Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1411 - 1440 out of 2020
[LOGIN]

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

A remix should contain more than one chunk of a rememberable part of the original, I guess. This remix is in fact an own tune with 30 seconds of subtune 6 "Last Ninja", quite nice, with drums not fitting.

So, I'm unsure what the arranger want to tell us, maybe he won't.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Clayton's second attempt remixing a C64 tune is quite nice. It's very similar to the original especially the lead (instrument), with many guitars as background- and supporting-instruments giving this tune a nice punch. The drums don't vary, which is a lack indeed, also some crackles and a small stereo panorama muddy my listen experience.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Hmm... the usage of classical instruments doesn't turn a tune into "Symphony", it's more "Classical".

The variation of some quite "unharmonic" notes turns this tune unsatisfying to me, and makes me feel sad, the original doesn't.
Besides that this attempt is quite nice but nothing breath-taking with a leak of variation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Welcome to remix64 and remix.kwed.org Dave! :-D

I can't count how many "Last Ninja 2" remixes we already got here and this one goes into the wrong direction. Even done as hardcore tekkno (it's not trance :-)) it should remain the spirit of the original and this spirit went away :-( It's fast, it's tekkno, but that's all, I hope Dave does better next time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

For anyone who did not find the .sids, should take a look at the "GAMES" directory into the HVSC :-D "A-FBreak_Dance.sid" and "M-RPark_Patrol.sid".

This "remix" is really amazing, because it honors quite unpopular .sids, I can only remember "Break Dance", "Park Patrol" left without any impression into my neural network. :-)

Yes, I guess most people will leave this remix beside, it's really very unusual and I can imagine the many reviews explaining why it's crap :-D
For me it's an impressive, intuitive, jazzy, powerful attempt. The only negative I can write here, are some really high frequencies hitting my ear by my headphones and I wished for a bit less volume on this percussions (that "squishes" I mean). Outstanding work anyways Pex!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/04/2003)

While the original is quite upbeat maindrain attacks this piece or rather doesn't attack it, but gently brings out a softer side to the remix. Well thats until 2:39 where he brings in a distorted guitar which unfortunately kills the piece. This addition ruins what would have been an awesome remix. Fortunately it last for only 1 minuite before normal service resumes.

The track which yet again bares simularities to early Mike Oldfield is beautiful and emotional. A great piece of work which is sadly let down by that oh so unwarrented harsh distorted guitar. Shame really, because if it wasn't for that i could play it all day on repeat.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (19/04/2003)

I think Maindrian is the new guy on the block with a guitar. Sounds like a classic rock ballad, with a very familiar drum beat going and some nice silent guitar work. Close to the 3 minute mark there's use of some phat distorted guitar, but well laid upon the other guitars. At the end, the song is as beautifully mellow as it was for starters.

I like this remix a lot better than the first attempt at Dragon's Lair 2 that Maindrian tried. I like it as much as Maindrians Times of Lore remix, it has the same melancholic mood to it, but this song is made entirely on "real" instruments, no SID usage. I look forward to see him giving more songs his great guitar treatment. If you missed out on his Times of Lore, go get it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by goku (18/04/2003)

NoT just a sound efect. While this is not a tune, it has a wonderful floating atmosphere. I wish it had been longer.
Thanks
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (17/04/2003)

Well Markus my friend, this is an awesome feat. I have to be honest when I say that I - although I very much adore symphonic scores - am not a total fan of the current orchestral sounds. Anyone who knows my stuff knows I prefer the poppy, electronic path. For me, a movie score should have some synthetic "features" like drumloops or synth effects. Just listen to Gregson-William's Shrek or MGS2 on Playstation2. Anyway, that's just my preference.

Needless to say, the orchestration here is awesome nonetheless. Markus has been improving with each remix. It's hard work getting that "feel" of the real orchestra in there. The track lacks a little progression in my view but with the overall tension and atmosphere in it, symphonic fans will get a huge kick out of it. This review may actually sound a bit negative, but it's not meant that way. In fact, I urge you: Download it and weep. I know I did.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by luvdasid (16/04/2003)

Great surrealistic summer-breeze-tune. I start dreaming whenever I listen to that fine piece of synthi magic. Well, lets turn off the C=64 and play the greatest game ever again (besides System Shock.. ;)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Yoshi (16/04/2003)

In my opinion, one of the better Last Ninja remixes so far. I don't like the sounds in the original tune, but this cover, if I may call it that, has the great melody of the original and a very good sound that makes the tune enjoyable.
I hope to see more of Cytex's work in the future.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by luvdasid (16/04/2003)

I think Cytex's got the right way - his tune's improved some boring sequences from Ben's original (fab)track! (no doubt about it!!)
Its fine with the rhythm and to all critics: Is there any need of other instru's ?

Well done Cytex! Let's listen to more of these _TUNES_ !! *Yeah*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by maindrian (15/04/2003)

I'm incredibly impressed by this remix. Emotional, epic and thouroughly stirring.

The title is justified, as the remix does have the feel of a Bjork track and as a fan of the artist myself, I wouldnt accept anything less. However it also evokes the original sid incredibly well. The whole thing makes me want to blow the dust off of my old copy of Post.

A well put together track indeed. Kudos Jazzoid.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nazz (15/04/2003)

This is an awesome tune. It reeks of 80's, and for those of you who dig the 80's era, and not just in terms of music, ought to love this. Nostalgia!

The melody has been improved over the original SID version, so those of you familiar with the original should definately check this out.

For me, many 80's tunes evoke feelings of sadness, discipline, striving, even turmoil maybe - some of which you may find are brought out in this great track.

