Listener's Reviews

[SHOW ALL]
[SHOW C64 ONLY]
[SHOW AMIGA ONLY]
Displaying Reviews 1591 - 1620 out of 1914
[LOGIN]

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I find the rhythm section somewhat of a yawn, dare I say, lackluster, but that is my only gripe about this remix: awesome guitaring (performed by Øyvind Vik) and the great arrangement of Hubbard classics more than make up for it. This is a great trip to nostalgia-land!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

F---ing awesome! Unusual style for Thrust done to perfection with lots of fantastic improvisations (on piano, on sax - you name it) that fit in seamlessly. This tune would not be out of place on Reyn Ouwehand`s Nexus album. Absolutely superb! Two thumbs up! My only problem is that my vocabulary doesn`t have enough superlatives to describe this remix...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Some interesting new twists on this oft-remixed tune make this cover worthy of download. Like the drumless break. Like the piano and the strings "talking" to each other.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Was this uploaded just recently? Because I have the exact same remix on one of my RKO CDs and it`s dated 2000. Sept. 3... If you haven`t heard it, yet, you should: it`s a very good cover that`s faithful to the original.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A fairly unique take on this oft-remixed tune - I quite like it. I find that bit raspy analog lead captivating for some reason.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I am starting to like this Striker dude! Another nice style that is not represented very often on RKO. And it`s not just the style that`s good in this cover. Well done!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Usual high-quality stuff from Puffy, this time with what sounds like quite a lot of improvisational parts, which makes it very "personal". Has a great flow to it and despite the monotone style of the original, Puffy manages to keep it interesting throughout (although he did shorten it). This is the kind of stuff RKO was created for!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Pretty good, although I prefer the orchestral version on BIT3. (Yes, I know this was an early developmental version for BIT3. Its various moods are obviously the same.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

THC Flatline`s remix is a fine piece of work, but after LMan`s remix it`s apparent that it is further removed from the spirit of Yip`s composition. Flatline attempted to cover Yip`s famous hiscore tune here, but IMHO it was a big mistake even to think about covering this tune. It sounds just perfect on the SID chip itself, thank you, there`s no need to ruin it with ugly modern samplers, workstations and virtual analog synths. =) With that said, Flatline gave it everything he could to try to create a faithful cover, and while I`m sure that in the future virtual analog synth manufacturers will use his tune to demo the capabilities of their instruments, it still falls short of Yip`s amazing original. On a scale of 1-10 this cover gets 10 for effort and 10 for implementation, but since I gave Yip`s SID tune a 100 to begin with... (Yes, I am being too tough on Flatline, but hey - this is what I think! ;-) It`s very hard to cover tunes that exploit the capabilities of the SID chip so well.)
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

This remix has some nice touches, like the backing choir somewhere in the middle that I like a lot in it, and those improvisations on the guitar(-like) lead towards the end.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Wonderful guitar, and the original is so good that it`d take a genious to screw it up, but: should`ve used flute at the end instead of that weak pad, and pitch bend at the subtle note ends, eg. at 1:08.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

The most impressive thing in Axeman & Tuomio`s Remix64 compo entry "Furycalypse Now" is definitely the guitars. Other than that it`s a bit weird for my taste with its haphazard arrangement and senseless speech samples. Although I dig its drums, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

As a huge Vangelis fan, of course, I am very impressed by Thomas Detert`s "Sigma Seven (Chariots of Fire remix)", which cleverly fuses the now classic Vangelis theme with Julian Breeze`s composition. Like his Spellbound remix, I find this one very good, too, but also like his Spellbound remix I find it short, too.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A vocoder-galore a capella piece by Mahoney - it is a fun little cover, I quite like it!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Superb beginning, except for the portamentos and the pitch shifted samples that completely destroy the realism of the otherwise fantastic sounding choir. Yuck! Okay, so maybe the beginning is not so superb. But the saxophone is (or whatever that lead instrument is) - it makes a positive impact, then the trumpet sounds good, too. Unusual style coupled with the melodic part of Parallax - a sure winner.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Ohmegod!!! This is bloody awesome! I want the rest of it, too! If this is an aborted project - it should be finished ASAP!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Almost perfect. Very close to how I always imagined it...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

