Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 211
[LOGIN]

Review by Kikstart (20/01/2018)

this track is very trancey.. love it :) well worth downloading every amiga or music retro owner should listen to..
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This remix is The definitive one to go by of the ones available on AMIGAremix/Remix64. The instruments are very well chosen, the tune and beat is essentially unchanged from the original but while this isn't a factor that would ordinarily speak in favor of the composition, it works remarkably well for the new choice of instruments, and the outro properly nails it for this beutiful recreation. Well done, Espen! (I really thought I had already reviewed this but to my embarassment it seems I never left even a comment until now.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

This might have been a fresh "trancey" take on SC2 theme but is unfortunately let down by that the electro-style instruments lacks definition to my ear and is closer to a buzzing noise than an actual instrument, plus that they are simply overpowering the rest of the soundstage. The outro is odd and hollow.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2018)

A good and faithful remake on the original. The original tempo and drumtracks are preserved, with some tweaks to the instruments used during intro and outro. Compared to other remixes or the original for that matter it does have a bit less bass-audio dominant but it's fine with a bit of "easy listening".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by L0rd3vyL (10/01/2018)

Hands down my favorite Mordi tune (which is saying a lot since I love a great deal of his work). I love everything about this arrangement. Sounds like an old sea shanty, which is fine since I grew up in the Maritimes in Canada. Top notch.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

I liked this song on Amiga 28 years ago... and this is really a nice remix without invent some strange thinks to make the remix different from original. It's sounds modern but i recognize the style of the original and the melody here is really amazing with as background an very nice harmonic line. No other remix are present here so max vote for the effort of the author!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by AudioSeeker (01/11/2017)

Not agree with daXX. Seems that was made disharmonic not as mistake but as imitation of the orginal an little bit distorted sound of the Amiga version. If found genial the smooth shift to an similar song Blood Money. I found also Worldcup 90 here, same author, and the sound is perfect. So the disharmomic stuff should be here intentional.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ghydda (15/10/2017)

The sound/vibe coming through my speakers are terrific. Really sets a nice ambient mood. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (03/09/2017)

This is a brilliant remix of the original, keeping to the original style, but with modern instruments and high quality. Exactly what Amiga Remix is all about. Very well done, seems a little faster than the original but that's OK.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dravion (04/08/2017)

I played this Game on Amiga I was able to playit to the ende without trainer but it wasnt easy. This, Turrican, Seven Gates of Jambala POW was one of the most played Games in this times.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (08/07/2017)

.., but the mixing isn't that well done and it has a background hiss that puts me off. While boasting an interesting choice of instruments that has big potential this remix is not that inspired. With a few tweaks it could be a lot better. Oh, and again this is one of the classic shoot-em-up tunes that has ONLY ONE remix submitted. Come on people... (updated 10 feb / 2018)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (07/07/2017)

A tune that is calm, upbeat, and easy to listen to, though quite simplistic. Fine to have in your play-list.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Lonax (28/06/2017)

Haunting, brings back memories of great home computing, when anything was possible. Simple, uncluttered melody with good use of synth sounds, its easy to go over the top and ruin things, but this one doesn't, keeps it simple without being overly repetitive. Very well produced and brings back some happy memories.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Eclectic (27/05/2017)

Hi brother!! Perfect orchestral arrangements and sound, everything is so nicely done it almost sounds like is being played by a real orchestra! I love it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (07/02/2017)

There's just heaps to love about this gloriously sunshiney little gem of a track. The clever and deceptively low-key opening makes the arrival of the up-tempo main body of the remix all the more delightful and surprising, the instruments used throughout the piece have a sprightly, cheerfully magical quality to them that absolutely matches the atmosphere of the original game, and the melding of the two main in-game tunes is a splendid touch that adds greatly to the fun and variety of the whole piece. Super stuff!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FreshDemon (29/01/2017)

The mixing is fantastic. Very nostalgic and evocative.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FreshDemon (28/01/2017)

Original-sounding, captures the spirit of the original but also refines it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Isacco1975 (17/01/2017)

I am not familiar with your tunes, but I named this best newcomer to AmigaRemix. Your tunes are amazing and funny. Keep it up! Finally someone remixing rarities. Technically well mixed, balanced and enjoyable sounds. Needs only more information about this stuff . Artistic skill for me is OUTSTANDING. Techique in mixing: VERY GOOD / OUTSTANDING Nostalgia: CAN'T BE DETERMINED. NO INFO ABOUT TUNE.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

This is a nice and slightly less "fearsome" make of its original with a softer impression though highly resemblant of its predecessor, thus not much innovation to show on that front. The technical execution is decent with a few nice twists here and there (which spills somewhat over to the artistic rating), though unfortunately hobbled by that some of the fx nearly mask out each other, which is a shame. The game itself needs no introduction hence the nostalgia factor... and of course it is good to see that Allister is still with us.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts out with a resonating low-frequent buzz effect like how it would be when having your space fighter sucked through a metal pipe with the lethal buzzer at the other end. Signature beat of Stardust kicks in early but unfortunately seems to get muddled by the mixture of its own sound and that of the rest. The transition half-way adds a nice mellow feel and contrast to the intro though unfortunately again let down by the buzzy pulses which blur out some of the impression of the tune. The latter half contains minor though clear resemblances from the Alien Breed intro. Overall, a decent remake with a mix of styles that would have produced a better product had it not been for an unfortunate combination of instruments the characteristics of which muddle the sound image at critical points throughout the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts great as with its original, transitions to a nice rounded beat but then drifts off to chiptune-style warbling which sadly seems out of place with the opener; the remainder being a bland affair.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

The remix takes us from the pure electro-beat of the early 90s to a good mixture of rock-resemblent sound with some good tempo replacements thrown in together with innovative inserts between the signature elements of the original, in excellent combination. By themselves the components don't seem anything much, but the fusion of all produces a great-sounding, innovative remix of a beloved oldie. The track and the arranger are both minor legends by now. Desert Rocks of Turrican has been re-arranged a multitude of times and is surely one of the fondest remembered tunes from the Amiga era. Daxx - amongst many I must be reasonable to say - has been a loyal and productive member of the remixing community for over a decade and to reproduce this classic in such a way is just brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Oh how Twintris had my affection back in the day. Not least thanks to the music. Thank you pinozulpo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (29/12/2016)

Well done, all the fun of the original is here with a fantastic guitar to complete it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MatrixRevolution (22/12/2016)

the finals effect 70's style (is it a bass?) take me in the sky!!! One of the best remixer!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hyperunknown (22/08/2016)

Exceptionally good! I especially like what you've done with the accords. Also, the sidechaining and leads are well made. Goes into my favorites directory immediately.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cydonia (17/07/2016)

Very relaxing...I like the CZ tunes style...Sometimes it remind me the old Dream dance series from the late 90...Well done man
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (12/07/2016)

Samples are far less catchy and impacting than the original ones. I think this remix is too shy here, too "clean" and not corresponding with the beat house sound from the end of 80's that Gustafsson perfectly recreated in the original module in 1991.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MasterMax (28/04/2016)

Excellent remix of the Olof Gustafsson's melody. Takes the best out of the original tune and introduces even more depth and rhythm into it. It is very relaxing because of the instruments used - especially the bells and nice, low tempo. What I need more? More remixes of tunes from Benefactor!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Toffensen (30/03/2016)

I like the way the author let it grows into the deep and intense bass. You can add it to the nostalgia, but that's not all !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8