Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 211
[LOGIN]

Review by Apache (09/03/2016)

Sounds like original alot! Me likey!!!! Great remix!!! Commodore Amiga FOREVER!!!! Greetings to DaXX from Finland.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nummer2 (08/03/2016)

I love this title but something just went wrong in this mix. Missing the feeling. And this thing in the backround just made me crazy after some time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Lisihang (20/01/2016)

Wonderful! I first discovered this remix on Youtube and I am happy that you also uploaded it here. There is some kind of extra power feeling in this remix ::
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hege8 (15/01/2016)

Thanx man, great work! I've been also trying to remix (remake prefer a good word for it) this tune for years but never ended, B'coz i not found the perfect drum.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Christopherdd (13/01/2016)

Hi. I love this song and the style of playing. Is there a video or music sheet available? I started to play music on my own and would love to be able playing this perfect song!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Christopherdd (13/01/2016)

Hi. I love this song and the style of playing. Is there a video or music sheet available? I started to play music on my own and would love to be able playing this perfect song!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by PhotonSCX (02/01/2016)

You make tightness sound effortless. Very nice progression throughout so that despite the slow tempo you're never bored. Pure pleasure to the end. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chizzer (28/12/2015)

Thank you for bringing back memories.Thank you for bringing back memories.Thank you for bringing back memories.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gabriele (24/12/2015)

Re Great song mix original , the years of my carelessness . A pleasure to listen to , with a tone of nostalgia
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gwood1234 (23/12/2015)

I've been trying to crack this remix for years. Each time I start off fairly well but am never happy with it. This is got to be one of the hardest Amiga tracks to remix - there's such a lot going on and the amount of detail in the original made it one of the finest demo tracks created. When I heard daXX's remix of 9 Fingers, also by Spaceballs, I knew this was the guy to do it! This remix features many of the original instruments but combined with daXX's polished dance music production. It might not be as good as 9 Fingers but it's an incredible version of a monster track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tafens (17/12/2015)

Remains true to the original, but enhanced in most every way. Great bass track, nice and wide sound stage.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zyonee (10/11/2015)

So awesome! I just wish it would have been a minute or so longer. That doesn't change the fact that this is one of the best Amiga remixes I've heard this year.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Trackah123 (21/10/2015)

Guitar part is pretty good, besides that it's pretty much the same song as the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (08/10/2015)

Well done Allister, what a remake! Thank you for such a masterpiece. So much memories behind this music. A very nice work. Maybe you will decide to remake other musics from this game ? ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Miroku79 (04/10/2015)

Wow... this tune is really beautiful, bring to me a lot of memories. Another world was a masterpiece also for the music, and this remix really give the game its merit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gabriele (16/09/2015)

Beautiful remix , beautifully written i must say it is one of the most beautiful I've heard so far
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (10/09/2015)

I have included in my channel of Amiga remix best of. However to me is too much repetitive, should take not more than 5 minutes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by D.j. (04/08/2015)

This song got stuck, for a long time. Its everything i wanted to make, but never had the skills for. Back to slicing pizza...:P
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by sLyGuY (16/07/2015)

I like this remix very much, it keeps original spirit of the song (that makes me go in trance) with new instruments. Excellent work! I hope to see more stuff like this from this arranger.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (09/07/2015)

Barry Leitch's Harlequin soundtrack remains one of my all-time favourite game OSTs ever. Every tune in that marvellous game is a treat for the ears, and anyone aiming to improve upon the original tracks has their work very much cut out for them.

This remix succeeds in absolutely every respect. Indeed, it's no exaggeration to say that it's one of my favourite pieces of music of any kind in the world ever.

