Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1471 - 1500 out of 1964
[LOGIN]

Review by eliot (11/03/2003)

After Mr. Pippos great Delta spanish guitar Remix, I look forward for this download, but was a lot disapointed. It's an electronic quite dance remix and I have no idea how it was recorded... maybe with a microphone 20m away... Also he played some notes completly wrong :-( Maybe, next time think about uploading such stuff.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/03/2003)

The final remix of Mr. Pippo Delta, is really outstanding. The only negative is the volume of the trumpet, it's a bit too loud and stereo-panorama is not extended as it could be.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/03/2003)

Here we have an outstanding peace of music. This version is the short "preview" of the "Final Mix" - so grab the longer one :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/03/2003)

A promising, powerful beginning, nice fades/crosses from/of Arkanoid Title to/and The Last V8. My only wish is an extended version of about 3:50 :-D And yes, next time enter valueable infos into the MP3-tag. :-( thanx.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

LaLa: you are not the only one believing SID-tunes have souls :-) But no, the soul went not away by this mix, because I always thought that is what I missed on the original tune. I love it :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

Too strange for me but not bad at all :-) LaLa wrote "It is one of those crazy remixes that is either the work of a genious or a madman". I know Mahoney is a genious but this tune goes to the mad side.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

I do not agree with Beldin's :-( vote nor LaLa's statement that this tune can only remix worse. Taste is different for everyone. But from my view of sight, this work is outstanding. Task III is really a task to remix and it gets the flair of the original SID, even with some strange FX (the original SID is strange itself :-)). Great Work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

LaLa: we rate it so high, because it's great, really outstanding. Of course not everyone like this style - but for me it's one of the best remixes ever :-) I wish more arrangers would do such salads, even when they are done only for me :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

There are so many reviews now, I can just say: This remix kicks ass. And if you have not seen the video, you missed a lot :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

The first time I listend to it, I thought "WOW" - one of the best remixes ever. There are no words they can express how good it is.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

The orchestral attempt was a really good idea, but the samples do not reflect a real orchester, the most instruments sound too flat.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

Why upload an abandoned, buggy work? This makes no sense, it seems the arranger does not like it at all. The strange lead starting at 1:11 is one of the bugs (at least the choosen instrument). Any one remember the decent pseudo-drums in the original SID? Next time Karl, complete the work or trash it. But at least I like the end :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

It seems that many of the arrangers run out of ideas. To replace the drums and copy the leads from the original is no artistic improvement. My voting always reflects the Artistic Impression and there is less I can vote for - even when it's quite ok to listen.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

I was not a fan of the originial SID and this version does not kick. It's quite ok, but very much repeations, no variations, lead is more in background than leading... quite boring for me, a tune just downloaded, voted and forgotten.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/03/2003)

I need to load the original SID to believe, it has anything to do with Reyn's Last Ninja, indeed I found something... but it can not count as remix. As LaLa already mentionend.. no beginning, no end, especially a abrupt end (does not even loop correctly) ... really boring.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wizzball (10/03/2003)

The orchestra sounds good. I like how it starts, nice and peacfull and then getting violent..:-)..the cymbals are not too heavy though and again cool soundeffects. Picked a nice one out to remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wizzball (10/03/2003)

Well I´m not an expert in music but I can say U Hit the sounds really well. The Intro is really cool, but the fade in at the beginning sounds a bit to quick. The End fAde sounds much better. All in one stil a great job. I really enjoyed listening to this one.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wizzball (10/03/2003)

introduction is nice...soundeffects are great,
like the piano and most of all the bass..gives the whole thing something groovy. . get goose pimples while listening. Reminds me of the good old days. Keep up the good work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by vosla (08/03/2003)

first of all : i really hate the game and the original score isn't one of my favorites. so my start with this tune was under a really bad star. the tune went a completely other way though.

