Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 170
[LOGIN]

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

I've never been a fan of remixes or remasters where you can clearly hear the original tune playing in the background as a "sound carpet" and then adding modern sounds on top of it. Whether this track does that or not is actually hard to say, but for the first 30 seconds or so it absolutely sounds like the original track just overlayed with some synths and then the guitar coming in. The guitar playing itself is accurate and follows the melody competently, but it lacks something engaging. It's clear that it's trying occasionally to make something outside of a middling recording, and those moments are absolutely great! It just feels like there could be more to really carry this beyond "ok" into great. Adding in the back synths at about 2 minutes helps in lifting it and here the guitars portamento becomes more clear and helps lift the track, but again the mixing makes it muddy and takes the edge of the sounds, further pushing it towards flat and bland. I think it's a great attempt and I still do enjoy it, but it could be so much better and lively. This is just my personal opinion however. Don't be discouraged! And don't pass up listening just because some old grump has some complaints. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

Following on the intro, I was hesitant to really call it great and was about to give it a lower score than I ultimately did. The solid 80's tracker-style drums really meshed perfectly with the synths and sounds chosen for the pad, the lead and everything, leading to a piece that is greater than a sum of its parts. I definitely enjoyed it, and it manages to capture the essence and dream-factor of the original. It could be more engaging and technically complex, but overall I think it was very good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MoonshineFox (30/07/2018)

It's a good remix insomuch as it's professionally put together. I don't find it overly engaging personally however. It's lacking something to make me really jump on it. I can't tell if it's in the mixing or the arrangement or if it's simply not to my taste, but it feels somewhat bland. (It might also be my lack of nostalgia for the game, as I really never got into the Chuck Rock series). Overall technically good, mixing is a bit muddy and song is very well arranged.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

A fair shot at a remix, but just as the tune gets real interesting about the 1m mark, it loses its tone in the latter half where it turns into a jumble of style impressiouns that come and go without adding much to the overall flow. The latter half is in my opinion overshadowed by the beat. This is not a bad composition, however it shows how specific minor variations in the choice of f.x. the level of an instrument can have a major effect on the outcome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (14/07/2018)

Artistically, this must be one among the best that the Remix community has on offer. It's faithful to the original and shows a creative flair in transforming and adding to it in a way that just hits the spot. Where the original tune was relatively fast-paced, Mano pulls its tempo down significantly and in adding new instruments quite different from the game's original two, manages to produce a varied and rich remix with the insert passages going together well with the main tune with only minor spots that stand out. Well done Mano. (edit: 17/7-2018)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by RETR-O-MAT (01/07/2018)

We found this to be so good we had to feature this song on our Youtube channel :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Umpa (07/05/2018)

Do you have a longer version ? Its just a little too short. Just getting in to it and it ends.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frezzno (29/04/2018)

This is an excellent quality mix. So much details perfectly blended together while keeping the old essence of the original tune. Fantastic really, a dynamite! Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

This song make me cry for emotion ... I love this track and back my mind to 90s
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ZXDunny (10/03/2018)

The use of strings rather than the pipes evokes more of a Scottish theme than Egyptian, and that's no bad thing - pipes are generally overused and Desert Dreams was no exception. This is every bit as epic as the original and a real accomplishment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by alankila (06/03/2018)

I listened to this track and the original Amiga track from Barry Leitch, and created a piano score that is bit of a hybrid between the two. https://bel.fi/alankila/sheet-music/HeroQuestIngame.pdf I like this soulful, expressive arrangement a lot. It must have been decades since I heard the original Barry Leitch Amiga version, and I had forgotten most of it. I was surprised to discover that much of this track is directly lifted from the Amiga mod. It felt just impossible considering how mechanical the Amiga track sounds like! This piano arrangement is stunningly emotional and fantastic reinterpretation of the mood of the song. It calls in mind something similarly absolutely beautiful, perhaps Tim Forsyth's Flight Path 737 comes close (and which can be heard elsewhere on this site). In fairness, the original material is severely constrained technically because of its small file size and long play length that requires a slow tempo, and it uses just 3 channels, leaving one for the sound effects of the game. I guess the composition is also a tad simplistic, mostly using just 2 chords and rhythmically nothing more complicated than eighth notes, though I admit that they are placed very nicely. I hope the piano score is useful for someone. The directory contains the MuseScore 2 project file as well, if someone wants to take a look at that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/02/2018)

a tune for all space synth freak out of the globe!! Daxx stands for quality music! ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chrisjc (14/02/2018)