Not only does it capture perfectly the electrifying mood of the original TVee Wonderland theme (somehow managing to be hair-raisingly eerie and playfully energetic at the same time), not only does it expand upon the original with exceptional verve and creativity (introducing an array of beautiful new harmonies, counter-melodies and other splendidly atmospheric flourishes), but it even manages to tell a story that fits in perfectly with the part of the game where this particular theme first turns up, via some positively spiffing sound design. The level of Harlequin that gives this track its name is one of the most original and gleefully sinister environments ever to appear in a platformer. The hero of the piece finds himself inside a gigantic, haunted television showroom where every single TV set is broken, and the player is tasked with guiding him past an array of electricity-themed enemies and traps. As such, the intro to this remix could scarcely be more perfect as we hear a television turn on by itself and start searching through the static for a clear transmission, eventually settling upon a channel where the MOD version of the tune can briefly be heard before the updated version zaps into life. (An especially pleasing touch – among the garbled snatches of other programmes we can clearly hear excerpts from the theme tunes of Gamesmaster and Bad! Influence, both of which first came to the screen in the year of Harlequin's release.) The various other crackles, sparks and fizzes that crop up throughout the rest of the track add greatly to the spookily mysterious vibe of the whole thing without ever being intrusive, and the conclusion as the static returns and the misfiring TV finally shuts itself off is the perfect coda to the whole experience.

I utterly, wholeheartedly love this remix. As you may possibly have gathered.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (08/06/2015)

In the early '90s, Super Twintris was one of the Amiga's most celebrated and popular public domain games. Multiple magazines praised it as the machine's finest Tetris clone by miles, it was regularly included on coverdisks and lists of PD must-haves, and every 'Miggy owner I knew had their own copy of it; in many ways, therefore, it's surprising that it's taken this long for someone to remix the charming and evocative trio of tunes that comprised the game's soundtrack. But by golly, it was worth the wait!

At once cheeringly nostalgic and splendidly original, this is a brilliant track that breathes sparkling new life into the original melodies. The distinctive atmosphere of each of the three tunes remains intact, but this ingenious medley arrangement creates a progression of mood that works to splendid effect. From the dramatic thrills of the opening sequence we progress into the mysterious exhilaration of the middle section, creating the feeling of embarking on some sort of epic, potentially hazardous futuristic adventure; then the final three minutes bring everything to an upliftingly triumphant conclusion, conjuring mental images of gorgeous sunrises and zooming jubilantly off into the stars, mission completed. In addition, the piece melds together a range of musical styles that fit the melodies perfectly, morphing seamlessly from 90s-style Jarre-esque techno into something wonderfully reminiscent of the 70s golden era of cosmic synth before finally jumping into the cheering charm of 80s electronica. It's joyful in its ever-evolving playfulness, and I'm vastly impressed with it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by CoLD SToRAGE (03/06/2015)

I really enjoyed this new take on my tune... not a style I'd have imagined. Good fun!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Mutetus (04/05/2015)

Totally unexpected action movie style arrangement. It didn't sound very special in the beginning, but after listening for a while (at very loud volume by accident, which seemed to be a good thing), it just knocked my socks off.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (02/05/2015)

Back in the day, for young Amiga users like myself who lacked the funds to purchase new games on a regular basis, magazine coverdisks were a splendidly excellent thing. The disk that accompanied issue 35 of Amiga Power in February 1994 quickly became one of the most popular in my collection, for two reasons. First, it had the marvellously entertaining Tetris Pro on it; and second, it contained a demo version of a curious puzzley game with atypically beautiful music. That game was, of course, Statix, and it was booted up with great frequency just so I could listen to that lovely tune.

Fully two decades later, the prospect of getting to hear a new and souped-up version of the Statix demo music was an exciting and warmly nostalgic one – and by crikey, this remix more than does justice to the original track. It absolutely captures the distinctive essence of Mr Grefberg's composition, elegantly blending haunting soulfulness with a perkily up-tempo positivity, and then expands upon it in all manner of imaginative and delightful ways. The guitars are an immensely cool addition to proceedings, giving this arrangement a sound all its own; the augmented introduction to the piece is impressively dramatic, the harmonising throughout is electrifying, and I love the transition at the 2:15 mark; it's a pleasing little moment that says "Let's hear that again!" An assortment of glittery new background sounds and twinkling counter-melodic elements add greatly to the magical atmosphere of the piece, and the use of finger-cymbals at various key moments is a wonderfully charming touch. Terrific stuff all round.

