Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 1874
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think this is a brilliant arrangement of GnG for piano! It has everything in it that one could want, including the "simulated" glide in the intro, and even an improv'd section! Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

A few mistakes here and there just to make it clear that this was performed live. :) Obviously, a lot of thought went into the arrangement, and you even included the Bach piece in there for completeness. Very nicely done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

I think so far this sounds the most "classical style" piece among your piano renditions. Like you mentioned in your YT description it sounds rather wagnerian, apparently because that was David Warhol's original intention for the SID, too. It definitely shows, sounds grandiose!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (19/06/2020)

Whoa, slow down, buddy! :) This sounds like a good 10 BPM faster than the original SID (I wonder if that's an NTSC vs PAL piano thing :) ) , which makes it even more amazing that you performed this in one take.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (18/06/2020)

Let me correct the "old LaLa" here and say that this is something absolutely fabulous. Way ahead of it's time (I guess?). Mahoney in his greatest greatness (or perhaps rock bottom – it doesn't matter really).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (18/06/2020)

Welcome to Remix64, Paul. I was intrigued to know how your 16 uploads were constructed, (Wow!, that's some entry to the remix scene). So, I followed the link you provided to your YouTube page. Clearly, you are a more than competent pianist and there are some covers of C64 tunes on there that I wouldn't have imagined someone would tackle with a single piano, (even a Steinway grand...). So, to business! IMHO a number of your initial batch of uploads don't really lend themselves to a solo piano representation, (even though they're overdubbed). This one however, does! Full marks for playing the individual pieces 'live' but; for the mistakes that you didn't go back and correct It's '10 points away from Gryffindor'. You've got incredibly fast hands but that doesn't excuse incorrect or missed notes when the opportunity exists, to redo parts, individually. From an arrangement point of view, (and I feel qualified to say this) the pieces are 'bog standard'. None of the individual subtunes vary in any way from the original SID/Amiga versions. I can't imagine you have reached your standard of playing without developing the ability to substitute alternate chords and progressions in order to take the 'remix' to somewhere else. The Steinway badly needs tuning. In some parts it almost gets close to sounding like a 'saloon upright' and this detracts from the listening quality. Overall, I'm impressed with your playing ability, (and a little jealous too)... and you have a cat. So, that makes you a certain kind of cool and nice person (for which I'll score you a little extra). Please make another remix. I'd love you to really stretch your ability and include other instruments, (real or synthetic).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/06/2020)

Welcome to RKO and Remix64.com, Paul! :-) I quite like the fact that all 3 game tunes are covered here, and the arrangements are pretty good, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (12/06/2020)

A fantastic rendition of Galway's classic tune. As others have mentioned it, the switch in the basic beat is at odds with the melody, but for me it actually works - he made it into a dancey tune, what do you expect? The sound effects and the vocoded voice are a perfect addition to this remix and create a vivid atmosphere. This is done very, very nicely, and it's definitely my favorite (if not THE favorite) Terra Cresta remixes.

-- RIP Razmo :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (11/06/2020)

Hmm, I wonder if this started life as a multichannel MOD, because many of its motifs remind me a lot of those tunes from late 1990s, even the way the patterns are repeated, and the abrupt ending (which to me indicates a cutoff of an infinitely repeating sequence). In that context, this is actually a rather decent remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Ok, perhaps not a review … but wth, how did I miss JLD:s entrance to the C64-remixing community? Well, perhaps not strange at all since I don't keep up to date of each and every release on RKO. Still, a solid production, but then I don't think that the original gives away that many hints of a re-release in the shape of … well, a new tune. Sorry for this non-review but well … I just had to write what I felt when listening =)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Just posted a review of your latest drop to RKO (which was really good btw), and then found this one … Man, I have no previous recollection of hearing the original, but this totally rocks! I mean, keeping the original SID-feeling whilst maintaining a modern beat/arrangement/whatnot. Super-duper-awesome.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (03/06/2020)

Seems like another Swede enters the C64-remix-arena… Welcome! Judging from the production quality of this tune I can hear that you've produced a fair amount of music before trying out a C64-remix. And yes, the beat still has a decent taste of dubstep, and yes #3– it still work with the final result. Well done, and again – welcome to our little bizarre community :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (31/05/2020)

