Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 194
[LOGIN]

Review by Isacco1975 (17/01/2017)

I am not familiar with your tunes, but I named this best newcomer to AmigaRemix. Your tunes are amazing and funny. Keep it up! Finally someone remixing rarities. Technically well mixed, balanced and enjoyable sounds. Needs only more information about this stuff . Artistic skill for me is OUTSTANDING. Techique in mixing: VERY GOOD / OUTSTANDING Nostalgia: CAN'T BE DETERMINED. NO INFO ABOUT TUNE.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

This is a nice and slightly less "fearsome" make of its original with a softer impression though highly resemblant of its predecessor, thus not much innovation to show on that front. The technical execution is decent with a few nice twists here and there (which spills somewhat over to the artistic rating), though unfortunately hobbled by that some of the fx nearly mask out each other, which is a shame. The game itself needs no introduction hence the nostalgia factor... and of course it is good to see that Allister is still with us.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts out with a resonating low-frequent buzz effect like how it would be when having your space fighter sucked through a metal pipe with the lethal buzzer at the other end. Signature beat of Stardust kicks in early but unfortunately seems to get muddled by the mixture of its own sound and that of the rest. The transition half-way adds a nice mellow feel and contrast to the intro though unfortunately again let down by the buzzy pulses which blur out some of the impression of the tune. The latter half contains minor though clear resemblances from the Alien Breed intro. Overall, a decent remake with a mix of styles that would have produced a better product had it not been for an unfortunate combination of instruments the characteristics of which muddle the sound image at critical points throughout the tune.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Starts great as with its original, transitions to a nice rounded beat but then drifts off to chiptune-style warbling which sadly seems out of place with the opener; the remainder being a bland affair.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

The remix takes us from the pure electro-beat of the early 90s to a good mixture of rock-resemblent sound with some good tempo replacements thrown in together with innovative inserts between the signature elements of the original, in excellent combination. By themselves the components don't seem anything much, but the fusion of all produces a great-sounding, innovative remix of a beloved oldie. The track and the arranger are both minor legends by now. Desert Rocks of Turrican has been re-arranged a multitude of times and is surely one of the fondest remembered tunes from the Amiga era. Daxx - amongst many I must be reasonable to say - has been a loyal and productive member of the remixing community for over a decade and to reproduce this classic in such a way is just brilliant.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by neglesaks (17/01/2017)

Oh how Twintris had my affection back in the day. Not least thanks to the music. Thank you pinozulpo!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (29/12/2016)

Well done, all the fun of the original is here with a fantastic guitar to complete it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MatrixRevolution (22/12/2016)

the finals effect 70's style (is it a bass?) take me in the sky!!! One of the best remixer!!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hyperunknown (22/08/2016)

Exceptionally good! I especially like what you've done with the accords. Also, the sidechaining and leads are well made. Goes into my favorites directory immediately.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Cydonia (17/07/2016)

Very relaxing...I like the CZ tunes style...Sometimes it remind me the old Dream dance series from the late 90...Well done man
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (12/07/2016)

Samples are far less catchy and impacting than the original ones. I think this remix is too shy here, too "clean" and not corresponding with the beat house sound from the end of 80's that Gustafsson perfectly recreated in the original module in 1991.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by MasterMax (28/04/2016)

Excellent remix of the Olof Gustafsson's melody. Takes the best out of the original tune and introduces even more depth and rhythm into it. It is very relaxing because of the instruments used - especially the bells and nice, low tempo. What I need more? More remixes of tunes from Benefactor!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Toffensen (30/03/2016)

I like the way the author let it grows into the deep and intense bass. You can add it to the nostalgia, but that's not all !
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Apache (09/03/2016)

Sounds like original alot! Me likey!!!! Great remix!!! Commodore Amiga FOREVER!!!! Greetings to DaXX from Finland.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by nummer2 (08/03/2016)

I love this title but something just went wrong in this mix. Missing the feeling. And this thing in the backround just made me crazy after some time.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Lisihang (20/01/2016)

Wonderful! I first discovered this remix on Youtube and I am happy that you also uploaded it here. There is some kind of extra power feeling in this remix ::
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by hege8 (15/01/2016)

Thanx man, great work! I've been also trying to remix (remake prefer a good word for it) this tune for years but never ended, B'coz i not found the perfect drum.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Christopherdd (13/01/2016)

Hi. I love this song and the style of playing. Is there a video or music sheet available? I started to play music on my own and would love to be able playing this perfect song!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Christopherdd (13/01/2016)

Hi. I love this song and the style of playing. Is there a video or music sheet available? I started to play music on my own and would love to be able playing this perfect song!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by PhotonSCX (02/01/2016)

You make tightness sound effortless. Very nice progression throughout so that despite the slow tempo you're never bored. Pure pleasure to the end. :)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Chizzer (28/12/2015)

Thank you for bringing back memories.Thank you for bringing back memories.Thank you for bringing back memories.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gabriele (24/12/2015)

Re Great song mix original , the years of my carelessness . A pleasure to listen to , with a tone of nostalgia
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gwood1234 (23/12/2015)

I've been trying to crack this remix for years. Each time I start off fairly well but am never happy with it. This is got to be one of the hardest Amiga tracks to remix - there's such a lot going on and the amount of detail in the original made it one of the finest demo tracks created. When I heard daXX's remix of 9 Fingers, also by Spaceballs, I knew this was the guy to do it! This remix features many of the original instruments but combined with daXX's polished dance music production. It might not be as good as 9 Fingers but it's an incredible version of a monster track!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by tafens (17/12/2015)

Remains true to the original, but enhanced in most every way. Great bass track, nice and wide sound stage.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Zyonee (10/11/2015)

So awesome! I just wish it would have been a minute or so longer. That doesn't change the fact that this is one of the best Amiga remixes I've heard this year.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Trackah123 (21/10/2015)

Guitar part is pretty good, besides that it's pretty much the same song as the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by iXien (08/10/2015)

Well done Allister, what a remake! Thank you for such a masterpiece. So much memories behind this music. A very nice work. Maybe you will decide to remake other musics from this game ? ;-)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Miroku79 (04/10/2015)

Wow... this tune is really beautiful, bring to me a lot of memories. Another world was a masterpiece also for the music, and this remix really give the game its merit.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Gabriele (16/09/2015)

Beautiful remix , beautifully written i must say it is one of the most beautiful I've heard so far
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by FStarred (10/09/2015)

I have included in my channel of Amiga remix best of. However to me is too much repetitive, should take not more than 5 minutes
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7