Keep 'em comin' Chris!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (14/04/2003)

And we have from Gustav a sensational and never heard before 3 minuite sound effect. Yes no music, but just a sound effect! but what a sound effect it is!!!!!

I'm a bit, nay alot perplexed by this, if this is music then i'll be a dog with one foot. No i don't understand this at all!

It really is just a great big long spacey sound effect. Erm, yes!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by crimoney (14/04/2003)

Absolutly Fantastic ! Great Job Yzi ... this tune is very good
please don't stop makin' good music :-)

a fan of the remix64 from germany
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (13/04/2003)

A nice little tune, which could have been done more justice with a thicker sound. It feels a bit lifeless and a bit well empty really, its one of those ok sort of tunes. Not inspirational by any means and a bit bland and lifeless, and way too repeatative.

Worth a quick listen, but don't hold your breath too much!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (13/04/2003)

ERmmmm, yes it's a piano with a dull sound behind, with a rather strange sounding guitar inbetween.

ok i'd love to say more, but erm, what can i say!

Download at your peril really!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (13/04/2003)

I just love the 80's drum and synth here! Although the music is a bit confusing. I can't really pinpoint why. The setup is great, but the music is not "great", and it plays for too long.

But I do amire people who are able to balance a bunch of instruments so well in a mix. Even after 10 years of trying I still get stuck after setting up a rhythm and bass.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (13/04/2003)

The composition is clever and very good, but why do i get the feeling this was played live in the bathroom! I presume it's because the lead is either SID or SID sounding. I dunno i'm never fond of these types of remixes, its too much like the original in sound and feel, with a few effects and strings thrown in for good measure.

It's no secret that i believe that an original sid is best left as an original sid and for me if your gonna remix it, then being subtle about it isn't really a remix, but more of an enhancement, which normally doesn't actually enhance it much. Yeah this is Ok, but a lack of vision and a lack of ambition just makes this sound too much like the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (13/04/2003)

90's percent Erasure-esque? Indeed it is, and very well done it is too, well upto about 1 min 25, then well it's not erasure really, but still has one or two areas that makes you think aha yes Erasure.

I think the 1st part of the mix is done excelently, tho maybe a thicker sounding lead would have been better here. After this part it actually has some really nice instruments and changes in direction. Tho where the sound of the lead improves, the backing seems to go the opposite direction a little.

If you don't pay too much attention to Erasure esque feel from 1:25 then you'll enjoy this remix very much. I think which has some great ideas and changes in direction. It's a good effort even if the ending is a bit abrupt.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by calebb (13/04/2003)

Awesome!!!

The 'Aztec' voice is cool, but a bit overdone. I like the use of the bass notes - it sounds very full on a decent set of speakers. I can close my eyes & visualize the spears coming in either side or the piranha trying to attack me.

The 'breaks' where the bass line drops out & the pan flute & synth take over is VERY well done!

There are a few sections that sound like they're clipped (!!!). I didn't run them through a spec. analyzer to check, so it could be poor quality samples in those areas.

Overall, great remix!
calebb --at@at-- swirvemail ...dot... com
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (13/04/2003)

In typical FeekZoid fashion this remix goes off on many different slants and changes picture constantly though the underlying concept remains true. On this occaision FeekZoid maybe seems to lost the path with the remix, Though the tune builds well and paint a great picture, it never really seems to get going or to imprint it's feel.

The constantly changing picture and nice use of sampled effects help move the tune along nicely, but it just doesn't ever seem to get to it's point and leaves you thinking there's something missing.

All in all a nice piece of work that just doesn't seem to get to it's intended point.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (09/04/2003)

Anyone familiar with Maindrians works will recognize that he likes guitars. But in his Dragon's Lair and Star Lifter remixes, he uses electronic guitar. Not so in Times of Lore. Beginning is pure sid, then swiftly he goes into a subdued guitar. A simple yet beautiful song, as the original, very mellow and in my opinion, a refreshing change from the many techno/dance inspired remixes out there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (08/04/2003)

Groovy and cool! Actually I've never heard something like this before. If it's called britpop, then so be it.

It's melodic and monotome at the same time. With all the repetition I'll have to rate the nostalgic impression high, although C64 music wasn't always so short. It wouldn't hurt to cut off a minute from this remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (07/04/2003)

Welcome Andras, any new arranger will receive a warm welcome.
His first "remake" is quite ok, something d'n'b (he mentioned it as "BritPop" inside the MP3-tag) with nice fx and filters. Some of the parts are repetitive, so shorter would be better. Overall good. (Besides that, I really hate the original, but he did it much better) :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (07/04/2003)

I alredy wrote I do not really like "cheap midi-synth" instruments. Besides that it's quite nice without highs or depths, but I miss a bit the frisky touch of the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (07/04/2003)

Paul did it again :-D Seems he got some new equipment :-)

He perfectly transfered the soul of the original SID with some neat fx and a really great powerfull base-line. Technically nearly perfect. Only the end is a bit disappointing. It's hard to describe music and I do not like to make it to something sientifically as other reviewers do, so I can only recommand the download of this tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

The mood created by this remix is dark, gothic 80's electro. Here and there it
also contains hints of Kraftwerk and - strangely enough - exotic passages that
try to tie it to the C64 game (but for me those sound more Arabic than Mid-
American). The "Aztec Challenge" speech sample is a bit overused. The remix is
somewhat lengthy, it lost my attention towards the end, possibly because of
the relative lack of variation in the tonal frequencies.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

Bringing a sort of 90's feel to it, this remix manages to mix soft pads with
electronic ear-candy. I think the only thing missing here is some vocals on top
of everything. Not as romantic as the original tune, but at times I could
characterize it as cute.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ⋅⋅⋅ 66 67 68