Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 164
[LOGIN]

Review by Umpa (07/05/2018)

Do you have a longer version ? Its just a little too short. Just getting in to it and it ends.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Frezzno (29/04/2018)

This is an excellent quality mix. So much details perfectly blended together while keeping the old essence of the original tune. Fantastic really, a dynamite! Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mensox (06/04/2018)

This song make me cry for emotion ... I love this track and back my mind to 90s
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ZXDunny (10/03/2018)

The use of strings rather than the pipes evokes more of a Scottish theme than Egyptian, and that's no bad thing - pipes are generally overused and Desert Dreams was no exception. This is every bit as epic as the original and a real accomplishment.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by alankila (06/03/2018)

I listened to this track and the original Amiga track from Barry Leitch, and created a piano score that is bit of a hybrid between the two. https://bel.fi/alankila/sheet-music/HeroQuestIngame.pdf I like this soulful, expressive arrangement a lot. It must have been decades since I heard the original Barry Leitch Amiga version, and I had forgotten most of it. I was surprised to discover that much of this track is directly lifted from the Amiga mod. It felt just impossible considering how mechanical the Amiga track sounds like! This piano arrangement is stunningly emotional and fantastic reinterpretation of the mood of the song. It calls in mind something similarly absolutely beautiful, perhaps Tim Forsyth's Flight Path 737 comes close (and which can be heard elsewhere on this site). In fairness, the original material is severely constrained technically because of its small file size and long play length that requires a slow tempo, and it uses just 3 channels, leaving one for the sound effects of the game. I guess the composition is also a tad simplistic, mostly using just 2 chords and rhythmically nothing more complicated than eighth notes, though I admit that they are placed very nicely. I hope the piano score is useful for someone. The directory contains the MuseScore 2 project file as well, if someone wants to take a look at that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by TbB (21/02/2018)

a tune for all space synth freak out of the globe!! Daxx stands for quality music! ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by chrisjc (14/02/2018)

Well done at going the extra mile to sample the original instruments, it sounds awesome
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

So sad that I've missed this tune for so many years! Some great sound in this remix, good mixing, and a terrific vibe, though it loses some of its "oomph" around 3:35. Outro still manages to be decent. I'm torn in my verdict, in it being true to its original, it doesn't go "full techno", but if it did it would have been an absolute beast that would go straight onto my all-time list of favorites. I also suspect that some of the demoscene groups (Farbrausch for one) have found inspiration in this tune in the prods of the late 00's.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

This is a medley of different attempts at remixing the awesome old Silkworm tune and not a single track by itself. The individual subtunes are interesting with clear overall sound and show artistic skill and ability to experiment. Malone never fleshed these out into actual tunes of their own thus we never get beyond this disjointed mix which is quite sad! Some great potential for remixes here! Plus, it's baffling to me that there are no other SIlkworm remixes to be found here on this site. How is this even possible?!?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Aki remade this remix two years before from the submittion date of of its "v1.1" and while this remix is a bit less experimentative than its successor, it has a more consistent beat and vibe and simply comes off better. Nice tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

An odd and daring approach to on good 'ol DR. Interesting choice of instruments but while the body has massive potential with its electro-rock vibe, the instruments get terribly muddled and spoils the core of the tune in part due to the mixing which remains a problem in the latter half. Fix the that and you'd have half the work done towards what might have been a truly kick-ass track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

Simple but good "electro"-style remix of DR. Slightly weak intro but good body with a decent beat and a choice of instruments that delivers a faithful recreation with "oomph" added.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A simple remix production of the good 'ol DR. Barely any deviation at all from the original which in itself is not a problem but with this specific choice of instruments some of which are muddled and even blurry in their appearance it doesn't come off well and with the somewhat abrupt outro spoils the overall impression of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (10/02/2018)

A Desert Rocks remake which is artistically inspired and faithful to the original, but technically flawed. Some transitions could be done better and are jarring to the ear. The composer attempts melding techno and a trancey- beat together but seems to lose track of what style he should be sticking to as the tune progresses and the 'vibe' ends up a bit confused. Some alterations would make a significant difference.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dravion (08/02/2018)

