Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1441 - 1470 out of 2020
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

A soft electronic piece with relaxational overtones. Not what you'd expect
from a Target Renegade cover, but somehow it works. It's moody and groovy with
just the right ingredients and a proper mix. Unfortunately, it appears to be a
partial upload as it cuts off abruptly in the middle of the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

Quite an interesting piece. The human brain tries to categorize everything,
but mine failed miserably with this one. It contains not only several
different styles of music (like the ambient opening, the heavily electronic
main part and the tranquil second part towards the end), but it also includes
a remix of Arcade Classics in addition to Thrust. I like how the different
pieces of Thrust are - excuse my pun - thrust together to form a very
recognizable but rather different musical experience. The Arcade Classics
remix would be great by itself, but since it's enclosed by Thrust, it feels a
bit out of place. In summary, it's a technically impressive, but stylistically
somewhat confusing piece.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

If somebody can explain to me why this remix starts with what sounds like a
Japanese auctioneer speaking fast, please, let me know. Then it has a sort of
minimalistic oriental feel to it with exotic drums and that sitar-like lead.
Which would be okay with me, except that this goes on for over 5 minutes
without much variation - and it makes this remix boring. Cut this remix in
half or introduce some variations or add a climax or something.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

A -fake- concert version, shall I add. The piano also sounds fake (i.e.
sampled), but it is played nicely, it has a Yanni-esque melancholic feeling to
it. Unfortunately, the last minute of this remix leaves me completely
confused. It suddenly switches from the piano to a rather poor electronic
version with a cheering crowd providing the supposed "concert feel" - and then
it ends just as abruptly. Puzzling, to say the least. It would've been a nice
piano piece, but that horrible ending destroys it all.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

In its current form this "remix" is not much more than an enhanced SID tune.
Many parts of the original were left in verbatim (or so it sounds), including
the arpeggios, which was an especially big mistake. The addition of effects
and monstrous drums doesn't add too much except loudness. I still much prefer
Reyn's own version of his tune on "Nexus 6581" which has a definite orchestral
feel. That's more fitting for the LN3 Intro than this electro-opera with its
trumpet-like analog lead.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

A nice groove is what makes this remix pretty good, although I think the
snare-like drum has annoyingly too many high frequencies (read: it's noisy).
Funky bass line, pleasant electric pianos and a fitting lead characterize this
remix. Unfortunately that synth-flute lead later gives way to an overfiltered
annoyance. Luckily it doesn't last too long. The serene ending is quite
lovely.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

A solid average remix, nothing surprising, nothing exciting, nothing
outstanding, but nothing bad, either. The thumping base drum is rather
overwhelming, but I like the choice of lead instrument.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

It is said that in general it's not advisable to pan drums hard left or hard
right, but that's how this remix starts - and even continues. I find that
rather disorienting. Worse, this panned-left practice later spreads to other
instruments, too. In fact, Pippo admittedly had some serious trouble with his
equipment during recording - but he still decided to upload the remix. Why,
oh, why??? It's too bad because his work wouldn't be so bad, in fact, it would
be a fairly good electro-dance remix. Unfortunately, the extremely poor
recording quality completely destroys the experience.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

Here is a remix where all the sounds seem to be really good, but together they
don't make much sense to me. I really like the electronic choir in the
background, but the lead sound sort of destroys them. The clapping is great -
but what's the point of having it here? The drums provide a nice rhythm but
stylistically sound out of place. I wish the occasionally appearing female
singer was featured more prominently and more frequently. All in all,
technically it's great but artistically only so-so.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

I feel like this remix just drags on and doesn't really go anywhere. Which is
not too good, because it stretches quite long. I feel no passion, no
inspiration. The drum loops are okay for a hip-hop or rap style but don't
really have much to do with the rest of this remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

Sometimes after I'm done listening to a remix I get the feeling that the remix
was done just for the sake of doing a remix. That's precisely the case here. I
don't see the rhyme or reason this remix was made for, I don't find a coherent
message in there, nor any purpose. It's just -is-. The instruments don't show
much cohesion, though the bassline is quite good. All in all, this feels like
l'art pour l'art and I'm not a big fan of that.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (05/04/2003)

Fun, cheerful and very 80's! The selected instruments are rather tacky and
they give the entire remix a very kitschy feel. Which, I think, is part of the
charm of this piece. Nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

Sinister sounds abound, some of them have a distinctively electronic feel,
there also some orchestral strings in there. I think those bell-like sounds
break the mood a bit. Other than that this remix is hard to categorize: it's
quite weird and scary, which, I guess, is the whole point!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

Okay, I give up: which subtune does this one remix? RKO says it's #6, but I
find that hard to believe as I hear very, very little resemblence. The opening
and closing minutes of this tune demonstrate the archetypal oriental feel very
well, I especially like the subtle use of flutes. But I am more mystified by
the different style that is in the middle, it's a bit like an old MOD with
better instruments. Overall, it's not too bad, but doesn't really capture my
attention.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

As Homer Simpson would say it: mmmmm, tasty!... Absolutely awesome bass sound
that endangers your speakers and tasteful drums that provide many hints of the
original. Very subtle rhythmic chords add another dimension to this remix. The
lead is also pretty close to the SID original, which in this case is not a
compliment, because at times it feels too thin as compared to the rest.
However, the melody is reproduced very faithfully which pleases me a lot. I
only wish the entire IK tune was represented here, because Yzi decided to
remix only the first half of it...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

