Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 316
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (15/03/2019)

The vocoder vocals are pretty cool, although a bit hard to understand, because the syllables are too distinct, too robotic, there's no flow to it. The rest of the track could've used some spicing up, but overall, it's a decent remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/03/2019)

As a big Jarre fan I am actually in awe of how you managed to stuff Thrust into the framework of Oxygene! I think the magic act starts to fall apart a bit halfway through, but then it picks up again and finishes elegantly. Really nicely done, sir, my hats off to you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/03/2019)

Boy, I'm very torn about this remix. I like so much about it, but I think all that goodness is lost in the lackluster mixing. The intro: fantastic instrumentation, immediately sets a grungy, dystopic mood (actually, it reminds me of "They Live" for some reason). But then at 0:32 the punchiness of the bass disappears as the other instruments come in. The electric organ at 0:55 would be brilliant - but it's barely audible in the mix. The lead coming in at 1:10 is also too soft and remains so for the rest of the tune. So, again, brilliant ideas, a very good arrangement - but this just screams out for a better mix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/02/2019)

You have a beautiful voice (I'm assuming it's you singing, Lea...), so you should flaunt it: you should bring it more to the front in mixing. Especially when more instruments start playing and when you add reverb to the vocals, it becomes harder to understand the lyrics, because your voice gets lost in the mid-frequencies. Otherwise, I really like how you enhanced the vocals with various techniques throughout (layering, vocoder, chorus, etc.), the production quality is top-notch, the arrangement is outstanding, the instrumentation is spot-on. I really like the filtered intro, too, that's very modern of you. :) A fantastic debut on RKO, I hope to hear a lot more from you!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

What a wonderful journey you've taken us on with this epic piece! This sounds bona fide professional. I can't even imagine the time and effort it must've taken you to create this Times Of Lore mashup! What can I say - THANK YOU!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/01/2019)

I didn't think your superb symphonic remix from 16+ years ago could be made any better. I was wrong, so wrong! The flute sounds just wonderful (makes me wonder if it was written with Ben in mind...), the choir sounds even more emotional, and the dynamic flow of the arrangement makes it sound very cinematic. I really like the parts where the melody line quickly switches between the various sections of the orchestra. Even though it sounds similar to your previous Firelord arrangement, it's clearly very different - and even better. I'm sure somewhere up above Ben is listening to this, too, with a big smile on his face...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/12/2018)

Very soundtracky, a perfect homage to Rob's classic. It doesn't fall into the trap of some other remixes that are also technically excellent, but tend to get boring as the tune goes on. Instead, Markus managed to inject several careful changes into the arrangement and instrumentation that keep the momentum going while also keeping with his chosen style for the remix. Your "love affair" with Lightforce, Markus, really shines through! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/12/2018)

A valiant mega-effort which is brought down by a few serious issues. The arrangement is varied enough to keep my interest up throughout the remix, but some odd dissonant sections, questionable choice of instrumentation, and sorely lacking post-processing make it sound worse than it really should.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (26/10/2018)

Loved it the first time I heard it at Árok Party 2018! Then I was thrilled that we were able to include it in the Johannes Bjerregaard charity album. And I am very delighted it is now available on RKO, too. It's an amazing remix of a much underrated JB tune. It has, of course, received proper NecroPolo treatment with overdriven and distorted sounds, containing so much SID-caffeine that it pumps me up every time I listen to it. ROC=K ON, C=ommodore!!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (13/10/2018)

I encouraged Vaggelis in a YT comment to upload his remix here, too - and I'm glad he did! What I really like in this remix is that he actually plays every single note of the original on his guitar: the devilishly fast runs, the slides, the arpeggiated non-melodic effects - I'm in awe of his technique!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

Opens with a very interesting combination of a choir and rough electronica, and later on it sprinkles it with some cinematic orchestra. It all builds up to a crescendo, which is suddenly interrupted by acoustic guitars. Then it resumes the more bombastic style, but we never really get a resolution out of it. Instead the piece just ... ends. I think a bit more cohesion in style would've helped tremendously.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2018)

