Reviews by ryrynz

Member Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 13 out of 13
[LOGIN]

Review by ryrynz (04/10/2017)

OOOH Yeah, right from the intro.. JAZZY. Sonic Casino vibes, just all comes together real nice.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (17/07/2017)

Things get serious at 5:17, never heard this track before but this remix works very well with this tune. A stand out remix of the year IMO. After listening to this a few times I now would love to hear a similar yet heavier version that goes on for a bit longer after it steps up past 5:17
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (08/11/2013)

Ziphoid hit the nail on the head, I want the epic Turrican chuck in some better mixing too.

Dance intro was okay, enough to get me interested, then at 1.30 The Turrican cometh and I was like I'M FEELING IT, THIS IS TEH TURRICAN And I waited for the continuation of more epicness but then @ 3 mins it was back to dance and I was like OH :'( missed opportunity.

Give me the Turrican feels dude, I know you can do it, just balance it out right, it doesn't quite have the same impact as the original or perhaps quite the same impact I want it to have. I don't think anyone has quite nailed Freedom yet, you might be able to give it the attention it deserves.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by ryrynz (03/11/2013)

Obviously one of the best remixes of this tune ever. No wonder it was used in the Giana Sisters:Twisted Dreams game.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (19/07/2013)

I think this is quite possibly the best remix ever done.

Everything is pretty much perfect.

Takes the original and makes is golden.

I don't know how some of you guys only rate this as good for minor things, I've seen good remixes sound nowhere near what this manages to pull off. Good for not being perfect? C'mon!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (01/03/2013)

Melody lead is crap? I don't think so! I'm pretty picky about such things and I feel it suits quite well. There is no denying that the background beat effects are what makes this tune, so punchy, invoking and interesting.

One of my favorite Daxx tunes right beyond his Lotus remixes and Paranoimia. The last minute's synth reminds me a bit of Flashback in some ways which is nice. I think with some tweaking this tune could be amazing but what it is right now I still consider to be top notch, I do wish it had a bit more clarity though,

Daxx, any chance of getting something a little less compressed and in a high bitrate? I want a V2!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (27/02/2013)

I love how this remix progresses it really brings you into the song! Totally mellow but powerful too.

This does the SID proud, it's the best Ocean loader remix so far, yes you have topped Instant Remedy with this one.
I love that it's over 5 minutes long too! And that progression at 3.45,, OMG.

Chick chick chick... CHICK AHHH.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (09/01/2013)

This works so well, it's an amazing tune and all the instruments work perfectly together. I wish it had a bit more clarity and a higher bitrate but I can't complain. One of my favorite remixes , totally hoping for a V2.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (11/11/2012)

I think this is one of those remixes you're either going to love/like or hate, personally upon listening to it for a bit I couldn't help but grin, the first few seconds give you a good idea of what's to come.
This remix is an audacious cacophony of sound effects as such it's not your typical remix. All caution is thrown to the wind in this all out fart fest which I feel from 0.50 really starts to shine, LOL.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

Review by ryrynz (01/06/2012)

You can't beat Lala's review it covers just about everything. I feel this remix does the original tune more justice than Mordi's version which by all means is great but this needs to sit higher where it is on the charts in comparison so here's my review This blends amazingly well.. I wish it had the clarity of Mordi's version but oh well, love it anyway.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (21/10/2011)

Masterful how apt that word is to this arrangement. My brother does guitar recordings and from the other room he said how good the guitar work was. It's engaging, it's clear and crisp and wonderfully arranged.
You can tell love has been put into this track.
This is as good as they get. Amazing.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by ryrynz (24/08/2011)

Wow what an excellent remix, the intro is a nice touch and everything gels well together.
However.. the low quality really ruins it, it could so be a red but falls short. Please if possible redo it or upload it higher quality.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by ryrynz (20/12/2009)

Wow.. It's beat Rastan as the greatest track of all time on RKO.. quite a feat.

What an amazing tune to listen to, very much reminds me of the Unreal Tournament tracks.

Firestorm, you have created a track which sounds so amazingly professional it really is no wonder it's hit number one.

I very much look forward to similar remixes from you in future.. Well done.

There needs to be a new smiley made for this track.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1