Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 181 - 189 out of 189
[LOGIN]

Review by M.A.F (07/04/2004)

I was forced to listen to the original Amiga version of this track to truly apprieciate what NJoy had achieved by vastly altering just one musical component.
The BASSLINE!
And what a transformation it is!
The new bassline grabs this track by the horns and takes it to a new musical level.Above the bass is the "spacey" vibrato lead which i think fits just right,the crisp percussion,that punctuating snare which further drives the tune,the added effects and "wobbly" bits as i like to call them,and of course the production which,to my ears i cant fault.
While there is not much variation melodywise throught the tune,it doesnt detract from listening atall,the tune is so well produced you hardly even notice.
And THAT bassline makes sure you want it to keep playing and playing!
All in all my only question is.

Whats next NJoy?
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (06/04/2004)

Set the scene... Your in a nightclub playing dance music... However there's a small room hidden in one corner of the club. You enter it. Inside you find a dark almost intimadating smoke filled dance floor and eminating is a smell of wacky backy. A DJ stands infront of you playing some rather obscure sounds and beats. People are dancing in a way that could either mean one of two things... They are Drunk or most probable they are high in cookoo land and somewhere with the fairies. Somewhere within all this confusion lies a strange, almost captivating jolly cheecky tune. If you imagine that, then your as mad as me. But this is something you would expect being played in such a place.

The remix is very clever and gives you just that feeling i stated above. Some very nifty bass work and drums mixed with those ever so cheeky vocals. One major gripe is that the mastering isn't quite upto scratch and often tends to mash together creating a jumbled state of noise and distortion. However saying that i really like this remix. One day maybe Infamous will go back to this and clean it up a bit more. Til that day i will enjoy this version and hope that i will hear a version 2.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (22/03/2004)

This track is strangely captivating. In general, X-out is a Huelsbeck classic and much ignored really - what a shame. The mighty intro tune is pretty well known but this little gem from the loading theme has its moments too. So at the core there's enough music in here to make for an interesting tune. Technically speaking it is, as said above, strangely surreal - I actually find the jungle-esque drums very fitting, getting the track off to a good roll. It somehow misses the spot by just a little bit, making you hope that it *really* kicks off with some fat beats and more bass, but then, instead, it calms down again and... ends? A typical case of "more would have been... erm... more".
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (20/12/2003)

This remix of one of the best known and memorable Amiga demo sounds is just so neat. Back then, Red Sector was establishing themselves as the Amiga demo group. I recall with nostalgia watching the red Sector Megademos and looking forward to my own Amiga. One of the reasons I sold my 64! The instruments here are nicely selected and sound quality is good. Only gripe I'd have is the fact that it is - again - (and this is seemingly the case with most Amiga remixes so far) too straightforward. A few variations, some extra effects and a different arrangement to make it more YOUR work Cirdan, that would have been great. Still, a great track and one I'll gladly listen to over and over again.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (19/12/2003)

Wolfchild from Core Design was one of my favourite action games on the Amiga. It had nice console-like graphics and an intelligent level set-up with lots of hidden goodies. Looking back I think it didn't get the praise it deserved. Music wise, the tunes were catchy - this remix by Lomaxx is pretty faithful and seems to be quite precise. Maybe TOO precise, "remix" not being the right word. In fact, it sounds very much like something you'd expect from the same game, had it been written today with the same tools, but with more channels and effects. Ironically, that's where it scores: The nostalgic value, because it's so much like the original. So technically, there are no stuns here. The tune is faithfull, the sound quality is alright. It's just that the theme is not (musically) a stroke of genius - Lomaxx, you'd need to compensate that. A straight mix, nothing more, nothing less.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (10/12/2003)

Sigh. This is nice. Rapture (Fabian del Priore) has really captured the spirit of the original - it's also one of my favourite SIDs/Amiga sounds. The sound quality is good, there's some distinctive 80ies computer sounds in here and the conversion is faithful to the original arrangement.
If I really had to pick out one thing I don't like, I'd say it's the lack of originality - but then again it's a matter of taste.
In my view it's slightly better than Fabian's CD track on Remix64 Vol.1. Ok, it doesn't have the 80ies approach that's true, but the strength of this remix is the faithfulness. Good work Fabian.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by rafael (09/12/2003)

Now THIS is *tough*. Tough in terms of what DHS has done with the tune. I really enjoyed Huelbeck's work on Apidya and arguably, his soundtrack CD to this game was on par with his Turrican work. DHS has effortlessly made this tune stand along with Huelsbeck's own studio renditions, following Chris' approach to the 4th level, techno-driven sound. I know DHS doesn't really approve, but it's still definitely Apidya sounding, just a lot more tougher than the Amiga 4 channel melody. The track is based on the first world music, has some really mean thumping bass and a production worth of release on today's commercial albums. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (09/12/2003)

The track while there's not a great deal wrong with it sounds muffled and totally uninspired. For me it's little better than an original amiga mod. The overall sound picture is dull and lifeless. Nope sorry, back to basics.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by Tas (09/12/2003)

Some crystal clear backing samples to this one, very nice. Sadly when the lead kicks in everything goes to pot. Well ok thats a little harsh, but the main lead is very thin and should have been more audiable. It's a shame really cos the background sounds so very nice and clear.

Not a bad attempt here, but it falls short on some very weak lead sounds.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7