Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1724
[LOGIN]

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This remix is The definitive one to go by of the ones available on AMIGAremix/Remix64. The instruments are very well chosen, the tune and beat is essentially unchanged from the original but while this isn't a factor that would ordinarily speak in favor of the composition, it works remarkably well for the new choice of instruments, and the outro properly nails it for this beutiful recreation. Well done, Espen! (I really thought I had already reviewed this but to my embarassment it seems I never left even a comment until now.)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This might have been a fresh "trancey" take on SC2 theme but is unfortunately let down by that the electro-style instruments lacks definition to my ear and is closer to a buzzing noise than an actual instrument, plus that they are simply overpowering the rest of the soundstage. The outro is odd and hollow.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 3

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

A good and faithful remake on the original. The original tempo and drumtracks are preserved, with some tweaks to the instruments used during intro and outro. Compared to other remixes or the original for that matter it does have a bit less bass-audio dominant but it's fine with a bit of "easy listening".
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by bgmnt (14/01/2018)

Erm... Dunno exactly what this is and the beats on the first part are pretty monotone like in a medley and I was not aware of the name JT until today I must confess and I only knew these two tracks/remixed separately, so i was not sure about this. But: This mixing is so straightforwarded and dynamic and propelling and mixed flawlessly - and at least hyped by the community... It catches you, at least, even in the last minute :) And since it has the perfect length for DJs, who need a long piece of sound for going to the restrooms without relying on automix... thumbs up! :D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (10/01/2018)

It's always a treat to listen to a SID composer's own remake of his old tune - and this one goes way beyond being just a treat! Even without your "cue-list", the music here clearly tells a whole story, and it is, indeed, very cinematic - from the melancholic intro through the quiet but nervous anticipation in the middle to the cheerful ending. The introduction of the harpsichord (or dulcimer?) at 1:21 is an unusual and rather unique touch. I quite like it! This is a memorable arrangement for sure. Its only fault is the sudden ending - sounds like there was more to come, but it was faded out...
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/01/2018)

Hands down my favorite Mordi tune (which is saying a lot since I love a great deal of his work). I love everything about this arrangement. Sounds like an old sea shanty, which is fine since I grew up in the Maritimes in Canada. Top notch.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Hutch75 (07/01/2018)

My favourite comic book hero and one of my fave games of all time done justice.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Hutch75 (07/01/2018)

Atmospheric.Transports you to a time long ago. Not just the eighties! Very professional and slick.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by L0rd3vyL (04/01/2018)

An awesome remix of two Rob Hubbard masterpieces done by a legend in his own right. Excellence indeed.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by kacper077 (28/12/2017)

This is song for me :) Lol exellent . nice nice . I set this song to my alarm in t h e p h one !
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by wobbler (23/12/2017)

Yes, unz:y as hell. But there's something I can't put my greasy finger on that I lack in this arrangement. Maybe something in the choice of sounds? Or not.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by LaLa (01/12/2017)

For a "Newcomer" this Jeroen guy sounds pretty good to me. Not bad for a first remix, not bad, sir!... Just kidding! :-D Bow to the master! Bow to the master!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Viking73 (01/12/2017)

Really Cool Mix of two awesome Tunes from Mr. Hubbard!!! I Really Like That kind of sound! Keep going this way! Thanks for your great Job.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Gique (01/12/2017)

Slamming and nostalgic by the bucketload! Makes me happy to hear the old school guys are still going at it with max enthusiasm.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by RobyOneKenoby (01/12/2017)

This sound rocks ... just another wonderful work of Mister Tell .... what else ?
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Elrinth (01/12/2017)

I'm a big fan of JT. This tune is no different from his other master pieces. It combines great mixing with amazing drive. Blending two classics together works perfectly this time with a seamless combination.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by symbols (21/11/2017)

Exactly how my mind hears this track!! Now to write at least 15 words that I cannot think of because I just think it rocked mate!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by DatLicht (21/11/2017)