I think the subtitle is misleading, because power it ain't. It definitely
feels more powerful as the guitar lead comes in about halfway through, but
it needs more powerful drums to make it, well, more powerful. Nice use of
those filtered electronic sounds that essentially provide the backbone of the
tune, just like in Hubbard's original. All in all, a forceful remix that falls
a tad short of expectations. Oh, and I think it's also too short.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

Dreamy, electronic, fantasy-land-like. These are the words the came to my mind
when listening to this remix. But it's not ambient, it's more like something
from a fairy-tale that makes children smile. I think the arpeggios and the
bass feel a little out of place and the drums could use more reverb, but it's
quite good already as it is.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

Great distorted guitars presented in their raw form. It's a very edgy remix,
but I do not quite think it's like hard rock. I think the stereo space
could've been better utilized, either by panning the instruments wider or by
adding panned echo/reverb. Also, I don't think a lot of post-production was
done on this piece - and it shows.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/04/2003)

It starts in a style that I like to call "enhanced SID". Then it transforms
into an acoustic affair with plenty of nice guitars, which makes the remix
very organic, very human. It's a nice piece of work for sure, somewhat
reminiscent of early Mike Oldfield, but it has a missing ingredient. I don't
know what, but the lack of it dampens my enthusiasm towards this remix. Maybe
because nothing else is really supporting those guitars. Or because the final
mixing feels unpolished. Nevertheless, it's quite pleasant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (01/04/2003)

Not a typical arrangement, but new things are welcome. Maybe a bit too much reverb and echo. Some instruments sound too far away. It reminds me of the music I did 10 years ago...

Sounds a bit odd at the end, like it's too abrupt. Maybe the upload broke? Anyway, keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tom (30/03/2003)

Yes, it is a great orchestral remix indeed! It shows that Markus perfectly knows how to work with Strings , Woods , Flutes and stuff ...
I gave it "only" a VERY GOOD vote for the Chart-system - not an OUTSTANDING because even when the Sound-Samples are brilliant and of course the arrangement as well, there is some depth missing technically.
Markus knows what I mean, the overall sound is too dry for my ears but maybe that's a question of taste, but it was the only reason to give it not an OUTSTANDING VOTE!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (30/03/2003)

Compared with the original sidtune, which is among my favourites, Markus' attempt at creating an orchestral remix based on it, works extraordinarily well. The quality of samples is outstanding and sounds really professional. This alone is worth the download. Many arrangers would be happy if they could use such equipment.

At the same time, the remix could be described best as over-ambitious, which is likely the reason why this particular remix has caused some controversy in public discussion.

The sidtune is a completely different style. It's a fast-paced, powerful and drum-heavy music. Turning it -- or parts of it -- into an orchestral soundtrack is an extremely tough job. Professional equipment alone (and the ability to use it) is not everything. Orchestral arrangements should raise specific emotions and capture you through-out the entire track. This is where the Shadow Skimmer source material was not the best choice. The clearly recognizable theme is there and is the highlight. But it is surrounded by elements that don't focus on a specific atmosphere and which don't raise any emotions except when the fairly majestic Shadow Skimmer main theme kicks in from time to time.

Overall, this is one of the best remixes so far. Markus should not be put down if he expected only outstanding votes. He did an awesome job with this one and we all hope to see more like this from him in the future, whether on CD or not.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

This is IceXuick's best attempt so far. The original is very poor but he managed to improve it. Due it's a dance-track it has a lack of variation but overall it's worth to listen. Nice attempt.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

The original tune has a gloomy touch that completly went away. It's not always a good idea to transform a tune in something "happy-electronic-80ies". For me this tune does not work, next time choose a tune that fits with your style.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

A nice "happy" tune but for my taste to much repeatations, the stereo panorama is quite small, the end of this tune does not fit when you set your player on loop and the MP3-tag, is quite empty.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

We always welcome new arrangers to RKO and I prefer to write a nice, heart-warming review. I'm sorry, there is no reason to do so. This tune is really boring with serious lacks of inspiration. The rhythm of the bass/drum-line does not match with the lead... very curious and I guess not a stilistic purpose. This song ends very abrupt, when you have set your player on loop, it sounds really awful. And besides that: MP3-Tags should contain more useful information.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

The soundfx do not good on the tune, as I have experienced in some other of ifadeo's remixes before, because they "feel" wrong. I recommand a more "classical" approach and leads should lead not drowned by drums and fx.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

It's long ago since Paul's last upload but it was worth waiting for this release. The charme of C-64 revived while he managed a grandious melt of different styles. The only technical disadvantage are some crackles... Besides that there are no more words to discribe, just listen this stunning remix yourself!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (30/03/2003)

Sometimes it's a great surprise arrangers can make a poor original to something extraordinary. Compared to Glyn the instruments do not sound like "cheap midi" giving the tune a authentic touch. Awesome work and the best orchestral remix so far.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (29/03/2003)

Concert? Hmm... I like the first half of the tune, the second is quite a mistake or shall I say "junk"? Mixing different styles is a hard task and this time it went to out of direction. And yes, once again there is an empty mp3-tag :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ⋅⋅⋅ 66 67 68