Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 206
[LOGIN]

Review by Rainstorm (14/07/2020)

There is something wrong at 0:45. There is a delay. Please, compare with original tune : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=El5IWQWAJdY
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (18/05/2020)

A wonderful acoustic-style remix of a classic tune. There are some sections of it that lean towards country/bluegrass style (e.g. @ 2:04) - I wish that style was explored further. But it sounds amazing as is, no complaints whatsoever! =) And the second, downtempo part of the piece is just be-a-utiful!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (12/05/2020)

Mr Clarke, I thought it would be difficult for you to match your most recent, ROTY-winning remix. So, you've come at us from a different angle. This is a brilliant new remix. Giving this tune the Prog-rock treatment is inspired. Technically, it's tight and the riffs, licks & flourishes lift it beyond the title of "remix". There's so much original creation here but I guess that's what an old-school, game-music composer can do. Outstanding!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by ItsReactor (01/05/2020)

Enjoyed this a lot. Reminiscent of the original but with some creative new stuff. Saved. Thank you!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by _steve_ (01/05/2020)

This evokes the memories of that infamous game over screen featuring your character being struck by lightning. Given the original game over guitar riff was just 10-20 seconds, long, the manner you expanded around that is fantastic. The pan flute repetition at 40s along with the acoustic guitar, birds and general atmosphere sets this in the SOTB universe.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Rainstorm (10/04/2020)

So good. I hope you'll have time to create all other stages and also the intro. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Fozzee71 (25/01/2020)

Wicked! All I have to day really. Makes you wanna play it again. Peace out!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nous (13/12/2019)

I still remember the day I first heard this tune. I let it play over and over and over, and I regretted I had just a mono-1084 instead of a 1081 or 1084-S.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (04/12/2019)

Excellent arrangement! Love it! Execution wise it could be a little better, as it sounds a little dry. We can also hear it is not played by a real orchestra, although it is obvious that it is pretending to be. Plus for great arrangement, and minus for not sounding as great as it could be. I can only hope and believe that the arranger will improve and I can't wait to hear what will come from him in the future!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by kjetiln (01/12/2019)

Really good attempt at doing an authentic remix, which when coming to the Settlers soundtrack, is a really ambitious task! Overall this doesn't come out as a huge improvement compared to the original. Some instruments sounds too simple and sharp, and it could just as well have been the game's soundtrack, which is not bad, but a remix should add something. Some parts are very nice and improve upon the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by lee.oades (08/11/2019)

I don't usually like the electric guitar versions of classic computer tunes, but this one was excellent. Great playing and a joy to here the old tune given some love.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neriakX (26/10/2019)

Nice Story here in one track. It sure is a a top notch production! As many others already said .. it's kind of a journey the listeneres are going through. Keep it up mate!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

Sounds great but there's a few places where it just doesn't quite capture the original tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

I like this, but the guitar work isn't as good as your other track, you miss a few parts and skip some notes but still sounds fine, nice and meaty. Again that synth doesn't work well that well. 1:21 - 3:00 is the best part. I'd really like to hear a more aggressive version of this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Ryrynz (09/10/2019)

That guitar work was incredible! The drums were great too, would've preferred a bit more emphasis on the synth in places and the synth sounds, a little less than ideal for this track but overall it's pretty great.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by C64_Gamer (05/10/2019)

This really deserves it's place, high up in both charts. Just the 1st listen tells you how good the quality of this soundtrack is. I can't imagine how long it took to make or how much work went in to get the attention to detail that is here.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cube (30/09/2019)

Good orchestral arrange as well as a great mix. Super nostalgia factor, Iike always from Dr Future
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hyperunknown (10/09/2019)

See, this is most likely the best of all remixes on the entire site. The buildups, the accords, selection of samples, preservation of the Doskpop-style. I mean come on, the choords and the lead, i get shivers down my spine. IRL. For real. Thanks for this one mate. Why the hell do I even bother having Spotify :p
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by aGGreSSor (29/07/2019)

I bought an Amiga to listen GuitarSlinger and play in SuperFrog. It was a long time ago...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Mates, say that that echoing sliding far sound makes all this composition over the top? :)... It just fires all sensors for me :P
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

Relaxed ending, and very memorable and reminiscent beginning of that real Slinger module I lived with for a long time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nugged (26/07/2019)

That how really my childhood should sound! It's nice, melodic, well-arranged, balanced, complete and ... wow!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

La guitare est géniale, un peu trop présente mais quel plaisir ce remix. Beuacoup de nostalgie à ré-écouter ce morceau. La partie à partir de 3mn est très réussie avec les petits "screams" très inspirée. Bravo gibs
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Quel plaisir de réentendre ce morceau remixé avec goût. La ligne de basse est impeccable, les sons très bien choisis, les breaks originaux, un remix de grande qualité pour un morceau injustement connu.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

gibs nous livre un remix inspiré ou le son de guitare n'est pas fatiguant (contrairement à beaucoup de remixs, gibs compris). Une belle qui vous transporte dans les échos du passé. Bravo et merci gibs.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Un morceau un peu chaud à reprendre. la batterie est assez répétitive les sons de synthé choisis avec soin, pas mon remix préféré mais sympa tout de même.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Un choix de sons audacieux pour un remix réussi dans l'ensemble. La guitare est un peu agressive en deuxième partie mais tu nous fais passer un chouette moment gibs, merci.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

J'adorais l'original. Ce remix est vraiment sympa, la guitare sonne un peu agressive mais les sirènes, les crissements de pneu, le solo participent à créer une ambiance vraiment sympa.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rnuls (24/03/2019)

Excellent remix d'un morceau que je n'appréciais pas forcément. Le mix équilibré, la guitare à sa place. Je dis bravo.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by onlineamiga (17/01/2019)

Music is always subjective as we all like different stuff. But listening to this was like a rollercoaster of "oooh!! i like" and "ooooh maybe not". I love the electro backing music, and the drops etc. Sounds great. But maybe using a harder synth sound instead of the original flute sound for the main tune might have given it more power. I also think the tempo is a little too fast for this tune. But hey these are just how I hear it. No reflection on ability and I absolutely love the fact that people like yourself are making awesome remixes of great Amiga tracks :) Please keep making more stuff! I wanna hear more!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7