Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1681 - 1710 out of 1934
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Starts out with the original SID then adds drums to it, then adds more drums to it - and that`s it!? Rather disappointing. I expected the tune to slowly transform into a very cool giant club mix, instead it just sits there lamely. Whoever did this wasn`t thinking.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Those super-short little sounds don`t work here for the lead. Which is too bad, because otherwise it`d be a pretty good sounding tune. The main problem with them is that they make the otherwise touching melody sound extremely inhuman. Did Honorabili actually listen to this tune before converting it to MP3?...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I can kinda see how this tune would lend itself to a Hawaiian makeover, but not this way.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This could`ve been pretty interesting, but it`s poorly done and is too short. Why do some people release half-done tunes?…
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

WTF is this? And what does it have to do with Pole Position? Utter crap.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ha-ha!!! This is fun-ny! :-) The hopping sounds, the laughing clown, the thumping base drum - this is hilarious!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Sounds like a GMIDI conversion played on an SB soundcard with orchestral SoundFonts. Not particularly interesting, especially since Slamball itself is a Bach cover…
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Has a sort of metallic feel to it (metallic as in iron-like), but I can`t say that it made a deep impression on me. At times I hear influences of Kraftwerk in it, most of the time it sounds industrial, some of the lead sounds very ambient - it`s hard to figure out just where this remix goes. I don`t like that - I like tunes with a clear direction. All in all, a commandable effort, but I`ve heard better ones.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The first minute or so is utter crap and has very little to do with The Last Ninja. Then it becomes just a bit better in the middle when that famous Last Ninja riff is floated on top of the jungle rhythms, but I still feel like I wasted my time listening to this remix...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A disturbing look at our beloved Last Ninja. At times the remix seems to describe the gruesome nature of the battles in gory detail, other times it becomes an almost religious experience. The different parts are connected by some wise guy`s (literally!) generic comments (speech samples taken from some game maybe?). I don`t think a garden salad is more mixed than this remix, but hey, we all need a healthy diet!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A fantastic start, I don`t think it can be done more perfectly than this! But while I don`t always agree with FeekZoid`s choices in the rest of his remix, I think a lot of people will enjoy this one. Certainly not your below-average boom-tsk remix, but certainly not the best one, either. But I am sure we`ll all listen to it more than once, becuase it`s hard to get it out of your head. The lead line is just as good as the opening seconds, and the tune in general shows a lot of creativity. But all those ideas just seem to fly out in all direction - there`s no cohesiveness.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A superb dance-remix of Hubbard`s (and Julian Breeze`s :-) classic tune, with just the right touch of ambience. I am usually not fond of this boom-tsk genre, but even I appreciate a great tune, and this is one of those. Good selection of instruments, too, esp. the great base guitar and the Jarre-ish sound effects that keep your ears busy all the time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Sure, amongst the ambient-worldbeat-orchestral-SID-remixes this one is king, but that`s becuase this is the only one in that category. :] It sounds like a remix that tries to fuse many different styles, but it`s the typical case of trying to grab more than you can, with the rest flowing out thru your fingers. Ambitious attempt? Yep. The result being a somewhat boring fusion stuff? Sadly, yep.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Great idea, not so good execution. I dunno why, but something is missing from it. It`s like eating salt-less soup. You feel that it could`ve been something tasty, something big, but it isn`t. A bit ambient with some breakbeat going on in the background, many orchestral hits - I guess, all the elements for a hit are there. It just wasn`t mixed with the right proportions.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I think the lead guitarist was a bit trigger-happy with the melody line at times, but hey, still pretty good!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am starting to like PPOT`s cover of Ghosts`n`Goblins more and more, even though I wasn`t fond of it when I first heard it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A solid remake of this great tune, pretty much in the same style of how I`m sure all of us have imagined it, no surprises here. Better (or more extended) use of oriental instruments would`ve given it real authenticity, as Glyn is simply using orientalish synth sounds instead of say, a koto or shamisen. Yes, it sounds a bit too sterile this way. Well made, though, and one of the better covers of Palace Gardens, definitely (minus the constant background noise which might be the noise of a tape recorder or something :-).