Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1471 - 1500 out of 1941
[LOGIN]

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

I appreciate new views of songs - even quite strange attempts like this - the original flair was gone, but overall it "feels" good. I can not describe my feelings, but somehow this track touched me.

There are some crackles and a noticeable background noise at the end of the track and of course I miss mp3-tags (Jan, just press "alt" & "3" in winamp) :-(

I'm not sure what "Nostalgic Impression" really means... the quality of nostalgic seems a bit odd to me - maybe someone can explain that to me, but it does not count for my voting anyways.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

Hmm... I have grown up... I catch the flair of this song. Maybe I was in a bad mood 1 1/2 years ago and I have to reevalute my judging ;-) I guess the end is still a bit out of phase, but overall grandious :-)
(edited 2004-08-31)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (08/03/2003)

Besides the female voice there is nothing really "arabian" in this song. I like the voices very much, and I wished they where much longer and the leading instruments have been converted to this style too, 3:25 to 3:53 was at least a start or shall I say "a try" :-) Some of the "individual chunks" at the end of the track do not need to make sense, but they feel wrong, Rambo at the beginning fits fine for me :-)
The stereo profile of the lead instruments is not existent :-( and the low mp3 rate does not satisfy me. (I listen any music always with my headphones (Sennheiser SD590).) Besides a small glitch at 5:50 and the "individual chunks" on the end, this track is technically good.
The guitar solo is a highlight for me but also sounds a bit Mike Oldfield to me ;) - a SID-cover does not need to be a 1:1 cover, but should transport the flair of the C64.

Zoids is one of my all time favourites so the nostalgic impression has to be a 6.0 :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by arbory (06/03/2003)

Absolutely super-cool !!!!!
definitly a hit for the dancefloor, i like the details in the voice arrangment and this deep-mad-grooving bassline at the end, before the track stops suddenly.....for this ending i can give only :-))instead of the :-))) in "Artistic Impression" ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (06/03/2003)

This is surely not what you'd expect from a remix of Paperboy... but it surely rocks, mon! A boombastic dub-triphop-ragga-breakbeat blasts you up to higher states of conciousness, while the melody played in dubby ethno style keeps you there.

The mixing and production quality is pretty good. Overall this is a great remix, very close to Outstanding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by DHS (03/03/2003)

This remix has only one big flaw: it's too short :-)
I want more of it! Much more!

Trauma put togheter high quality and well chosen samples, mix and arrange everything perfectly and makes one one of the most original (if not *the* most original) remixes out there.

The final bits are simply outstanding.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Teetering on the faster edge of the chill-out crowd this cover does a poor job
of emphasizing what I think is the essence of Galway's original: the
evolution of sound and musical patterns. The morphing here is gone, replaced
by more discretely defined musical sections. Those sections, however, are very
good by themselves and turn this piece into a Pink Floydish hypnotic dream (as
demonstrated by those electric guitar sounds with lots of tremolo). All in
all, a pretty good piece that falls a little short of being excellent.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

The echo chamber quality of the lead makes me believe this remix was recorded
in a huge ice cavern, while the supporting instruments sound tube-like to me.
Until the middle of the remix when it does a strange switch to a quite
different set. This switcharoo left me confused and dazed. I think what this
remix misses is direction.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

High-paced, energetic remix with a fairly unimaginative drum line. For some
reason at times it reminds me of the soundtrack of The Matrix movie. I think
with a better constructed rhythm section this remix would be a real winner,
but in its current form it leaves me a bit cold.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

I like the "spacey" effects heard here and there in this remix, I also like
the bassline, but I don't think this remix fills out the audio space and
frequency spectrum it was given and thus sounds a little pale. It has a good
groove to it but it's not supported by enough instruments. A nice effort that
doesn't go far enough.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

I think there's more to Jonathan Dunn's original piece than what this cover
shows of it. First I'd throw out that thin and shrieky lead and replace it
with something of more authority. Then I'd add more punch to the supporting
instruments. I dig the bassline a lot, so I'd keep that. I'd also keep the
beginning, it works really well, but I'd shorten it a bit to get to the point
(the melody) faster. All in all, I think Marsland needs to spend more time on
perfecting this cover.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

