but as a person who appreciates contemporary music and strange harmonies, that's precisely what I find charming about this. I hope those strange notes were intentional, because they produce quite the tension, and that's something to put to good use. If they were a mistake... I have some bad news for you...
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by Digital F X (17/12/2012)

I am a sucker for guitar solos. This one has a great clear lead guitar sound. I loved the original song/game, but this remix fits my likes perfectly. For me, it is the ideal remix. Enough 'poetic license' is taken without removing the nostalgic link.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by WilliamZ (03/12/2012)

Long time Capture player, so I've listened a lot to this music in original form. Monty, you have taken a classic composition and made it into something really special. It has a BIG and unusual sound, keeping the original intentions by the composer. The tune in one of top 5 on Remix. Keep up this awesome work. I hope to listen to more restored Greve Graphics classics in the future.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Kyusawamura (25/11/2012)

I felt something jump in me when I heard Giana Sisters' main melody play~ The leads were a bit behind the padding and all, but it still kept me all cool and wide awake.:-D

I'd say listen to all criticism and use the negative votes to your advantage :3 IMO you did it great but you can always get better ;D
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Kyusawamura (25/11/2012)

I'm going to be honest with you and say that I didn't really like the fact that you used some of FL Studio's default instruments (BooBass and some of the drums including the crash cymbal from the Legacy samples) but the rest of all is impeccable. The earlier two are the only details I would point at, the rest, I'm speechless.

Great job! ♥
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Kyusawamura (25/11/2012)

I liked it very much from the beginning. It reminded me of quite the collection of MOD/XM/S3M/IT songs I had started a few years ago, they were all from the 90's and preferably around '95.

What I did notice was that the main instruments lacked some stereo image, and then the clicks, along with what omoroca said about the excessive reverb. Even so, the lack of stereo image was also one thing to remind me of these particularly heart-warming and nostalgic Modules I had first mentioned.

Unlike hbasm, I would have loved a long loop of this one.

Keep it up~! ♥
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by ryrynz (11/11/2012)

I think this is one of those remixes you're either going to love/like or hate, personally upon listening to it for a bit I couldn't help but grin, the first few seconds give you a good idea of what's to come.
This remix is an audacious cacophony of sound effects as such it's not your typical remix. All caution is thrown to the wind in this all out fart fest which I feel from 0.50 really starts to shine, LOL.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by Comajim (03/11/2012)

Really catchy and groovy remix!! Love it! (but too short!)
Really catchy and groovy remix!! Love it! (but too short!)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Isacco1975 (14/10/2012)

Sorry for my awful english first.
This is a curious remix... A great piece of great techical stuff, very original idea...
I never imagine this song in a western contest...
Good work. Outstanding interpretation, clean mixing. A pleasure to listen many times:-) GET IT
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by zzr (12/10/2012)

Since i'm a big fan of the Odyssey soundtrack, i decided to do my first review on this song. So lets get started.

First off, i find it pretty hard to remix this songs, theyre dense stuff, unlike a lot of much more simple old amiga tunes. props to this remixer for doing this track, and doing it well!

in detail:

Technical impression:
the only flaw i see is the mixing. sometimes its a bit more muddy than it could be, not clearly seperating all the instruments from each other. Leading me to a yellow smiley and the urge to look out for future remixes of this artist wich will surely become more experienced with this.

Artistic impression:
The song is surely well made with a lot of different instruments and fx, wich just suit it very well. From that i see the artist is someone who does music already for a longer time and knows how to place his stuff to make and/or keep the song interesting. Variation keeps coming, while still being on the run, in a solid trancy way. Red smiley for all the nice stuff in this song and the pretty flawless arrangement of all that.

Nostalgia:
Since its a Trance remix, it loses out a bit of the originals relaxing arrangement. Makes up for this with having a solid beatline wich pushes you forward through the track. Orange for that, and for being still very remarkable in comparison to the original Song.

Overall, i actually prefer this version of the odyssey5 from the one made by daXX. thats pretty much why i decided to put my very first review on this track.

Get it, and enjoy it:-)

regards.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 57 58 59