I quite like it! Just to prove that I don`t automatically dislike every dance remix, even from a more objective point of view Instant Remedy`s remix stands out with its fantastic rhythm section (I love the base drum!) and good mix of classic SID tunes (even though at times the transitions between them are questionable).
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Yo, dude, guess what, I made this kick-ass remix of Last V8 that makes the windows on my room vibrate - that is just *sooo* cool!... Sorry for mucking Rezistah, but this remix is somewhat primitive and it would hurt me if I took it seriously. Still, it contains elements that made me reconsider the worst possible rating for it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Well, first of all, Tomsk, learn that increasing the volume of your instruments won`t make for a more powerful remix and it will even lead to ugly distortion like here. The human ear is a weird non-linear microphone that has a pretty powerful computer sitting behind it - and it needs more than this to trick it. Turning down the volume of this remix one will find out that it`s just another Delta remix with nothing new and nothing extraordinary.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Wilderness it ain`t - weirdness is more like it. I perceive this remix as being out of tune (or out of key?), yet, its perceived disharmonic nature is strangely appealing to my brain. Somewhat simple, at times reminding me of electronic tunes from the `70s. Not very cohesive, though, and it feels a bit like a glass that was just shattered and its pieces are falling all over the place as Rob tries to tie them together.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It`s tough to cover Parallax. Would you rather focus on its melody or on the fact that it`s pushing the capabilities of the underlying synthetizer to the max? Would you rather cover the concept behind it or the tune`s atmosphere? Amazing as it may sound, it`s tough do to all this at once in a single cover. Wisely, Michael didn`t try to do that, either. His focus was on recreating the notes and melodies as accurately as possible with sounds that mimic the original closely. But in the tradeoff he lost the atmosphere and the technical innovation. Still, the result is a great cover that I don`t think one can appreciate without listening to it more than once.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Is there another SID tune with the same title that I don`t know about? After getting very, very excited that somebody finally thought that Neil Baldwin`s fantastic tune would be good material for a remix, I kept waiting for it to appear in this dance oriented remix, and after a mere 3:42 (in this 5:08 long tune!) I finally heard traces of it behind some dumbass rap. Call me old- fashioned, but this is not how I would`ve remixed this tune. I even question whether this should be called a remix. The only reason I didn`t give it the worst rating is because its technical quality is quite good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Well, I think this is a first: a cover of a C64 remix covering C64 tunes. :-) Too bad it consists of nothing more than the original SID with added drums and a very decent bassline (although the SID sounds may have been massaged and re- arranged a bit - it doesn`t sound like a 1:1 sampling of the original tune). I don`t have much respect for covers like this. The bassline (probably played on a real electric base-guitar?) saves this remix from the murky depths of oblivion.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Technically, I am not quite satisfied with this cover, and artistically I find it a bit unimaginative. The bassline is played with an annoyingly "poppy" sound (which would be find for the beginning, but not for the whole tune) and the drums are a bit over-the-head. I am not sure in which direction this cover wanted to go, but it definitely didn`t make a big impression on me. Nevertheless, it`s a good effort - just not very good.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Call me egoistic, but this remix reminds me of - me! :-) Which SID fan didn`t try to whistle or sing Commando or some other SID tune to himself in his life trying to play all 3 voices with his one mouth? This cover is an enhancement of the same basic idea. My only gripe about it: after having heard May Be Bop`s excellent (albeit short) a capella version, this one sounds a bit electronic. It is too obvious that it`s not a live a capella choir singing it. For example, the bass line is definitely some pitch shifted samples put together, and the background folks sound just "too perfect". Not to mention the lack of inhaling noises, that telltale sign of real humans singing. But it`s ton of fun, regardless!
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

Holy crap! This is awesome!!! Imagine a jazz band playing tune #2 of Comic Bakery in a smoke-filled restaurant and you get the idea. Nothing to criticize here, nothing is amiss - just listen to this fantastic cover played in a style unusual for C64 covers.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A neat idea for this tune, but I don`t think it`s explored to its fullest. The opening seconds are close to perfect, but I have yet to become friends with the flute-like sound, although it seems to fit in nicely. Pleasant remix, not bad at all.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

It sounds like this cover is sped up compared to the original, which doesn`t work in its favor, especially at the fast arpeggio-like transitions in the lead. There are some nice touches here and there, like the staggered bass, but as a whole I can`t say I like it.
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

Review by LaLa (04/02/2003)

A wonderful piano piece openes this cover which is then brutally murdered by a dumb drumtrack and an overused Korg preset sound. IMHO, just the piano with a touch of strings or something would`ve worked better. This way it`s just a chaotic piece that kills the mood of the original. Sometimes less would be more...
Technical Impression:
Artistic Impression:
Nostalgic Impression:
Overall:

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ⋅⋅⋅ 62 63 64