Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1441 - 1470 out of 1964
[LOGIN]

Review by eliot (25/03/2003)

Does it make any sense to upload a song when you have problems with your soundcard? No, it does not, Jan was too kind to accept the upload... ten years ago it was cool to have drums on the right channel and the lead on the left - So anyone avoid the download. (Next time enter infos to the mp3-tags, empty tags are annoying!)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (25/03/2003)

Probably the most comercial sounding dance track ever to grace RKO. New Arranger IceXcuik has hit the nail on the head with a awesome dance remix of Kick Start 2. Although in the sense of the word the tune tends to be a tad on the repetative side it gradually grows creating a full sounding dance remix. The addition of a Vocal "Kick It" is a great addition.

The track is very much in the vein of "Sash" in the way it builds and with the obvious way it brings in the beats and breaks.

A polished and stunningly visualised dance track! A superb piece of work by IceXcuik!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (25/03/2003)

That's great! Great instruments and melodies. Very talented mix. I just wish 2 things were different: The snaredrums are too strong. They hurt me ears. And the first minute of the song isn't grabbing me, perhaps again, because of the beat that hurts my ears. I use earphones and even filtering away the treble doesn't solve it.

That's a shame cause the rest is lovely. Gotta love that bass and lively melody, the wah-filters are pretty intelligent. The tonal relationship between melody and bass seems greatly improved from the original composition.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (25/03/2003)

It definitely has potential. There are some great ideas here. The main problem here is the order in which the elements are introduced. The breakbeat comes almost immediately, very loud and dry. I'd suggest a slower buildup into a fuller sound. Where's the climax? It's not obvious.

The piece has some cool tidbits, but listening to it from beginning to end, is not so pleasing.

Some instruments are badly tuned. Aside from that it does sound kind of fresh, because of the mixture between SID sounds and other instruments - and a kewl beat.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (22/03/2003)

This tune kinda sits between David Whittaker and Jarre, neither being one or the other. As with most tunes from ifadeo the composition is good, but let down by some weak instruments, tho the production is much better on this remix than many of his other attempts. Another problem as i see it is the distinct lack of variation and mood resulting in a nice but repetative remix.

Don't get me wrong i like the direction ifadeo is heading, but my advice would be slow down, take your time, release less and work more on the job in hand. make your vision a reality. Quality is better than quantity.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (22/03/2003)

New arranger on the block "Hazel", has produced an alternative mix of Comic Bakery that can be best described as experimental. The remix is heavilly reliant on drum patterns which unfortunately are on the repetative side which can also be said for the remix itself.

The remix isn't bad and doesn't do much wrong, yet it also doesn't infuse itself on you to the point of being over interesting. All said and done, it's a good work out for the new comer and there are limited signs of promise.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/03/2003)

This tune is not done by "Martin Schneider" alone, the HVSC lists it in the "Jens Blidon" sub-directory :-D
It's always nice to listen remixes from composers outside the main-stream. Sascha did a very good work to keep the flair. "Racoon" did not find all bugs in the audio, because there are some crackles within the first 40 seconds. Besides this few crackles, the tune is good balanced with nice instruments, I only miss a brighter stereo-panorama. A good example of "happy-music". :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/03/2003)

Mathias has a faible for Ben Daglish :-D Anyways, he did a nice remix and cover the spirit of the original. The song has no flaws I can think of - but I miss the special touch/artistic improvement to give it a very good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/03/2003)

Hmm... and one more Last Ninja remix... the flair of the original is gone. It's quite a loveless remix, with lots of repeatations and much lack of inspiration, because it gets boring. Maybe my taste tends in an other direction compared to all the other voters, I think this remix can everyone pass by.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/03/2003)

Hazel appears as new member in the arranger-list. Welcome :-D
His first work seem to be a d'n'd remix... I can not really get familar with it, because the flair/soul of the SID is hopeless destroyed. There are some nice parts, so it steped beyond "Average".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/03/2003)

It seems ifadeo has a faible for David Whittaker :-D As always it's not a "one2one cover" but I can live with that :-) He did nice additions, balanced instruments, good stereo-panorama. During listening I got the feeling it has similarities to OMD. An interesting arrangment, but too much repeatations and an abrupt end :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/03/2003)

Markus did a nice work. Not "stellar", not kicking, but quite in shape with the original, some nice effects and balanced instruments, with a lack of own inspiration.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (21/03/2003)

Pretty good. The melody is lacking in a few places but the original tune ain't better. The sound is thick, and feels unusually warm in my opinion. I appriciate the C64 arpeggios. Now, it would be great with a singer to top it off and give some variation.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (21/03/2003)

Who can not remember the glourious days when we first listen the original on the C64 and speculate how Martin did the digi-fx :-D (ok, some are too young :-))

Richard's first remix, is really well done. It catches the flair of the original, the drums are 100% in shape, the stereo panorama is working too, all instruments are balanced and there is no flaw I can think off. For now, it's the best Arkanoid remix so far. Keep on this good work!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (20/03/2003)

The much remixed lightforce has been given the Markus Holler treatment here. As always Markus implements many of his own ideas and gives Lightforce a much needed boost. The guitar is the highlight of the track and the complex drum patterns give as the title suggests a power feel. There is a slightly unpolished feel to the remix tho, and some of the cymbals/drums feel a tad weak, but this is a minor complaint as the remix is by far the best remix of Lightforce out there.

