Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 1696
[LOGIN]

Review by bgmnt (28/03/2017)

...that 808 (or is it 303?) is drilling in my ears and sets free all the endorphines. great one!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by LaLa (21/03/2017)

I usually don't comment on tunes that remix SIDs I am not familiar with, but I just had to make an exception in this case. The mix is so buttery smooth, the instrument selection is right on the money, the arrangement is pretty clever (esp. the extended intro)... This entire remix is a finely crafted piece. I admire its beauty, and I appreciate the effort and talent that was poured into it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Uctumi (19/03/2017)

The lead here's got more impact and I think it's a really good decision to keep a c64 lead sound. The bass could maybe have a more polished sound, it's not completely SID-like nor synth sound, it's half way. Specially when it goes down to the lower notes, you can listen how granular it sounds. Overally this is a very enjoyable remix, and I will keep it in my favorites collection!!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by neglesaks (03/03/2017)

This one definately has the Oxygene vibe to it! It's good stuff, soft listening, lower tempo than the original and other remixes. Deemphasizes the original instruments in what turns into a quite fair remix. Whenther or not it is too long is partially a matter of personal taste, but with slow tempo tunes longer durations tend to be necessary to convey the proper feel of the work. Personally I found its duration fine, though the outro needs a bit of work.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by neglesaks (03/03/2017)

Well done compositions both in regards to this original version,which is more electronic-style, and the amended remix which de-emphasises the electronic sound of the original and is more in the line of 'soft listening'. Nostalgia factor high since it is very true to the original and the 2nd version also so even though of its differences.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Lclhstr (19/02/2017)

Northstar is one of the games that didn't get much love from remixers. Possibly because it's pretty short and doesn't fit the usual "let's make it electro-unz". However, it has a good melody and with Infamous' creative take it became accesible to everyone. Good job!
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 5

Review by Cyanuric (09/02/2017)

Not my cup of tea, I actually hate this kind of style to music. This and opera. But there is nothing short in your skills in producing music and remixes.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 2
Overall: 3

Review by echoxbass (08/02/2017)

Sounds like it was intended loooong time ago. One of my first. Done in AMP as far as i remember.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Matt Smith (07/02/2017)

There's just heaps to love about this gloriously sunshiney little gem of a track. The clever and deceptively low-key opening makes the arrival of the up-tempo main body of the remix all the more delightful and surprising, the instruments used throughout the piece have a sprightly, cheerfully magical quality to them that absolutely matches the atmosphere of the original game, and the melding of the two main in-game tunes is a splendid touch that adds greatly to the fun and variety of the whole piece. Super stuff!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FreshDemon (29/01/2017)

The mixing is fantastic. Very nostalgic and evocative.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by FreshDemon (28/01/2017)

Original-sounding, captures the spirit of the original but also refines it.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Garret (23/01/2017)

Nice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice niceNice nice nice nice nbice nice nice nice nice nice
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Isacco1975 (17/01/2017)

I am not familiar with your tunes, but I named this best newcomer to AmigaRemix. Your tunes are amazing and funny. Keep it up! Finally someone remixing rarities. Technically well mixed, balanced and enjoyable sounds. Needs only more information about this stuff . Artistic skill for me is OUTSTANDING. Techique in mixing: VERY GOOD / OUTSTANDING Nostalgia: CAN'T BE DETERMINED. NO INFO ABOUT TUNE.
Technical Impression: 5
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

This is a nice and slightly less "fearsome" make of its original with a softer impression though highly resemblant of its predecessor, thus not much innovation to show on that front. The technical execution is decent with a few nice twists here and there (which spills somewhat over to the artistic rating), though unfortunately hobbled by that some of the fx nearly mask out each other, which is a shame. The game itself needs no introduction hence the nostalgia factor... and of course it is good to see that Allister is still with us.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 4

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts out with a resonating low-frequent buzz effect like how it would be when having your space fighter sucked through a metal pipe with the lethal buzzer at the other end. Signature beat of Stardust kicks in early but unfortunately seems to get muddled by the mixture of its own sound and that of the rest. The transition half-way adds a nice mellow feel and contrast to the intro though unfortunately again let down by the buzzy pulses which blur out some of the impression of the tune. The latter half contains minor though clear resemblances from the Alien Breed intro. Overall, a decent remake with a mix of styles that would have produced a better product had it not been for an unfortunate combination of instruments the characteristics of which muddle the sound image at critical points throughout the tune.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts great as with its original, transitions to a nice rounded beat but then drifts off to chiptune-style warbling which sadly seems out of place with the opener; the remainder being a bland affair.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 3