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Keeping in pace with the frantic speed of the original tune (and game), this cover nevertheless is just about average. Dancey rhythm section overlayed with some dull, overused insturments from the 80`s. Nice effort, but that`s it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I have to admit, I never thought of Warhawk as an electronic ambient piece, and o2 has trouble covering it that way, too, because sometimes he resorts to some pretty sharp leads and arpeggios in the melody line. Yet again, we get a "Jarre does " from o2, as the bass line is definitely inspired by Jarre (think Magnetic Fields part 1 slowed down), not to mention the various effects here and there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is the kind of remix that sits between a full remake of a SID tune and a "DJ-whoever" remix that is not much more than the original SID + drumloops. One can hear many pieces of the original SID in here, but it`s all rearranged a bit with drums, pads, nice lushy synth sounds - with all the right material. It`s not a bad remix at all, but somehow I don`t think it`s a terribly good one, either. Nicely done, but not better. A commandable effort, though, definitely one of the better Ocean Loader remixes out there.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This cover is pretty unique because it has lyrics! And I don`t mean synthetized, over-vocoded voices, but a real human singing! It also has cameo appearances by the evil Atombender dude from Impossible Mission and the I-Ball guy. Not much I can comment about the lyrics itself, but I thought I mention that I`d recommend everybody to download this unique gem.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is one awesome remix! Actually, you get multiple remixes in one compact package, and they are not always similar to each other, either. I wish I had more time to analyze this remix, `cause it would deserve it. My only gripe is that it`s probably too long (what can I say - I am impatient today).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Some of the background sounds are out of tune. Minus 10 points for that (even though it was done on purpose, I assume). The rest of the remix is pretty decent, though. Plus 10 points for that. The best way I can describe this remix: Jinks does the Blair Witch Project. Scary, mystical, amateurish (which does *NOT* equal to crap in my dictionary!), rough at the edges.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Too many high frequencies in the drums destroy the rest of the cover. Take that loudness away from the drumtrack, and this is a pretty good Cybernoid cover, albeit a little thin at times (ie. not "fat" or ear-full enough, esp. the lead). I quite like Tim`s use of the effects which replace Jeroen Tel`s original SID effects rather than reuse them. It is obvious that a lot of work went into this very faithful cover. But please, rework those drums!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It has a beautiful start (paradoxically, since we were supposed to be in the freakin` sewers :-), and continues very nicely in the same fashion. It`s one of the more laid back tracks on this energetic album, and it has also become a favorite by me.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s just done perfectly! It fits the mood of this level astonishingly precisely, which is more amazing as there`s no trace of any SID sound in this track, either. The ending is a bit abrupt - I wish it went on further!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is great stuff, too, I reall enjoy it! It doesn`t sound as strong or as emotional as some of the other tracks on this album, but it is still by far one of the best covers of this tune I`ve ever heard.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Both part 1 and part 2 are very original, unique, quite individual, yet, well-known by all of us. I probably like part 1 more than the other. Too bad they are both so short.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Was there a Max Headroom Remix Competition that I somehow missed? ;) This remix starts out great. Unlike the previous Max Headroom remix I reviewed, this contains the "obligatory" Max Headroom samples. The whole remix is sort of technoish, but definitely electronic in nature - which is why the strings sound a bit out of place (although they are filtered synth strings). I`d say this tune is about a minute too long - I`d appreciated more variation towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This is not much more than the original SID with added breakbeats. Personally, these are the sort of "covers" I really don`t like. Especially with Wizball - the whole tune is ruined by the inproper and inexperienced use of drum patterns. I`ll make every effort to quickly forget that I ever listened to this.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65