This Laxity tune is, IMHO, much underrated. I think it'd lend itself more to a
jazzy treatment, but this approach is not too bad, either. It's more of an
electronic ballad with definite sad undertones. I wish there were more
variations in this cover, though. Kinda nice but I wasn't blown away by it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Slow-paced cover, but I think more is missing from it than what it adds to
Ouwehand's tune. I can't put my finger on what is missing from it, this tune
just doesn't make much sense to me: strings and piano, no proper beginning, no
proper ending, it just _IS_.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Sounds like something that was put together on a soft-synth like Reason with a
little laziness. It's a bit too repetetive and the instruments sound
somewhat flat. The arrangement is not very imaginative, either. I can't say
I'm impressed by this remix a lot.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Moving along at a nice and relaxed pace this cover of a remix is quite
pleasant. I especially like the long delays (echoes) on that sax-like lead.
It's a nice piece even if nothing special.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Steel drums galore - which is understandable. The idea of a Caribbean-style
tune is novel but it wears thin pretty fast. There's only so much you can do
with steel drums. If this remix was only half this long it would've had more
punch. Plus I think the mixing of the tune could use some help to boost the
sounds of the steel drums which sound dry and a bit too distant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Even if you never listened to this cover you'll recognize two Kraftwerk
references here: first, the name of the remixer which is a reference to Kling-
Klang Studios, second the reference to the "It's more fun to compute"
Kraftwerk piece. The cover itself also contains some Kraftwerk references: the
opening seconds remind me of Autobahn, the more or less simplistic arrangement
also smells of Kraftwerk. Unfortunately, most of the sounds selected for this
cover are of the "modern" Kraftwerk variety and I am not too fond of them in
this context. A neat idea that needs to be worked on more.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Don't let the almost romantic intro mislead you: this is a genuine dance
remix. So genuine, in fact, that it's in the dime-a-dozen category: chew it
once then spit it out.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

A fairly straight cover of Kris Hatlelid's famous digi tune. The opening
seconds with the racecar sounds are very appropriate, then it continues in a
promising fashion, but after that there are several problems with this cover.
First, the lead sound is a washed out pad instead of a more edgy sound. Then
the oh-so-important electric guitar hits that make or break the original have
been tamed here so much that it makes the tune sound weak. Having a piano in
there later was also a mistake. All in all, this cover just doesn't gel
together very well: it can't decide whether it wants to be edgy or not and
that's not a good thing.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

Ever since Jarre's Millennium concert at the pyramids of Ghiza I've come to
appreciate Arabic music more and more, especially modern Arabic pop and Arabic
singing. This chill-out cover of Zoids has some of the latter - and that's
where the "Arabian" attribute ends. So in this sense the title is a bit
misleading. It may have started as an Arabian style cover, but then it morphs
into a "standard" chill-out track, then into improvisational noodlings based
on some SID classics. In other words, if you want to hear a coherent SID
remix, steer far away from this one. The individual chunks of this remix are
interesting, but as a whole they don't make any sense to me. After this 9 and
a half minute long track I was left confused, not satisfied. The good point is
that the technical quality of this track is pretty high.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

This tune is pretty awesome for several reasons: first it's an excellent blend
of a capella vocals and a heavier rhythmic overlay. Second, I find it very
funny - if you don't smile when this cover starts, you are not getting the
joke or you never played the game. This is because the vocals actually make
sense! Third, it has a very good progression to it: it starts in a humorous
way with only vocals. Then a hard rock singer's voice comes over all this as
frustration builds. Then the rhythmic overlay provides even more drama. After
a short and very appropriate bridge section - which features Kraftwerkish
drums - the tune culminates in a crazy organized chaos that sounds similar to
a heavy metal concert mostly because of the presence of heavily distorted
electric guitars. I find the result absolutely ingenious! It's an excellent,
excellent piece!