I am very confused by this remix. Starts out in a very nice, serene oriental style. But that lasts only until about a minute a half when there's an inexplicable change in tone and style to more aggressive electronica. Then I get confused even further when at around 2 minutes the guitars appear. What? Why? By this time the opening oriental style completely disappears in the background. And then all this is capped by the original SID towards the end. Umm, okay... Overall, this tune has all the hallmarks of a decent production, but the minute-by-minute stylistic changes make my head spin.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/07/2018)

The notes are there, the arrangement is fairly faithful to the original, but it just sounds flat and emotionless. The electric guitar and the bass are both rather unexciting, for example. Needs more variation, better mixing, more vibrato, more effects... anything to make it sound more exciting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/07/2018)

I am somewhat conflicted by this remix. On one hand it has a high level of craftsmanship, showcasing many things (instrumentation, effects, breaks, etc.) modern professional productions tend to have. On the other hand, it feels to me like an ambitious project that falls short of delivering all the goods, especially when it comes to the arrangement. For example: awesome intro, it really got me going! But after the quick break at 0:35 it just continues on in the same style - I sort of expected an explosion of sound at that point. In fact, at 0:56 it adds some brass that sounds cheesy to me. But I kept waiting and hoping - until about 1:30 into the tune when I finally realized this just won't evolve any further. Which is a pity. What's there is unquestionably solid and enjoyable. Its style frequently reminds me of The Alan Parsons Project. But even after listening to it several times, in the back of my mind I just keep wondering: this could've been so much more...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/04/2018)

Lots of very nice touches here: 1) great use of the choir, 2) really like that robotic-vocoder sound effect that can be heard occasionally, 3) the variations starting at 1:44, 4) the solid rhythm and bass track throughout. Some stuff I am not fond of: 1) the thin lead from 1:19, 2) the arrangement becomes a bit repetitive as the tune progresses. Overall, it's obvious a lot of time was spent on this beauty, definitely a keeper!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/03/2018)

Strap yourself in for a 2+ minute intro before you hear a single note of Roland's Ratrace, but it's all in glorious synthwave style, which is all the rage today, and since I'm a sucker for those (with all their 80s nostalgic syrupiness) , this put a big smile on my face.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/03/2018)

First off, I think the title of this remix should be corrected: this is a remix of Jeroen Tel's Eliminator subtune #2. Yes, that one is based on Gyroscope, too, but it continues the melody line - which this remix does, too, and in the same way. As for the contents of this remix, the kick drum is way overpowering. Compress it or at least soften it in the mix. The choice of instruments is also extreme: lots of high-end, lots of low-end, almost nothing in the middle. Also, there's no ending - the tune just stops abruptly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (03/03/2018)

Very original for a Spellbound remix! Its style is a mashup between flamenco, Caribbean pirate, and a bit of Mexican mariachi, but in high-quality and in good taste. Really, really good job, Mano!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/02/2018)

It's a nice retrofuturustic treatment of Hubbard's track. The mix heavily favors the high-end throughout, which bothers me a bit. The arrangement really gets going after the full set of drums come in at 1:53, that got my hopes up high. However, the chords at 2:46 sound odd to me, both in texture and pitch, and they broke the illusion a bit. The entire track reminds me a lot of Tangerine Dream's albums from the 80s, which I think is the style Strange Days was actually going for. Nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (10/01/2018)

It's always a treat to listen to a SID composer's own remake of his old tune - and this one goes way beyond being just a treat! Even without your "cue-list", the music here clearly tells a whole story, and it is, indeed, very cinematic - from the melancholic intro through the quiet but nervous anticipation in the middle to the cheerful ending. The introduction of the harpsichord (or dulcimer?) at 1:21 is an unusual and rather unique touch. I quite like it! This is a memorable arrangement for sure. Its only fault is the sudden ending - sounds like there was more to come, but it was faded out...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/12/2017)