I've since discovered, of course, that the full release of Statix neglected to include "Against Time" in its soundtrack. Thank heavens for that demo version, eh?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Dh73 (08/03/2015)

Fantastic ! Marvellous ! It is a great remix of this Song ; Good and Well defined Sound ; you're cool, man .
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Starwer (05/03/2015)

Just a great music, whether you know the original tune or or not ! Great arrangements !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (30/01/2015)

Given the somewhat awkward circumstances surrounding its production, it’s remarkable that the Amiga version of Captain Planet turned out as well as it did. (In a nutshell: Commodore, aptly displaying the forethought and diligence that would serve them so well throughout the rest of the ‘90s, struck a deal to include the game in their Cartoon Classics A500+ pack but neglected to allow sufficient time for its development. Programmer Tony Crowther ended up having to design and code the entire thing from scratch in just one month, assisted by a lone graphic artist and Ben Daglish on drums.) It’s vastly flawed, of course, but there’s an admirable amount of creativity on display in the design of the levels and the puzzlier aspects of the gameplay, and the music is terrific throughout, with an array of energetic and catchy tunes doing much to enliven the decidedly wonky platforming.

The theme that accompanies the “Linka” level (in which you control a girl with the power of wind (erk) as she hovers around what’s alleged to be an Egyptian pyramid but in fact looks rather more like a needlessly elaborate and unusually colourful chemical waste treatment plant) is extra-specially excellent, taking the form of a thrillingly zappy and pleasingly inventive electro-pop number. This remix elevates the tune to fantastic new heights, perfectly capturing the moodily mysterious yet sparklingly quirky atmosphere of the original while introducing a multitude of delightful flourishes that make the whole thing bigger, brighter and gloriously groovier than ever. Particular highlights include the numerous new countermelodies that add greatly to the class and variety of the piece; the flawless choice of sounds, all of which accentuate the futuristic vibe of the arrangement to scintillating effect; the entirely new section towards the end which replaces the drum solo, and which feels like a far more natural progression of the track than the original composition did; and the sheer quality of the mix, which is terrifically well-balanced throughout. The inclusion of the wind effect at the beginning and end is a neatly characterful touch, too.

In summary, this is a vastly enjoyable re-imagining of a corking tune that zings with exuberant fun and funkiness and, for me, is cheeringly nostalgic. As the happy recipient of a Cartoon Classics pack during the Christmas of 1991, Captain Planet was one of the first Amiga games I ever encountered – and while it may not have been the most fun to play, it sure did have memorably marvellous music. Hurrah!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Matt Smith (11/01/2015)

A scintillatingly splendid piece of work. It has this fantastically eerie, haunting atmosphere far beyond the Amiga original, while still maintaining a thrillingly dynamic tempo – it could easily be the music from the end credits of some brilliantly spine-chilling horror movie. There are loads of smashingly shivery special touches, too – the melody that comes in from 1.58 to 2.20 sounds like a ghostly choir (with a fittingly metallic quality that suggests it could be the disembodied voices of haunted machinery), the assorted hollow clunks, hisses and clicks worked subtly into the soundscape evoke powerful mental images of being surrounded by the gears and pistons of some huge and sinister contraption, and the deliciously creepy off-kilter pianos that conclude the track are a stroke of genius; genuinely unnerving, somewhat in the vein of the famous Halloween score by John Carpenter, but with a unique flavour all their own. I absolutely adore the whole thing!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cubud (06/10/2014)

This tune starts out fantastic, really like an Ibitha dance track or something. The choice of instrument later was a mistake that suddenly brings it down to the level of guy on computer at home from what was previously a serious producer in a professional studio.

Please change that instrument, and put a bit more variation towards the end, it'll make it brilliant!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Grant (11/03/2014)

This remix feels like 3 takes which have been bookended into a single song.

The first 2 minutes of this remix sound like what the original Amiga version was trying to be.

The middle portion is decently composed. The original was a more emotive, haunting tune that doesn't feel quite right turned into something so up-tempo and energetic.

The intermission at the 6:40 mark seems to have no purpose except to stretch out an already too long song an extra 2.5 minutes.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Page:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8