Well done at going the extra mile to sample the original instruments, it sounds awesome
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

So sad that I've missed this tune for so many years! Some great sound in this remix, good mixing, and a terrific vibe, though it loses some of its "oomph" around 3:35. Outro still manages to be decent. I'm torn in my verdict, in it being true to its original, it doesn't go "full techno", but if it did it would have been an absolute beast that would go straight onto my all-time list of favorites. I also suspect that some of the demoscene groups (Farbrausch for one) have found inspiration in this tune in the prods of the late 00's.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

This is a medley of different attempts at remixing the awesome old Silkworm tune and not a single track by itself. The individual subtunes are interesting with clear overall sound and show artistic skill and ability to experiment. Malone never fleshed these out into actual tunes of their own thus we never get beyond this disjointed mix which is quite sad! Some great potential for remixes here! Plus, it's baffling to me that there are no other SIlkworm remixes to be found here on this site. How is this even possible?!?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Aki remade this remix two years before from the submittion date of of its "v1.1" and while this remix is a bit less experimentative than its successor, it has a more consistent beat and vibe and simply comes off better. Nice tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

An odd and daring approach to on good 'ol DR. Interesting choice of instruments but while the body has massive potential with its electro-rock vibe, the instruments get terribly muddled and spoils the core of the tune in part due to the mixing which remains a problem in the latter half. Fix the that and you'd have half the work done towards what might have been a truly kick-ass track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Simple but good "electro"-style remix of DR. Slightly weak intro but good body with a decent beat and a choice of instruments that delivers a faithful recreation with "oomph" added.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A simple remix production of the good 'ol DR. Barely any deviation at all from the original which in itself is not a problem but with this specific choice of instruments some of which are muddled and even blurry in their appearance it doesn't come off well and with the somewhat abrupt outro spoils the overall impression of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A Desert Rocks remake which is artistically inspired and faithful to the original, but technically flawed. Some transitions could be done better and are jarring to the ear. The composer attempts melding techno and a trancey- beat together but seems to lose track of what style he should be sticking to as the tune progresses and the 'vibe' ends up a bit confused. Some alterations would make a significant difference.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dravion (08/02/2018)

Keep up the good work. Remindes me of all the good Amigatimes. Amiga had simply the best tunes. PC was not bad to but Amiga was the best
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kikstart (20/01/2018)

this track is very trancey.. love it :) well worth downloading every amiga or music retro owner should listen to..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This remix is The definitive one to go by of the ones available on AMIGAremix/Remix64. The instruments are very well chosen, the tune and beat is essentially unchanged from the original but while this isn't a factor that would ordinarily speak in favor of the composition, it works remarkably well for the new choice of instruments, and the outro properly nails it for this beutiful recreation. Well done, Espen! (I really thought I had already reviewed this but to my embarassment it seems I never left even a comment until now.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This might have been a fresh "trancey" take on SC2 theme but is unfortunately let down by that the electro-style instruments lacks definition to my ear and is closer to a buzzing noise than an actual instrument, plus that they are simply overpowering the rest of the soundstage. The outro is odd and hollow.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

A good and faithful remake on the original. The original tempo and drumtracks are preserved, with some tweaks to the instruments used during intro and outro. Compared to other remixes or the original for that matter it does have a bit less bass-audio dominant but it's fine with a bit of "easy listening".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/01/2018)

Hands down my favorite Mordi tune (which is saying a lot since I love a great deal of his work). I love everything about this arrangement. Sounds like an old sea shanty, which is fine since I grew up in the Maritimes in Canada. Top notch.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

I liked this song on Amiga 28 years ago... and this is really a nice remix without invent some strange thinks to make the remix different from original. It's sounds modern but i recognize the style of the original and the melody here is really amazing with as background an very nice harmonic line. No other remix are present here so max vote for the effort of the author!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

Not agree with daXX. Seems that was made disharmonic not as mistake but as imitation of the orginal an little bit distorted sound of the Amiga version. If found genial the smooth shift to an similar song Blood Money. I found also Worldcup 90 here, same author, and the sound is perfect. So the disharmomic stuff should be here intentional.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ghydda (15/10/2017)

The sound/vibe coming through my speakers are terrific. Really sets a nice ambient mood. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (03/09/2017)

This is a brilliant remix of the original, keeping to the original style, but with modern instruments and high quality. Exactly what Amiga Remix is all about. Very well done, seems a little faster than the original but that's OK.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6