Listener's Reviews

arrow_forwardMember Profile

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 84
[LOGIN]

Review by eliot (12/03/2006)

The original SID was unknown to me... and I guess it will never reach the "most favorites".
I think it (the tune or Markus) got lost on the technical aspects ... I feel emotions but they do not come out... they are hidden... Why, i can't even guess... Maybe the weather is so depressing and contra-productive for artists.
I wish he would've concentrated much more to transport emotions.
Why is there this awefull background noise, especially noticeable on the beginning/end of this tune? :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (01/08/2004)

Welcome to the community! :-D
A bit minimalistic, but matches 100%, well-balanced arrangement.
I hope, you will upload more nice remixes :-).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (01/08/2004)

This is not his best work, so I can't vote for "outstanding" :-)
It's very solid, but I miss the final "kick". :-/

What a pity, this is the last remix he or DHS will ever made :-( * extremly sad *
We will miss your spirit and at least there is hope, you will deceide for a "comeback" :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (29/05/2004)

It seems that SIDs also fits into Techno-style :-)

Technically I would wish for more more length and stereo panorama ;-)
Besides this minimal flaws you get a very impressive tune, keeping the spirit of the original SID - neverless I have expected from DHS. Makke's Scooter-style "speech" makes this remix unique compared to any other Giana Sisters remixes. I wouldn't wonder if this remix could make it into the charts ;-)

Keep Da Scene Alive! :-D
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Orchestral? What does orchestral mean? To use some orchestral percussions or some trumpet-like instruments? I would have expected something "greater" - not the Vienna Philharmonic Orchester, but something close to them :-D So, this tune doesn't match it's title. It also lacks on variation, because Matthias keeps close on the original, instead of inventing some additions. Overall: nice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

It's a long time ago since Oliver's last upload.
His style remains unchanged :-) If you like minimalistic style this tune will fit for you, otherwise you will have a hard time. The only problem with this tune is, the drums are a bit too loud. Overall you get a nice attempt besides mainstream.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

At least it's not a remix of the title tune. To remix this song into something "trance" is very neat, but maybe the drums should be more soften? Hard drums with soft leads do not fit well together (at least with this tune). The end of the tune is abrupt also, next time he should use a fade-out. Anyway, for my personal taste, this tune is better than the original :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Compared to "Crazy Comets" the tune works much better. It's still not stunning or kicking, but nice. The second part covers the spirit of the original, even when I'm not happy of the lead-instrument they have chosen. At least they have follow my recommandation to upload a VBR-mp3 :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Hmmm, when I listen to this tune I do not feel it works. It feels somehow lifeless and chaotic, the spirit of the original gone. Technically this tune is much better (recorded) then previous releases, but that doesn't influence artistic impression. So for me it's just "average", nothing that I will listen often.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (11/06/2003)

Welcome Paul to remix.kwed.org :-)
It seems we got an arranger with some potential. His minimalistic style will not fit for everyone, but does music need to fit everyone? He choose one of Ben's weakest tunes and turned it to something better. Also his SID-a-like drums bring me back to the 1980ies :-) I wish I am still back and have not to mess with servicepacks and other crap. Respect Paul, nice work.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/06/2003)

Tekkno/House meets Peter Clarke.
I got a bit confused at the beginning because the speed is much higher than the originial. Maybe I would have choosen a more softer approach, but overall the tune works, especially when the original is unknown :-) The mix of electronic instruments, piano and guitars is really neat and well solved. So, without bad conscience I can recommand this song to all readers of my review.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (10/06/2003)

Paul did a lot of variations, mixed electronic instruments with guitars (yes, sounds like rock-guitars :-)) During listening I think, the last kick is missing especially during the first part of the song. The last part is imho done perfect. So, it's hard to decide to vote "very good" or "outstanding". The merging of the two Galway tunes works and the variety of instruments is breath-taking, because I had never the feeling they were at the wrong place or too much or shall replaced with something else. Also the Galway-C64-like instruments aren't a means to an end, they fit to the tune nicely. Well done Paul, I appreciate this tune and look forward for your next upload :-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (27/05/2003)

It started indeed quite promissing, but it ends just too early :-( Maybe Jazzoid is kind and provide us a full length remix?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (27/05/2003)

Oh oh - all the flair and punch of the original went away... very sad. Cytex turned it into something "nice", and my opinion is, "Parallax" was not intend to be "nice" :-) So, the nice remix is just nice, nothing more, nothing less.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (27/05/2003)

It seems Andras gets a passion for "trance-like" mixes :-) Besides the repeatations it's a nice attempt. Maybe the remix is a bit too conservative to kick it manages to keep the flair of the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (27/05/2003)