One of the best remixes ever heard. Perfect mixture of present and past in a quality that a 'real' band couldn't perform better on stage. Absolutely amazing!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by bgmnt (11/11/2017)

i like, how it builds up and gets faster. great opening track for a dj set :D
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by bgmnt (08/11/2017)

for such a fast arrangement it is very cool and far away from these cheap and cheesy dancefloor beats. and a good variety of sounds and effects. thumbsup :)
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Ghydda (08/11/2017)

Clear vibrant sound - the intro is especially catchy and the bass later on has a really nice rhythm.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (03/11/2017)

Ok, that is hard for me to rate. First: is this music? Well, not for me. Maybe for others (at least one has given the red button, so there must be at least one who finds it awesome - but I have no idea why...), but for me it's a sample of noise. Sorry, Colmarr, but I have the feeling I have to be totally drunk or stoned to understand that track. If so, I screwed up - I never drink alcohol or took drugs. Second: this should be a remix, just because it's submitted to remix64. Where's the original? Maybe someone can give it to me so I can compare the original to this remix. Sorry, so far it's just average to me.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 1
Overall: 3

Review by Grigul (03/11/2017)

well, first of all - thanks for sharing, omoroca. this tune is much better than the other ones you've submitted so far. I heared it now several times. I have the feeling that you are in a state of learning how to create a track. Especially the last minute gives me that feeling, it sounds like "what can I add, what happens, when I press THIS or THAT". Besides that, the section from 2:30 to 4:00 is good. You should take that and try to create a good tune. The first part up to 2:30 sounds like somebody who just started to learn how to play an instrument. Ergo: average tune, better than the other ones you've shared. Good middle section. Don't be too disappointed, see it as another step to a good tune.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 3

Review by Grigul (03/11/2017)

When I heared that track (must be yesterday) I thought "Woooow". I'm still at that state - it's an awesome track. The bassy (or dark played) electric guitar (the one you hear first) and it's slow play are wonderful. Mr Olsen - great job!!!^^
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (02/11/2017)

First of all - thanks for charing that tune, Mr. Gantar. Afaik you're a newcomer, so we all know it's hard to come into this scene. I'm not a musician, so I can't imagine how much work it needs to deliver a tune here, but - It needs a better job to compete here, that's what I can say as "Just-a-listener". I don't want to compare you, Mr Gantar, to other musicians and remixers here (that would be unfair in my opinion), but If you listen to them (especially to those who have also a yellow button or better) you hopefully recognize that they're better. A lot of them are for years in that scene, some even longer. Try to get next to them, or just in range. Sounds easy, but is hard, very hard work for you. Please, Mr Gantar, try it.^^
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by Grigul (02/11/2017)

Yeaaahh...finally another LPChip tune. A nice interpretation of Last Ninja 2. I personally like the "Sid overdrive mixes" by LP Chip, but - exactly that is the reason why I can't give a red button. This tune reminds me strongly to other Sid overdrive mixes, so it is not a surprise, it's not something fresh or new. I hope, LPChip, you understand, what I mean. So finally: A very good track, I like it. Thanks for charing, LPChip. ^^
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

I liked this song on Amiga 28 years ago... and this is really a nice remix without invent some strange thinks to make the remix different from original. It's sounds modern but i recognize the style of the original and the melody here is really amazing with as background an very nice harmonic line. No other remix are present here so max vote for the effort of the author!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

Not agree with daXX. Seems that was made disharmonic not as mistake but as imitation of the orginal an little bit distorted sound of the Amiga version. If found genial the smooth shift to an similar song Blood Money. I found also Worldcup 90 here, same author, and the sound is perfect. So the disharmomic stuff should be here intentional.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by Vred (31/10/2017)

Hearing haunting Halloween-Sounds with some scary screaming the tune creates a monster-mashing mood. Interrupted by a breathless break which brings a delightful dark doomsday-feeling the tune only misses some cute crazy cats with multiple meows or ordinary owls using u-uuuus. Happy Halloween !!;-)
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 5

Review by guru512 (29/10/2017)

sounds like a MOS6581 on steroids. very well done! 1488! We must secure the existence of our people and a future for white children.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 56 57 58