a really strange acapella start smashes my bad expectations. the tune enfolds, so the original score comes through. what i thought to be an annoying remix of an annoying sid turned into an amusing, wierd and funny tune with a "replay-value". it turns to a stomping, sinister parody. did somebody mentioned nine inch nails ? the latter half would classify as a soundtrack for a warped quake episode. definately not the music i would play at "normal" parties, this tune comes with a big wink-wink in the eye.

i LOVE it ! NYAHAHAHAAA...oops.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

A very nice dance-remix and I feel happy while listening, I guess that was the intention. The Arpeggio was quite in shape compared to the original SID (yes, I did). For a real dance-track the introduction is much too long, but there is shadow where is sun :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

I was loughing at the first second :-) A really great and awesome attempt to create a individual piece of music full of energy and feelings.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

Very nice, minimalistic attempt to create something beside "traditional" remixes. For my taste it fits, but without the special kick and too hard drums.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

aaargh, my ears... never heard that high and wrong notes on the original SID. The arranger had a lack of phantasy - flat, no flair - just cold, boring synth. Even Reason could do much better.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

I appreciate new views of songs - even quite strange attempts like this - the original flair was gone, but overall it "feels" good. I can not describe my feelings, but somehow this track touched me.

There are some crackles and a noticeable background noise at the end of the track and of course I miss mp3-tags (Jan, just press "alt" & "3" in winamp) :-(

I'm not sure what "Nostalgic Impression" really means... the quality of nostalgic seems a bit odd to me - maybe someone can explain that to me, but it does not count for my voting anyways.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

Hmm... I have grown up... I catch the flair of this song. Maybe I was in a bad mood 1 1/2 years ago and I have to reevalute my judging ;-) I guess the end is still a bit out of phase, but overall grandious :-)
(edited 2004-08-31)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

Besides the female voice there is nothing really "arabian" in this song. I like the voices very much, and I wished they where much longer and the leading instruments have been converted to this style too, 3:25 to 3:53 was at least a start or shall I say "a try" :-) Some of the "individual chunks" at the end of the track do not need to make sense, but they feel wrong, Rambo at the beginning fits fine for me :-)
The stereo profile of the lead instruments is not existent :-( and the low mp3 rate does not satisfy me. (I listen any music always with my headphones (Sennheiser SD590).) Besides a small glitch at 5:50 and the "individual chunks" on the end, this track is technically good.
The guitar solo is a highlight for me but also sounds a bit Mike Oldfield to me ;) - a SID-cover does not need to be a 1:1 cover, but should transport the flair of the C64.

Zoids is one of my all time favourites so the nostalgic impression has to be a 6.0 :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by arbory (06/03/2003)

Absolutely super-cool !!!!!
definitly a hit for the dancefloor, i like the details in the voice arrangment and this deep-mad-grooving bassline at the end, before the track stops suddenly.....for this ending i can give only :-))instead of the :-))) in "Artistic Impression" ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (06/03/2003)

This is surely not what you'd expect from a remix of Paperboy... but it surely rocks, mon! A boombastic dub-triphop-ragga-breakbeat blasts you up to higher states of conciousness, while the melody played in dubby ethno style keeps you there.

The mixing and production quality is pretty good. Overall this is a great remix, very close to Outstanding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DHS (03/03/2003)

This remix has only one big flaw: it's too short :-)
I want more of it! Much more!

Trauma put togheter high quality and well chosen samples, mix and arrange everything perfectly and makes one one of the most original (if not *the* most original) remixes out there.

The final bits are simply outstanding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Teetering on the faster edge of the chill-out crowd this cover does a poor job
of emphasizing what I think is the essence of Galway's original: the
evolution of sound and musical patterns. The morphing here is gone, replaced
by more discretely defined musical sections. Those sections, however, are very
good by themselves and turn this piece into a Pink Floydish hypnotic dream (as
demonstrated by those electric guitar sounds with lots of tremolo). All in
all, a pretty good piece that falls a little short of being excellent.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 ⋅⋅⋅ 64 65 66