Quite a nice attempt. I miss the flair of the original, maybe because Andras tried to be too close on the original and limited his own expression. The sound-fxs are neat and the coice of instruments convenient. The tune is too long in my opinion, and gets a bit boring.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (27/05/2003)

The 24783294th remix of Last Ninja - and nothing spectacular here. "Q" is close to the original not inventing any improvements or experiments. Average work overall.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

A remix of a remix... interesting... better a cover of a remix.
There is not much to write... it's a bit boring, like the original, it's a 1:1 cover that lacks of own inspiration. While the drums are set on the left and right edge of the stereo-panorama, the lead is set just beside the middle.. very strange. The end of the song is a bit abrupt. Maybe a different choice of instruments would have helped the song to overcome the "average" rating.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

I guess I have already noticed that loud guitars are not at best, when they are overhelming the rest of the tune. It's a sound-mish-mash not a listenable tune. Maybe my Sennheiser headphones renders the tune as sound-mish-mash and the other reviewers are 100% correct - anyways I need to vote the tune this way.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

Well, this IS one of the millions Last Ninja 2 remixes. The tune is lifeless, the soul of the original vanished. Music is not just some notes and beats it is primiary an attempt to transfer feelings - Sascha was not able to do it. Next time he should choose the instruments more wisely and arrange with his heart not with his brain.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

While in the early 80ies the C-64 musicians were not able to create neat instruments and effects, the most tunes of this time renders somehow lifeless. In my opionion it's much harder to "remix" such a tune.
BaR did an exceptional good job and a very creative and inspired attempt, also the technical approach is very good. There is nothing negative to write, only the last "kick" is missing to vote for "outstanding".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

Quite a 1:1 cover... ok, but nothing special.
There is not much to write, it does not fit for me, neither the original does.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

Antiriad - it took me hours to rip the SID.
This is Gzilla's best attempt so far. Maybe next time he manages to do a very good remix :-)
While normaly an intro of a tune migrate to a more powerful part he choose to soften it, that was totally unexpected and confusing - maybe it's not when you never heard the original. At 2:20 the most interesting part of this tune starts, were he got close to the spirit of the original, but I miss the scary, cold feeling of Richard Joseph original especially at the beginning. The instruments itself sound cheap and the original fx at the end of the song are out of context - sometimes less is more.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (17/05/2003)

This is one of Tim Follins tunes, I do not like due the very high frequence notes they sound like "cries" and that really hurt my ears :-) The original is very short so it may be unwise to choose it for a "remix".
The bassline (-fx) is overhelming the whole tune and there is a glitch playing this awefull high notes (there is an unharmonic note in). Dan did a 1:1 cover with very less own inspiration, and he choose an electronic instrument for the lead very similar to the orgininal SID.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Hmm... minimalistic is not always the best choice... and what has "Mario" (the Nintendo one?) to do with it? :-)

At least we can all remember this tune, but avoiding the download is a good choice.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Hmm... why does he not mention that this "remix" is a cover of Charles Deenen's "Ala Gal" which itself is a cover of "Demonic Part 1" by Neil Baldwin??? (damn, where is the smiley with the ? on it's head?)

So I can not really imagine what "Pharao" has to do with this remix :-)

I guess he has a lack of inspiration, because to add only some drums and baseline(s) does not fit for a remix. But he's lucky, due the fact I love "Ala Gal" he gets a "good" which he does not really deserve.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

What does a heavy distorted guitar do into an "romantic river epic" remix?
Sadently, it infears with a really nice attempt of this tune. I guess everyone would be grateful if you will remove this "junk" and upload this tune again :-)

Due this heavy distoreted guitar I can only give a "good" because it really ruins this tune. :-(
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Does "electronica" means one 3:07 sweep? He may have titled it as "Sanxion (Electronica)" and I bet I would not listen any difference :-)
Beside that I can not hear any "music" here, but Gustav showes us, what stereo means and technically it's perfect.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

A remix should contain more than one chunk of a rememberable part of the original, I guess. This remix is in fact an own tune with 30 seconds of subtune 6 "Last Ninja", quite nice, with drums not fitting.

So, I'm unsure what the arranger want to tell us, maybe he won't.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by eliot (22/04/2003)

Clayton's second attempt remixing a C64 tune is quite nice. It's very similar to the original especially the lead (instrument), with many guitars as background- and supporting-instruments giving this tune a nice punch. The drums don't vary, which is a lack indeed, also some crackles and a small stereo panorama muddy my listen experience.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3