Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 2071 - 2100 out of 2293

Login

Bruce Chop (Bruce Lee) - arranged by Rasmussen

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

SID2MIDI the original, then make some weird selections for the instruments. It gets rather noisy in the middle as a new instrument comes in. Dirty samples? Synth-heavy remix, a bit minimalistic, like the original.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Aztec Challenge (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

The soundtrack version on BIT2 - awesome. The horror movie version on Nexus - pretty good, but not as good. For the same reason, I am not fond of this one, either. The lead guitar later on sounds really good, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Fantastic transition from Aztec into Thrust. Now *this* Hubbard tune was a perfect choice for this band! Alright, so the keyboard player had a tad of stage fright when starting out (and later on, too 😒 ), but everything else went very nicely. Great use of flange/vibrato and wah-wah effects on the lead guitar for this track!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Outrun (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Strange and strangely placed sound effects, but hey, they are good enough for me! Starts out with the original tune, then it goes into an extensive improvisational part, then switches back to the original. I think this tune would sound a tad better with acoustic guitars, but again, PPOT did a great job with this cover. Also, this is another almost flawless performance.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Warhawk (Encore) (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Wowee!!! Awesome beginning! I vote this for the best Warhawk beginning ever! Yet another perfect tune for PPOT's setup. Again, here and there I discovered those... ahem, artistic choices😉, but much less than in other covers. Very well performed, too. It's another favorite of mine from the concert! (Also dancey - my feets are moving when I'm listening to this, that's for sure.)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (Encore) (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I'm glad they did it, because for some reason this one sounds better than when they first played it. Practice makes perfect, I guess. =) Sounds more heavy, really aggressive - like it should. Has a better flow to it. Well, in one word, it's better, period.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery - arranged by Red Devil

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

So many people tried to cover this famous tune in so many ways, but I don't think that even one of them managed to do it well. I think, precisely because this is such a well-known tune, it's hard to cover it or please people with a remix of it. I have never liked the idea of turning it into a pop/disco/fast beat tune, and Red Devil chose to do that, although the middle part of his remix sounds better to me. Guitars, pianos, base guitars - you name it, it's all in here. Maybe that's why I don't quite like it - it tries to be everything when it's not.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 3 (Ninjha mix) - arranged by Red Devil

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It would be extremely hard for anybody to top Reyn's own cover of the intro tune, but Red Devil has tried to do just that. Did a fairly decent job, for that matter (I really like it when the flute plays the lead in the middle part!), but I think this cover sounds a bit too much like Reyn's own version with strings, piano, choir, flute. Yes, Red Devil added his won twists to it, but I still feel this is a copycat effort, although a really good one.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

VoidNoid - arranged by trauma

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A strange short mix of Arkanoid and The Last V8 with a trendy electro-techno feel to it. I can imagine a long C64 megamix in the same style but this one is too short.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Jones (Funky Jones RMX) - arranged by Slumgud offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Do you know the feeling when you hear an excellent joke the second time, and it's just not that funny any more? That's how I feel about this remix. Sure, it was fun to see that DJ make an ass out of himself admitting that his hit is a C64 cover, but I think we are all over that by now. Sure, it's funny to start this house remix with that shouting male crowd, but it's just not that funny any more.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Special Agent 2001 - arranged by JB

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Now, if you want to top Reyn Ouwehand, this is how you do it!!! Concise and very professional. That's all I will say about it. Holy sh*t, it's just awesome!!! …
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 3 (tune 7) - arranged by Ferrara

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Another XM-MP3 conversion from Ferrara. Another nice one from him, somewhat similar to his LN3 tune 8 cover. The soul of the original is there, which I like.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

MicroProse Soccer Intro: Smooth FeekZoid Mix - arranged by FeekZoid

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

One of my fav tunes is the MPS intro. While I really like Feekzoid's covers, I think his style doesn't fit at all here. MPS intro is a more upbeat tune, with raw, harsh sounds. I think, Feekzoid felt this, too, as he completely cut out the last 30 seconds of the original tune from his cover. It's just not there. Don't get me wrong, this is an awesome piece of music, it's just not what I feel should've been done for this SID.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bad Cat 99 - arranged by Frank Veeltmann offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Some out of tune stuff in the lead at around 1:30 minutes into the cover and on (I mean, the difference between the original SID and this cover is just really audible here and it doesn't sound good to my ears at all), but other than that, I don't think Chris Hülsbeck could've done a much better job himself (well, okay, maybe *he* could've . Samples from the original SID (or the Amiga version?) and more samples that I am familiar with from Amiga MODs can be heard in it. Nicely mixed with an in-your-face attitude (thus, following the SID original well , a good direct cover. Very disco-like (again, like the original). What can I say - I like it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