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

The remix takes us from the pure electro-beat of the early 90s to a good mixture of rock-resemblent sound with some good tempo replacements thrown in together with innovative inserts between the signature elements of the original, in excellent combination. By themselves the components don't seem anything much, but the fusion of all produces a great-sounding, innovative remix of a beloved oldie. The track and the arranger are both minor legends by now. Desert Rocks of Turrican has been re-arranged a multitude of times and is surely one of the fondest remembered tunes from the Amiga era. Daxx - amongst many I must be reasonable to say - has been a loyal and productive member of the remixing community for over a decade and to reproduce this classic in such a way is just brilliant.
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Oh how Twintris had my affection back in the day. Not least thanks to the music. Thank you pinozulpo!
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 3
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 4

Review by Chris Abbott (07/01/2017)

Terrible sounds. Also, suspiciously reminiscent of my old XG MIDI file which has been on the Internet for about 20 years now.
Technical Impression: 2
Artistic Impression: 1
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 2

Review by iXien (29/12/2016)

Well done, all the fun of the original is here with a fantastic guitar to complete it!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 6

Review by Vilesyn (27/12/2016)

Great remix, but very deceiving. The intro felt like I was in for a big surprise, but it didn't set me up for the swing-style I received. I was thinking at least some crazy psycho-mariachi or some sort of edm mix like mariachi zombies, or El Mariachi. The G&G C64 main intro/first stage music was always something I loved as it built me up from a calm collective, to getting ready to impale the undead. This remix didn't do that for me after the intro. Do get me wrong, I still enjoyed it, but the first transition was from a moment of nostalgia to constantly having to piece together the parts in my mind, hoping they would sound familiar again. Don't get me wrong, I love swing as much as a the next guy, but to me it just didn't fit the style of this song, and wanted to give the arranger some constructive critique. Still, I enjoyed this remix quite a bit.
Technical Impression: 3
Artistic Impression: 5
Nostalgic Impression: 3
Overall: 4

Review by Vilesyn (27/12/2016)

The integrity and flow of the original was intact, and was extremely entertaining. I really dig the flow and how the arranger kept it "like the original". Realistically, I have no idea why this remix is rated so low, but as a pleased listener I had to register to give this one some well deserved love.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Sanjo Ride (24/12/2016)

Just awesome, one day I'm going to grow up to be you :P Many thx for this awesome remix. Cant wait for what's next Either way, bet its gonna be awesome........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by MatrixRevolution (22/12/2016)

the finals effect 70's style (is it a bass?) take me in the sky!!! One of the best remixer!!
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Shargo (20/12/2016)

A magnificent piece that just keeps building. Deep lovely foundation, clear strings and sprinkled with electronic touches. Classical music and retro combined
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (24/11/2016)

Well, I think I heared that one first on a burned CD in my car. When I heared it, my chin falls down and I made my stupiest face I'm able to. Wow, absolutely awesome. One of my absolutely favourites. As mentioned already in my Shout: Great Job, Dr Future. This one is better than the instrumental version.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (24/11/2016)

I think I just heared that for the first time, it was just aired at Slay Radio as a request by a listener. My first thoughts were: Ah, a Jarre-ish tune. I changed my mind while listening to "Wow!! Like Jarre himself would play. " Peacemaker, well done. Great Job^^
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by wbdeejay (22/11/2016)

Super fun feel to this version. Great chemistry to the sounds used. The bass line is awesome and creative. It's tricky to end a piece well, and I feel that ending is a minor let-down here, But I can't suggest an alternative. Overall, well done.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 5
Overall: 5

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

When I heared that tune first, I thought "Commando? In Rock-Style? Impossible, that can't work" Well, I was wrong. It can, Johan, you proved it. Great Job. Well done.
Technical Impression: 6
Artistic Impression: 6
Nostalgic Impression: 6
Overall: 6

Review by Grigul (22/11/2016)

Well, I don't like to say that, but - I don't like that track. Don't misunderstand me - it's not a bad one, but not a good one either. The guitars at the beginning are annoying to me. Johan, as a non-musician but lover of classic-country-music I must say: It's one thing to play a guitar in western style, but another thing to form a good melody with them. I think you understand what I want to say with my poor words. maybe I'm to hard with you now, but I can only speak for me. that track is not one of your best. You've made a lot of tracks, some of them are great. this one here - well, let me say: If it's still WIP, you should overwork it (in my opininon). If it's a final release, you should overwork it (in my opinion). As I said: maybe too hard, my review. But hey: I'm just a listener. Dr Future and LaLa, both musicians, have a different look on this track. My advice: Care about what they say, don't care about what I say. ^^
Technical Impression: 4
Artistic Impression: 4
Nostalgic Impression: 4
Overall: 4

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57