Reviews by LaLa

Member Profile

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 454

Login

Review by LaLa (05/10/2021)

As happy as I am to finally hear a remix of this almost-forgotten Jeroen Tel tune, this one leaves me a bit unsatisfied. The simplistic arrangement is obviously intentional, but it feels to me there's a "real" remix waiting to burst out of it - but it never does. Too bad, because it really has all the elements that would make it great - we just don't hear them all together at the same time.

The whistling towards the end was a pleasant surprise, even if it's a bit out of tune here and there, but that just makes it sound more real. πŸ˜‰

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (29/09/2021)

This remix creates a really nice atmosphere right out of the gate. It's a nice mixture of gentle mystery and a subtle, creepy background. But... just when I am about to get into it, it ends. More, please!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/09/2021)

Wow, quite an honor to see Skaven's name pop up here - a legend all by himself! It's actually kinda funny to see the moniker "Newcomer" next to his name (at the time of this writing) - which he most definitely isn't. 😁

He has graced us with his first ever SID remix submission - and what a remix it is! A hybrid symphonic-electronic cinematic style tour-de-force. It's 6+ minutes long, but there's not a single boring moment in it. My favorite is probably the super-raspy brass from 2:23 - holy moly, that just cuts straight through to my bones!

An absolutely jaw-dropping production, just top-notch. Love it. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ Welcome, Skaven, and I hope you'll take the time to create more SID/Amiga remixes in the future, too!

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/09/2021)

Welcome to the remix community, Ramjet! πŸ™‹β€β™‚οΈ

A fairly straightforward cover of the classic SID, closely following the original's arrangement. So, nothing to complain about there.

What's missing here is some sophistication in the instrumentation. I don't know if that was deliberate, but they all sound fairly flat with little movement, other than some reverb that got sprinkled around.

I'd say pretty good for a newbie, so keep at it!

Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/08/2021)

Tim must have a built-in awesomizer. Somehow he was able to take an iconic Galway tune and make it even better. We don't even get to hear the iconic lead until 3 minutes into the tune, but it's not like it's all boring up to that point, on the contrary. And that lead: why mess with perfection, just use the SID as-is! And then he goes into his now-signature improv section that always elevates his remixes to new heights, and it's no exception here. I'm absolutely blown away by this remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (22/08/2021)

While sonically perfect, it feels like this remix is trying to compress about 10 minutes worth of musical material into 3.5 minutes of a whirlwind. I get it, that was the time limit of the Árok compo, but it makes the arrangement feel a bit too mishmashy to me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/08/2021)

Overall, not bad, good use of the double guitars hard-panned left and right, but let me point out a couple of issues with this remix:

1. The intro (and the outro) is nice, but the licks really have nothing to do with the rest of the track, so they are a strange bookend.

2. The guitar lead starting at 2:01 (and @3:25) sounds extremely flat, void of any articulation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (14/08/2021)

The mix is all over the place, the rhythm guitars are especially muddy. Got some nice ideas in there, but I think this track should've spent more time in the mixing department for polishing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/08/2021)

Kudos for picking an obscure little-known tune for your remix! The arrangement is not exactly sophisticated, but it's charming. Great choice of instruments. Looking forward to more productions from you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/08/2021)

Perfect marriage of original SID and remix musical style! Finally, something different! Very nicely done.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/08/2021)

Still sounding great after all those years! This has everything: multiple Hubbard tunes, hip-hop beat, Commodore ad samples, and "lyrics" that only a true C64 geek can understand.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (17/07/2021)

Mordi has the mordifier, Slaygon has the slaygonizer. A larger-than-life cinematic version of a SID subtune that is less than 30 seconds long - it has been slaygonized. Dark and gritty, grandiose and in-your-face. If they ever make a Hollywood epic about MicroProse Soccer, this should be its title tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/07/2021)

The issues with this remix are multi-pronged. While the original SID has a great hook, its overall arrangement is just nonsensical and mish-mashy. Unfortunately, that arrangement is followed here way too closely. Second, sounds like a lot of parts were based on a straight SID2MIDI conversion: they are lifeless, and barely add anything to the original arrangement. Third, while individually the instruments probably sound fairly decent, together they just don't convey any emotion - it's like robots playing them from a set score. 0supereg0 - I know you can do better than this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/07/2021)

A gritty, industrial approach to this oft-remixed theme, in an 'extended cut' style. I quite like the arpeggiated sequences, too.

But I think the real highlight of this remix is the clever re-arrangement of the tune, I really appreciate the effort that went into that. The more I listen to it, the more I like it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/07/2021)

Wow, perfect marriage of original SID tune and remix style! Dig the electric piano 🎹 bouncing all around the stereo space. Dig the trumpet 🎺, too. Dig the sweet, sweet deepness of that bass 🎸, hotdamn! Digging the entire piece, period. ☺️ Wish there was more vocal πŸ‘„ shouts, though (like that "oh-oh" early on).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/07/2021)

It's a good arrangement, I like the guitar work, but the mix sounds somewhat muddy, its clarity is not as good as it could've been, IMHO. I get it, it's a live recording, but it could've used some cleanup in post.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/07/2021)

Welcome to the remix community, Tamas!