A neat idea that deserves a red for artistic realisation. I wish the spot-instruments like maracas & quijada were more prominent in the mix and made it sound more like Morricone. The trumpet is realistic but the brass at 1:25 is synthy and unconvincing. Overall it's a solid remix and a good listen.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (12/05/2020)

Oh my! This is tough to react to. It's absolutely brilliant. The difference is it's so much smoother than Glyn's original which is what i expect Peter was after. That there for me is the difference. I kinda like the harsh, aggressive in your face attitude the original. They are both great versions and kudos to both musicians. However for me, Still love Glyn's version to pieces. However what an honor for Glyn who's spent years covering sid musicians for one to turn around and cover him.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (11/05/2020)

Alright, I'm with LaLa on this one. It's technically brilliant and the arrangement is just superb. If there was something higher than a red smiley, I'd award it to this remix. This is a real musician and composer at work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (11/05/2020)

Agree with Lala and the drum loop, it does feel somewhat out of place. But as always the sound scape is lovelly. I always enjoy Dr Future's production skills.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by al.x (11/05/2020)

I really like this, slightly melancholic version that combines the 8 bit sounds with a more modern soundscape.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Poke16384 (10/05/2020)

I Like this remix a lot.. It's got SID-ishness everywhere and bounces like a bouncy thing. Technically it sounds spot-on to me. Maybe a little more variation, if I'm being really picky but overall a damn good remix.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (09/05/2020)

Ladies and Gentlemen - this is as close to perfection as one can get with a remix. The superb skills of Peter's talent are on full display here: the arrangement is impeccable, the instrumentation is spot-on for a prog-rock styled remix, and it sure sounds like most of it is recorded live playing. And it even adds extras: like the wonderful riffs on the guitars and on the electric organ, not to mention the superb counter-melody on the sax in the later parts. Wow, just WOW! Bravo, Peter!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

Oh, he's back-eh-makk-eh. Sort of happy that I was able to spark some sort of creative juice! And yeah, breakbeats need a big revival *makes a mental note*
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by wobbler (08/05/2020)

I know, it's been remixed a hundred times, and yeah, the original is so good etc etc etc. But, this one is really minimalistic, has fresh sounds (yeah, really) and well … liked it. Thumbs up.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (02/05/2020)

Epic! The entire ~10 min of W.A.R. is covered here, which is respectable by itself - but this remix is also really, really good! Starts with a synth intro that did not impress me that much, but once the guitar kicked in at 2:30 it really got my attention. From that point on it just keeps rolling, occasionally with dissonant, but mostly with prog-rock sections, with electric guitars dominating the rest of the remix. I think this is as close to the prog-rock style I'm guessing Mr. Hubbard originally imagined for this track as we'll get. Bravo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (20/04/2020)

The usual unusual from Colmarr. Like with his other remixes, yet again I'm not sure where to place this remix. It has a definite lo-fi feel to it, sort of reminding me of the music of 70s era American TV shows. But it's not that obvious, so who knows?... I am not even sure the lo-fi mix was intentional?... But definitely gets plus points from me for trying something different.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MsMadLemon (06/04/2020)

Fantastic remix of a great tune, you've kept the feeling of the original but added more to it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DjCzyszy (30/03/2020)

Classic Puffy64 sound. It's nice but not on par with modern production standards. I wonder if this is something new or a something that had been lying in the closet for well over a decade. It does sound like something that would've easily been made in the early 2000s. Well, on the other hand, listening to it, I can't help but feel as if time froze solid and the all those days never passed us by. But anyway: the guitars conflict with the SID sounds and the tone's a bit harsh. Also, the drums need to be more cutting in such a dense arrangement. Seems like there's too much going on. I do like the playing with the pinch harmonics and tasty bends though. So yeah, it's a mixed bag.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

certainly a unique take on the tune, still liking it a lot, more of the same please.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

if this was slowed down any more it would suffer a heart attack, the remix is still surprisingly pretty brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

nice remix to chill out to, sounds very amiga demo like, which isnt a bad thing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

usual case of awesome rolled in slice of nostalgia, sounds as funky and weird as i hoped.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Methanoid (10/03/2020)

2mins of wtf and 6mins of awesome, any chance of a version without the annoying voice intro?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 61 62 63