International Karate '99 (remastered) - arranged by Ferrara

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I have reviewed this already (around Aug. 2, 2000). The remastering brings more crispiness and better overall sound quality to this cover (duh! , but musically, I still have the same opinion about it. Not quite good enough to be very good, but it gets my recommendation.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Starforce Fighter - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Here's what I wrote about it before: another obscure SID, this time by Wally Beben. But here, Makke's cover enhances the SID a lot without adding anything annoying to it. What can I say - I like it! There are some technoish sounds in it, some ambient sonic landscapes, and they work together well.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (sadness mix) - arranged by DjLizard offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Annoyingly high-pitched bells are starting out this cover, but it quickly recovers from it. It's a pretty unique take on this tune, discovering it from a completely new angle, which I think is a plus. But I think it's not developed quite to the potential it demonstrates.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

(Remix deleted)

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

He-he, this is quite funny. I'd recommend you to download it just for its comedic value. =] (It's a pretty small MP3 file, too.)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Archon - arranged by Plough offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Let me put it this way: this is not what I hear when I listen to the SID. That doesn't mean this cover is bad, in fact, I quite like its wobbly bass line, although overall, it's a bit on the simple side.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Exploding Fist - arranged by OJ Oscillation

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I dunno. I think, Reyn Ouwehand created the ultimate cover of this tune (or a portion of it) in his Asian Legends track on his Nexus album. This one tries a similar approach with guitars, pianos, strings, etc., but the overall result is not that great. It also gets a bit boring as it goes on, as nothing changes in the cover.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Why Me - arranged by Oedipus

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Covering an obscure tune by DRAX. Well, obscure to me: the first time I heard this SID was today when I searched for it in HVSC before listening to this cover... I think a saxophone would've worked better for the lead, as this tune has that jazzy feel to it, too. Otherwise, it's as average as the original SID.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ice Age - arranged by Oedipus offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Cover of a SID I am not familiar with (read: have not heard it before HVSC came along). So, not much I can say about this one. It definitely sounds better than the previous ones by Oedipus, but again, I am not blown away by it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Eliminator (edit) - arranged by Oedipus

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Ouch. That was my first reaction to this cover. Now that I listened to it 2-3 times, my reaction is still ouch, but with less pain. Using esentially the same instrumentation as for the above 2 covers by Oedipus, what worked for Ark Pandora doesn't work for Eliminator. Also, Oedipus, have you ever heard of a technique called pitch bending? And why on Earth did you castrate this tune to a length of about 3:30? (Although I have to admit: Jeroen's original SID does tend to get a bit boring and monotonous toward the end.) Choices that I do not like. Still, it's a nice effort and has its moments (esp. when those funky short chords kick in here and there), and I'm glad somebody had the guts to make a cover of it. I just wish it was done better.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Warhawk - arranged by Q

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

We've all heard Warhawk covers before. In fact, BIT2 has an excellent Warhawk cover on it. This one is not as good as that one, but it's pretty good. It has a lot more spacey-ambient feel to it, due to the lots of reverb and echo in it, plus the carefully selected mellow instruments. I think it's a very nice cover, although I wouldn't select it as the soundtrack to that shoot-em-up C64 game.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery (rearranged) - arranged by David Filskov

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Starts out okay - but then it just remains okay. I expected more from David who gave us such great remixes before. Oh, no, there are even leftover arpeggios here and there! Starting at 1:11 I like that whining sound in the left channel. But this is the only highlight in this tune, the rest is just average stuff. Too bad, because I had high expectations for David.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Unsound Minds (feat. S.A.M.) - arranged by Taxim

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Starts out with the untouched original SID, then SAM, the C64's speech synthetizer announces that now comes the same thing with real cool sounds - and BOOM! I am bombarded by this techno-cover of AMJ's tune. Like with Cyberworld, it was a good choice for this SID.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 (Central Park) - arranged by Christian Leuenberg

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I have heard better LN2 covers. This one sounds weak (the instrument selection is at times rather questionable) and unpolished. Sometimes it sounds like it was put together in just a few minutes.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Times of Lore - arranged by Scorpion

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

No, no, no, no, no! Another misfired attempt. Unlike Commando, though, it actually comes close to what I would make of this tune: harp for the background, a sharp brass-like lead, and later expand the tune with some choir. Also, nice fadeout at the end! What's bad here is the inclusion of that bass. That was a big no-no! Another big no-no: the lead doesn't change from the brass-like instrument to a more dull one, like in the SID... Gosh, people, you really know how to push my buttons, forcing me to do this myself! 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja '96 medley - arranged by Scorpion offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Retro in the sense that it has samples from the original SID in it, but it sounds good.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - arranged by KnibaL offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Umm, it's an interesting attempt at covering some of the tunes of the game, but as a whole, it just doesn't work for me. We can hear big bells, good drums, and all kinds of other instruments in this MP3, but it has no soul. Plus, Hülsbeck already showed us how these tunes should be covered.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77