This was his entry to the 20th Anniversary remix compo, and I think it gives Johan Andersson a good run for his money. 😁 The intro sounds a lot like a lullaby, very nicely done there. But then it quickly transitions to a a full arrangement, which sounds lively and joyful. A great debut, I quite enjoy it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/06/2021)

Wow, I also can't believe nobody has remixed this tune before! 😲 The drums really drive the energy in this remix, maybe a bit too much so. Lovely reverb on the lead synth! The guitar sounds too synthy to me, maybe adding more articulations to it could've helped fool my ears. Good choice of SID, great remix!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/06/2021)

I really, really like the 70s funk feel of the intro (reminds me of those 70s cop TV shows), too bad it's not carried forward to the rest of the tune. Also, I keep missing the "...immediately!" from the speech samples, it just doesn't feel complete to me without that, and it drives me nuts! Am I the only one? :) Other than that - top-notch stuff yet again from Johan.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (16/06/2021)

First of all: welcome, TweakerRay!

I like this remix from several aspects, but it feels more like an "enhanced SID" to me due to the overwhelming presence of SID-like sounds and SID arpeggios and whatnot. Nothing wrong with that (we like SID sounds!), it's just... largely the same as the already outstanding original SID tune. I like the atmosphere in this remix, I like the sounds - but I also liked those in the original, and here it's not much different. I guess, in summary: plus points for execution, minus points for lack of originality.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (27/05/2021)

What a great remix! πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘Yet again, Tim hits it out of the ballpark. The first half of this remix is a pretty amazing remix of the SID itself. Then Tim decided to add a second half consisting of his improvs and variations - and it sounds fabulous! Definitely has undertones of Jarre in there (Zoolook, Revolutions), and it's done very elegantly. Well done, Tim, well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (25/05/2021)

What a great collaborative remix! Andreas on the drums goes crazy as usual. :-) Necro is smoking hot on the guitar, Laxity kills it on the keyboards, Marc on the bass just kicks ass... Well done, everybody! Personally, I think it deserved to finish higher in the Remix 64 20th Anniversary Compo, but at least I can give it all the red smilies I want right here. :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (21/05/2021)

Wow and holy s**t and whoa!!! People, we need a new smilie: a red smilie is just not good enough any more to express how excellent this is! We need a flaming red smilie for this one! The compo version you submitted to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo was already good enough for 3rd place there, and that had "only" a Mordified synth lead. Here with the sweet, sweet vocal you just elevated this remix to a whole new level. Sounds like those singing lessons Lea gave you have paid off - your voice has improved a LOT, Mordi! ;-)

I don't know who came up with the "pop song lyrics" (you, Mordi, or Vir, the singer), but it's absolutely fitting. And you did a fantastic job dressing up the solo vocal with harmonies and effects. I just can't say enough good things about this remix! Superb!

I think from now on when people chuckle at me that I am totally into remixes of nerdy Commodore-64 SID tunes, I will just show them this song and I'll enjoy watching their jaws drop. Suck it, non-nerds!

#DemandAFlamingSmilie
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

I quite like it! A mostly guitar-based arrangement with additional synths. It all blossoms into a nice groove which keeps the tune going. Then there's a nicely positioned break, then the groove picks up again... All in all, it's very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

This is a remix of two personalities. I quite like intro where you went in the opposite direction of the usual horror-themed remixes and created a more mellow choral piece. The electric bass guitar shattered that serenity - but then you went back to being mellow with the flamenco guitar (?). This constant flip-flopping in the arrangement was an odd choice, IMHO. I can't really decide whether that's a good thing or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

Pretty danceable, I like the groove you developed for the remix. But I think it falls short in the mixing department: the overall sound is too 'airy', too 'light', rather than 'edgy' and 'punchy', which is what I would've expected based on the arrangement. Too bad, because you have some really creative ideas sprinkled throughout the remix (like the vocal-based bass starting at 3:08).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (15/05/2021)

Very nice guitar licks in the intro. The complete lack of legato in the singer's voice is rather off-putting, though. Then comes a pretty good beat overlaid with some okay-ish instrumentation. Overall, not bad, some neat ideas in it here and there - but not very exciting for me, either.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

I was fortunate enough to be able to listen to this remix as soon as it was uploaded to the Remix64 20th Anniversary Compo. I listened to it at least 10 times in a row right away. And I still keep listening to it - I just love it! The arrangement is simply amazing, especially considering how differently the original SID was arranged by Rob. The instrumentation is also spot on, and I just can't stop bobbing my head to this tune! It's a wonderful mix of disco, 80's orchestral pop and modern-day synthwave. I'm sure this remix has its flaws, but I'll let other people find those this time - I'll just keep enjoying this remix day after day!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

Italo Disco style - me like. All the sounds - me like. Except one: the cough. OK, I get it, that's a rip, too, and a signature sound of this style, but along with the subtitle "Italian Infection", personally, I find it distasteful in this age of the pandemic and not funny at all. Remove that, and you get a red smilie.

PS: I had a little chat with Wobbler which made me realize that I apparently misunderstood the message he tried to convey with this remix. It wasn't meant to make fun of the Covid pandemic at all. I'm writing this here in the hopes that nobody else will think of this remix that way, either.

I wish your wife a speedy and full recovery, Wobbler!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (06/05/2021)

This remix reminds me of a finely woven tapestry where each strand, each color, each motif was made with the utmost care to ensure that when you step back and look at the entire piece, it remains a beautiful piece of art. All the nuances, all the articulations must've taken Tomsk a long time to get just right in this mostly orchestral remix, from the guitar to the strings, from the piano to the flute. I think the choice of the waltz-like, but 4/4 based rhythm was a fine one, too. I really like what I am hearing here!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 14 15 16