"I am pumpkin man!"

ADDENDUM: Recently I've been listening a lot to this awesome tune, thanks to re-discovering it on the BIT Live DVD. My only gripe about it now is that when the purely a cappella part ends and the drums kick in, the signature base of the original tune ("I am a Pumpkin Man and I'll be jumping... jump, jump, jump, jump, jump") is no more. That's a bit of a shame, but I still think the remix is awesome as is. Can't get enough of Pumpkin Man!

PS: This will be played a lot on Halloween night to scare the trick-or-treating kids...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

It starts with a pretty good groove, but it continues in a disappointing
fashion: the lead sounds are weak and out-of-place, there are way too many
tingly and bellish overtones. If the intention was to evoke oriental feelings,
the result is a total failure. The arrangement is not too bad per se, but the
instruments should've been selected more carefully.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (01/03/2003)

A very interesting experiment where the Last Ninja tune is slowed down and it
is put into a sort of ambient wrapping. I don't think it's as "artistic" as it
was probably intended to be, but it is certainly a notable effort. It's a
pretty good for a chill out track as it's very pleasant to listen to.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (28/02/2003)

I'm sorry, but I think this is absolutely awful. I also think I can say this openly without hurting the artist, because this is no surprise. This kind of music just doesn't ring for everyone!

I'll rate this average for technical and artistic impression because the outcome isn't technically bad. The nostalgic impression doesn't exist for me, because I don't see a relationship here to the C64 nor have I ever played the original game.

I can't stand listening to this tune, but some people will think the opposite, so the arrangeur need not worry. ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (27/02/2003)

How glyn managed to make this awesome rendition of firelord sound so good in fruityloops is beyond me! but the facts say it for themselves, this was created in fruityloops using only average quality samples. But the key thing here is glyn's ability for music just shines through!

The point is that i doubt glyn could ever do better than this in this current configuration. So what happens now, he goes and buy's himself a monster keyboard and the future of glyn is even brighter... The future's bright, the futures Brown :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hbasm (27/02/2003)

I've heard these kind of rhythms before but not in concert with good melodies. So this is a rather tasteful favourite of mine. Drums could have been more upfront and 3D, but overall the instruments are well balanced. If wouldn't have come up with this style, if I was to remix the original C64 tune, but it's rather interesting.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LMan (27/02/2003)

It's always nice to see that someone takes on SIDs not so well known. Stainless Steel has choosen the proper description for his remake of "Laxity Again", it is a mellow electronic ballad. Sound-style-wise I'd place it in the 90s, with a TR-909 beat accompanying the synths.

Although the remix is indeed more mellow than the original, I still think it renders the feel of the SID perfectly. A really enjoyable listen!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (25/02/2003)

I'm quite unsure about this remix really.

On the one hand, some nice strangely hypnotic and nostalic sounds, that do sound like a C64 gone synthesizer. But on the other hand, for me, the track lacks progression. There's an upbeat, driving Lynne-esque kind of bass line getting the whole moving after a while that makes it more exciting but overall, it sounds like Wizball's on E.

I'm not happy to critisize it for what it is, because if you like that kind of thing, it'll surely do it for you. But if you're looking for an inspired, thriving hair-standing-on-the-neck kind of C64-meets-synths kind of remix, download Brimble's Lightforce.

Rafael
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (23/02/2003)

Defender of the Crown in the best instrumentation that I can think of!
No synth-like sounds, but sounding of what I think is ancient middle-age music, giving it the authentic touch. The drums sound a bit too bassy and deaf, but anyway:
this cover will bring up the loading screen of DotC in a flash! :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by putzi (22/02/2003)

A very relaxed tune that you play when you are fed up of Enigma and want something more pop. The original tune was some 80s synth hit, AFAIK.
The instruments used do not sound cheap and the synths are sweet. Really a chill-out tune, adds nothing special to the original. Good mixage.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 ⋅⋅⋅ 63 64 65