Keep up the good work. Remindes me of all the good Amigatimes. Amiga had simply the best tunes. PC was not bad to but Amiga was the best
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Kikstart (20/01/2018)

this track is very trancey.. love it :) well worth downloading every amiga or music retro owner should listen to..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This remix is The definitive one to go by of the ones available on AMIGAremix/Remix64. The instruments are very well chosen, the tune and beat is essentially unchanged from the original but while this isn't a factor that would ordinarily speak in favor of the composition, it works remarkably well for the new choice of instruments, and the outro properly nails it for this beutiful recreation. Well done, Espen! (I really thought I had already reviewed this but to my embarassment it seems I never left even a comment until now.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This might have been a fresh "trancey" take on SC2 theme but is unfortunately let down by that the electro-style instruments lacks definition to my ear and is closer to a buzzing noise than an actual instrument, plus that they are simply overpowering the rest of the soundstage. The outro is odd and hollow.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

A good and faithful remake on the original. The original tempo and drumtracks are preserved, with some tweaks to the instruments used during intro and outro. Compared to other remixes or the original for that matter it does have a bit less bass-audio dominant but it's fine with a bit of "easy listening".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/01/2018)

Hands down my favorite Mordi tune (which is saying a lot since I love a great deal of his work). I love everything about this arrangement. Sounds like an old sea shanty, which is fine since I grew up in the Maritimes in Canada. Top notch.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

I liked this song on Amiga 28 years ago... and this is really a nice remix without invent some strange thinks to make the remix different from original. It's sounds modern but i recognize the style of the original and the melody here is really amazing with as background an very nice harmonic line. No other remix are present here so max vote for the effort of the author!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

Not agree with daXX. Seems that was made disharmonic not as mistake but as imitation of the orginal an little bit distorted sound of the Amiga version. If found genial the smooth shift to an similar song Blood Money. I found also Worldcup 90 here, same author, and the sound is perfect. So the disharmomic stuff should be here intentional.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ghydda (15/10/2017)

The sound/vibe coming through my speakers are terrific. Really sets a nice ambient mood. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (03/09/2017)

This is a brilliant remix of the original, keeping to the original style, but with modern instruments and high quality. Exactly what Amiga Remix is all about. Very well done, seems a little faster than the original but that's OK.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dravion (04/08/2017)

I played this Game on Amiga I was able to playit to the ende without trainer but it wasnt easy. This, Turrican, Seven Gates of Jambala POW was one of the most played Games in this times.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (08/07/2017)

.., but the mixing isn't that well done and it has a background hiss that puts me off. While boasting an interesting choice of instruments that has big potential this remix is not that inspired. With a few tweaks it could be a lot better. Oh, and again this is one of the classic shoot-em-up tunes that has ONLY ONE remix submitted. Come on people... (updated 10 feb / 2018)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (07/07/2017)

A tune that is calm, upbeat, and easy to listen to, though quite simplistic. Fine to have in your play-list.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Lonax (28/06/2017)

Haunting, brings back memories of great home computing, when anything was possible. Simple, uncluttered melody with good use of synth sounds, its easy to go over the top and ruin things, but this one doesn't, keeps it simple without being overly repetitive. Very well produced and brings back some happy memories.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Eclectic (27/05/2017)

Hi brother!! Perfect orchestral arrangements and sound, everything is so nicely done it almost sounds like is being played by a real orchestra! I love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (07/02/2017)

There's just heaps to love about this gloriously sunshiney little gem of a track. The clever and deceptively low-key opening makes the arrival of the up-tempo main body of the remix all the more delightful and surprising, the instruments used throughout the piece have a sprightly, cheerfully magical quality to them that absolutely matches the atmosphere of the original game, and the melding of the two main in-game tunes is a splendid touch that adds greatly to the fun and variety of the whole piece. Super stuff!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6