At 3:30 i feel the track is a little too short as you really just start getting into the track beofre it finishes. The track feels about 2 mins long, which is always a good sign as it shows your enjoying the track. I have to admit it's a great version of a much traveled sid, just slightly unpolished.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (20/03/2003)

With my headphones I do not listen ifadeos AKG-240 :-D This is ifadeo's best tune so far, very balanced, very touchy with the original flair. The only "flaw" is the end of the song... I have expected something different, I guess not any arranger follow my thoughts while listen :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (20/03/2003)

Does a distorted guitar makes this tune good? No. It feels like mish-mash, but maybe I am not a real rock fan :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (20/03/2003)

It's defintifly a remix even when titled as "cover" :-) The drums kicks my head using my headphones... It's quite nice done, nothing special, but not a kicking tune I will listen more often.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (20/03/2003)

This is Markus second remix and nice done. :-) The tune has some sad touch... but anyone shall interpret the original in her/his way. The "sssh"-fx are much too loud especially starting at 1:48 and 2:43 and also the background-noise (especially on the end) is quite interfering.
This tune is hard to vote because it's on the border between good and very good. To be on the border is still good, so please pardon me :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (20/03/2003)

Yzi shows up new into the arranger list :-)
He/She does a nice work, for my taste a bit too close to the originial and a lack of own inspiration.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/03/2003)

This Max Headroom remix seems to mix several tunes from the original game, and does a good job of it. Remixer has used some kind of lead instrument that sounds very synthy and does the job good. First part is more easy going, it is the elevator music if I am not mistaken. Goes around for about 2:22 when the tune shifts into another. It's a very synthy remix, and I think all instruments have been replaced, and with great skill. One of my favourites.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/03/2003)

As remixes go, this does a poor impression. It sounds as if the remixer lets the most of the original tune do the work for him, just adding a drum beat. Around 1:24 he really gets to work though, by making some kind of interlude on the song's theme, and at 2:16 we're back again to the first part. I dig the original sound track so much that I find myself listening to this track a lot. But alas for the wrong reasons. Hypaball is not easy to dance with I guess, and that is why the original tune steals so much of the song's duration. Merits for trying and not burning it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (17/03/2003)

This rate up among the best remixes I have ever had the pleasure to listen to. The original game sound track wasn't something you paid that much attention to due to it being so short and if I remember correctly, only present at the start. Here it has been turned into 5:13 of slowly building up with a rich very 80s sounding vibration bass synth or something, leading up to a nice peak at 2:01 where the Piano enters the song and gives the whole thing a sense of completion. This song goes beyond mere remix into a great piece on it's own worth listening to even if you haven't a clue to what the game was about. But I don't remember Flight Path 737 sounding _THIS_ good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (16/03/2003)

Guitar tracks certainly are becoming more popular at the moment and with some success i may add. This track is rather shallow in nature however and suddenly stops abruptly leaving you feeling that the track is unfinished.

The track last for just 1:15 mins which also adds to the feeling that this should never have been uploaded in its current state. Whats there is reasonable but whats the point you are never gonna be enthrauled by a track that isn't finished and sounds very aplha/beta in nature. The overall vote reflects this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (16/03/2003)

Another guitar piece from maindrian here. While the remix has some good ideas and it's implemented quite well the overall feel isn't quite there.

it's simply one of those tunes thats good without being sensational. though the tunes energy does make it's mark somewhat. A good effort, but it lacks a little in the overall sound picture department.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (16/03/2003)

Oh! i really like this, it's a novel approach to a remix. While there are obvious floors to this remix in the production department, and with that little more knowledge or effort in this area we'd have a stunning piece of work.

The piece is what could be closely compaired to early 70's Mike Oldfield. Infact i wonder if Maindrain actually took inspiration from Mikes early work for this remix. I'm not saying this because of the guitar playing, but because of some very distinct rifts and styles what could be compaired to Oldfield himself.

I like this raw sound alot, the unapologetic nature of it's unpolished feel just adds to what the piece is all about. I doubt many will agree with my review as the style is very much an aquired taste. But at least for me i regard the remix very highly.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (16/03/2003)

This remix is very faithful to the original, i wouldn't actually call this a remix or even a cover, it's more of an enhancement to the sid with it being so very much like the original in sound.

Trace here has really just given the original work a smoother and more harmonious feel and has faithfully replicated the sounds and instruments of the original. The tune is not a mind blower, but it's one of those tunes that feels right. nice work trace.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by beldin (15/03/2003)

Compared with previous remixes of the Wizball high-score theme, I think this is a better one. As the sub-title might suggest already, this arrangement is based on SID-like sounds (except for drums and percussions, of course, but including arpeggio in the background) and also is a direct cover-version. The chosen instrumentation is pretty obvious and well-balanced and doesn't attempt on using any experimental and questionable instruments. I don't think I have tried hard to find any flaws. The remix just works fine the way it was set up. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by merman (12/03/2003)

This is a very fine remix of a Whittaker classic. Loved the tune, got bored with the game.
This remix reminds me of the freeform jazz you get at the end of Metal Gear Solid 2 on PS2 - and that shows how good the production is! There was a chill down my spine the first time I heard the voice...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by immacolata (12/03/2003)

Instrumental part of the Remix music is okay, but the singing is not. There's something odd with that voice, it kind of ruins it all for my listening. I guess I am an aberration.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ⋅⋅⋅ 64 65 66