For a "Newcomer" this Jeroen guy sounds pretty good to me. Not bad for a first remix, not bad, sir!... Just kidding! :-D Bow to the master! Bow to the master!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/04/2017)

For me it's impossible to listen to this at anything but full blast. Impeccably arranged, superbly executed. The break at 3:44 is just brilliant. If there's one tiny fault with this remix is that the choir/singing towards the end is barely audible. Other than that, amazing, amazing stuff! You guys have more SID remixes lurking on your SoundCloud page, so please, upload those to RKO, too, don't be shy! :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (31/03/2017)

It definitely has all the sonic signatures of a classic 80s-90s italo disco song. However, I feel like the arrangement never really gets going. For example, after the great build-up of the intro it switches to a quieter sequence at 1:04 - somewhat of a letdown. It builds that one up, but then there's another switch at 2:10, and then yet another at 2:42. Because of all these breaks the tune doesn't feel as high-energy as I think it should. But don't take me wrong, I still like it a lot. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/03/2017)

I usually don't comment on tunes that remix SIDs I am not familiar with, but I just had to make an exception in this case. The mix is so buttery smooth, the instrument selection is right on the money, the arrangement is pretty clever (esp. the extended intro)... This entire remix is a finely crafted piece. I admire its beauty, and I appreciate the effort and talent that was poured into it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (23/08/2016)

Several problems here: the arrangement tries to be orchestral, but the individual instruments are not played the way a real orchestra would (the strings are especially cringe-worthy). The arrangement is rather thin to begin with and relies too much on timpani to drive it. The female vocal is a nice touch, although it, too, sounds bad when it's pitched too low or too high. There is also little dynamics in the arrangement which makes the entire tune sound flat.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (30/11/2015)

What a wonderful, clean arrangement: not a single note that's wasted, not a single note that's useless. But what really makes this remix is the lyrics: it's a mix of touching eulogy and techno-romance that may not seem so out of place today in the age of smartphones and smart TVs - but this began 30 years ago when it was not fashionable and commonplace to be glued to computer screens. One cannot be NOT moved by the lyrics, and, of course, by the synthesized voice that "sings" it: that unmistakable Commodore speech engine. My only technical note is that I wish the voice was put more in front of the rest of the mix. A remarkable piece of nostalgia. Dziekuje, Tomasz!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/11/2015)

I find the intro more promising than the rest of the remix, which at 0:52 becomes just one of many LN2 remixes. There are a few cool ideas lurking in it, though. The most intriguing one is the "whispering voices" part after 2:12, that's very creative. I really want to like this remix so much, but it isn't fleshed out as well as it could've been.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/01/2015)

After a 12 year hiatus, Puffy64 and his guitars are BAAAACK!

This is a great hard rock rendition of Druid II. My favorite part is the break (e.g. between 1:18-1:27) that is just spot on. There is a good balance in the arrangement and the mix - I just really like listening to it over and over again.

Welcome back, Puffy64!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2014)

First off, I don't know what this tune has to do with TMR, it's clearly a Last Ninja 3 subtune #10 remix. TMR's SID remix of it is not even the same subtune (that's #6)... Anyhoo...

Love the guitar work, really deep, great riffs, well mixed. The drum pattern is too simple, though, that needs work.

I like the light break in the middle, but overall I have mixed feelings about the arrangement, it sounds a bit confusing.

All in all, pretty good job, hope there's more to come!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (25/03/2014)

This is a very admirable effort, I quite like its emotional bend, and how this piece intentionally lives within its self-imposed limits.

What I miss is more dynamicity: I don't feel much difference between the sections that were probably intended to be forte and the softer sections. For example, towards the end at around 4:32 I think it should get louder, more forceful in a crescendo fashion to finish it off with a bang.

Also, this sounds more like a chamber string quartet than a larger string orchestra to me, but now I am really nitpicking.:-)

Great piece of music, thanks for sharing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11